We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcoming retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sungu Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sungu Resort & Spa
Ranked #95 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A welcoming retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Set away from the bustle of Ubud main streets. The Sungu was a peaceful haven. The Staff were extremely welcoming yet it felt very private and personal at the same time. Upon arrival we were upgraded from the basic room to one near the private pool (for use of on 4 Villas). We had a complimentary 30 minute massage (basic to my standards but pleasant all the same). Each afternoon we were served different afternoon tea that we chose to eat poolside. I loved the beautiful salt water pools and comfortable bed. I was grateful for the special little touches we received each day. I think this hotel is Balinese owned and they have done a great job. Could do with some extra maintenance here and there and the Massages could be a lot better but I would definately recommend to couples or families looking for a quite and friendly haven near the rice fields.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynleeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    89
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
77
102
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are quite big with beautiful 'mosquito-net' beds.
The best thing about this place is tho the outdoor bathrooms.
The bathtub is sunken in the floor and you can see the stars while showering/bathing.
Menu is alright, pool is alright (they have 2) Staff is also alright.
If you stay here, rent a motorbike for quick and cheep transportation into city (5min) don't pay more than 50.000/day.
I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missen_Mina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for 5 days during our honeymoon and really enjoyed it even though we had the so called "Bali belly" and me a bigger leg injury. This injury was caused because I fell into a hole on the side walk that was not marked or secured- so always take a closer look where you are walking. As they knew that it was our honeymoon the room was really nicely decorated and when we got back from dinner we even had a cake with "honeymoon" on it. As I was kind of handycapped due to my injury on our second day there- we were offered an upgrade (two level bungalow with TV) as I was not really able to do a lot, sadly. They were always so nice and asked how we were if they were able to help or do anything to support. Even though we were not able to see so much of Ubud, the stay there was great! Breakfast and Dinner were great as well- definetely worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elledj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely little hotel. We were in one of the 2 storey 'houses' which was ideal for the 4 of us and only a few steps from the larger pool, which we had to ourselves most of the time. The outdoor bathroom was a nice touch but you do get to share it with frogs and other creatures. Afternoon tea is a nice little added extra and breakfast was good with a varied choice which we weren't expecting.

The highlight was certainly the rice paddy morning walk and the free massage was nice but the temporary spa was just a simple room. Staff are very friendly but always asking what you have planned, no doubt with a view to sell you a trip but as we always had clear plans they soon stopped asking. The free shuttle is essentially your own personal taxi service for Ubud.

There were building works underway when we visited but it different interfere with our experience other than some minor building noise and the spa was in a temporary location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank scottandhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The plus with the Sungu is lovely rooms! Really, really liked the room with the private pool.

Breakfast is good. Free 1 hour rice paddy walk and the free 30 minutes massage was nice. Plus, the bus to town is easy (mind you, it wasn't busy when we were there - so we had the shuttle always available). Nice staff.

Would consider staying there again - however, two thoughts:
1. Construction in back half of the hotel needs to be completed - this didn't impact us at all, however, impacts the feel somewhat
2. Need wifi in the rooms.

All-in-all, loved it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim30549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed with family, beautiful Balinese architecture, clean and spacious rooms, very friendly personnel. The location is convenient. Breakfast is good, we also had lunch and dinner not superior but satisfying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vick30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Western Isles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We loved staying here.
We had booked the Waka Namya Hotel and when we got there we found it had changed hands and was now the Sungu.
We were a family of 5 with ages ranging from 62 down to 6.
This was a delightful place to stay. We occupied a whole deluxe Lanai with interconnecting room and a semi private pool. We loved the outside bathroom, the young ones couldnot believe it and at night we swam in the illuminated pool and looked up at the stars, it was a joy.
Food was very good and the staff really nice and kind to the little one.
We made full use of the free transport into the town of Ubud.
Would really recommend this place as a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of the town of Ubud.
Thanks Sungu

Room Tip: Deluxe Lanai are great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gael01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
Nefatari Exclusive Villas
1.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
1.7 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#93 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ubud Wana Resort
Ubud Wana Resort
#47 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Hill
Sunset Hill
#87 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sungu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sungu Resort & Spa

Property: The Sungu Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Penestanan (Jl. Campuhan 1), Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#80 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sungu Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next Antonio Blanco Museum. With choices of accommodations in Ubud: villas, private villas, resorts and hotels, the Sungu Resort & Spa is no new player. Formerly known as Waka Namya Resort & Spa Ubud, this hotel and resort has re-invented itself, and therefore upgraded many of its services and facilities to cater for its guests - the satisfied repeaters and the new ones seeking an alternatives of Ubud Resort or Ubud Hotel. Come and stay with us - Be a part of supreme, serene and sacred experiences.The Sungu Resort - the haven on the hill, within walking distance to the famed Antonio Blanco Museum, is nearby the artist village of Penestanan and is a short drive from the Rudana Gallery, many Ubud Art Museums & Cultural Centre and the downtown of Ubud. The Sungu Resort is serene and relaxing with welcoming friendly staff and management team who are always at your service. The Renovation has been done properly, To be in full operation on 1 July 2013, the resort is keen to await your stay with us with a full rejuvenating spa programs, children programs and creative art programs. Relax, rejuvenate, and rediscover yourself in a newly refurbished Resort, The Sungu Resort. This newly reborn Resort, formerly known as Waka Namya Resort, boosts new improved facilities such as New Duplex Villa Sungu ideal for 2 Adults and 3 Children. Another addition is the 2 Bed Room- Pool Villa Sungu also ideal for 2 Adults and 3 children. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa SunguThis is a two storey-traditional Balinese style villa with amenities such as top floor is a big sofa bed in the queen size bedroom with, TV cable for kids, air conditioning. And in down stairs find a queen size bedroom, shared huge bathroom, open shower, bathtub with complete amenities such as a hairdryer, large fridge, mini bar and a telephone. This Balinese room is decorated with local art work, whilst in the outside terrace you can find a private swimming pool, beautiful tropical garden, ideal for 2 adults and 3 children; or, if you would prefer, 4 adults maximum. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa Sungu is an excellent choice for your family. Each of the villas has an outdoor swimming pool decorated with green stone - a true wonderful appeal for a swim for adults and children. Have a swim and regain your stamina and wellness with the healthy sea salt treated pool. The Sungu Resort - Unique place to stay - feels like home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Sungu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sungu Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing