We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ending to our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sungu Resort & Spa
Ranked #104 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for 5 days during our honeymoon and really enjoyed it even though we had the so called "Bali belly" and me a bigger leg injury. This injury was caused because I fell into a hole on the side walk that was not marked or secured- so always take a closer look where you are walking. As they knew that it was our honeymoon the room was really nicely decorated and when we got back from dinner we even had a cake with "honeymoon" on it. As I was kind of handycapped due to my injury on our second day there- we were offered an upgrade (two level bungalow with TV) as I was not really able to do a lot, sadly. They were always so nice and asked how we were if they were able to help or do anything to support. Even though we were not able to see so much of Ubud, the stay there was great! Breakfast and Dinner were great as well- definetely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elledj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 259 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel. We were in one of the 2 storey 'houses' which was ideal for the 4 of us and only a few steps from the larger pool, which we had to ourselves most of the time. The outdoor bathroom was a nice touch but you do get to share it with frogs and other creatures. Afternoon tea is a nice little added extra and breakfast was good with a varied choice which we weren't expecting.

The highlight was certainly the rice paddy morning walk and the free massage was nice but the temporary spa was just a simple room. Staff are very friendly but always asking what you have planned, no doubt with a view to sell you a trip but as we always had clear plans they soon stopped asking. The free shuttle is essentially your own personal taxi service for Ubud.

There were building works underway when we visited but it different interfere with our experience other than some minor building noise and the spa was in a temporary location.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank scottandhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The plus with the Sungu is lovely rooms! Really, really liked the room with the private pool.

Breakfast is good. Free 1 hour rice paddy walk and the free 30 minutes massage was nice. Plus, the bus to town is easy (mind you, it wasn't busy when we were there - so we had the shuttle always available). Nice staff.

Would consider staying there again - however, two thoughts:
1. Construction in back half of the hotel needs to be completed - this didn't impact us at all, however, impacts the feel somewhat
2. Need wifi in the rooms.

All-in-all, loved it

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim30549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed with family, beautiful Balinese architecture, clean and spacious rooms, very friendly personnel. The location is convenient. Breakfast is good, we also had lunch and dinner not superior but satisfying.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vick30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We loved staying here.
We had booked the Waka Namya Hotel and when we got there we found it had changed hands and was now the Sungu.
We were a family of 5 with ages ranging from 62 down to 6.
This was a delightful place to stay. We occupied a whole deluxe Lanai with interconnecting room and a semi private pool. We loved the outside bathroom, the young ones couldnot believe it and at night we swam in the illuminated pool and looked up at the stars, it was a joy.
Food was very good and the staff really nice and kind to the little one.
We made full use of the free transport into the town of Ubud.
Would really recommend this place as a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of the town of Ubud.
Thanks Sungu

Room Tip: Deluxe Lanai are great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gael01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is our 5th/6th trip to Bali and our children are now in their teens so we needed more room. Ubud is about an hour away from the airport. We booked a 3 nights stay at a 2-bedroom pool villa at Sungu (formerly Waka Namya) that comes with daily breakfast, daily afternoon tea, free on-demand shuttle service, free visit to Rudana Museum and Art Gallery, 30-mins massage for 2 adults and a one-hour padi field trekking. The 2-bedroom pool villa (Tunjung 2) had one bedroom downstairs with 2 big wardrobe space (no hangers for clothes though strangely) and a huge bathroom downstairs with 2 sinks, a large sunk-in bathtub, a roof-sheltered yet open-air shower area and a separate toilet area with a glass door. The upstairs room contained a bed, the TV, phone and a big day bed. Only gripe is that there is only one bathroom downstairs. One air-con cools the whole room down but it was sufficient though this means the upstairs room is always cooler since the air-con is situated upstairs. The rooms are old-world cosy Bali charm but with modern comforts.The pool was too small to swim in but you could always use the bigger pool outside the room. Some of the villas and the spa were under renovations when we were there though we hardly hear much noise. We opted to have breakfast and afternoon tea in the room and had to request for extra chairs as the tables/chairs were meant for 2 pax only (in a 2-bedroom villa?). The fried banana fritters served for tea were delicious, breakfasts were pretty decent too. Absolutely loved the on-demand shuttle service that brought us around Ubud for food and some walkabouts. We took the shuttle car/van to the nearby restaurants then had the restaurants call the hotel to pick us up. Wifi is only available at the lobby though so if you need to stay connected, this would be an issue. Many of the things used at the hotel still carried the Waka Namya name such as it's cups and saucers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m00lah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had booked this hotel for four nights and when we wanted to extend our stay it was no problem.
The staff is friendly and the massage is nice.
We went on the trip around the rise fields that the hotel organise complementery and the guide (Didi) was wery good at inform about everything.

The only problem we had was that the farmers burn ther leaves every day around four a clock.
But that has nothing to do with the hotel and they do so al over Bali so you just have to gett used to it and plan your trips down to Ubud around that time fore example.

Overal a nice place to stay!

Room Tip: The wifi is not so good if you stay in the villas that are far from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vovven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#99 of 199 in Ubud
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
2.5 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#32 of 199 in Ubud
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#45 of 199 in Ubud
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sungu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sungu Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Penestanan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#89 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $71 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sungu Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next Antonio Blanco Museum. With choices of accommodations in Ubud: villas, private villas, resorts and hotels, the Sungu Resort & Spa is no new player. Formerly known as Waka Namya Resort & Spa Ubud, this hotel and resort has re-invented itself, and therefore upgraded many of its services and facilities to cater for its guests - the satisfied repeaters and the new ones seeking an alternatives of Ubud Resort or Ubud Hotel. Come and stay with us - Be a part of supreme, serene and sacred experiences.The Sungu Resort - the haven on the hill, within walking distance to the famed Antonio Blanco Museum, is nearby the artist village of Penestanan and is a short drive from the Rudana Gallery, many Ubud Art Museums & Cultural Centre and the downtown of Ubud. The Sungu Resort is serene and relaxing with welcoming friendly staff and management team who are always at your service. The Renovation has been done properly, To be in full operation on 1 July 2013, the resort is keen to await your stay with us with a full rejuvenating spa programs, children programs and creative art programs. Relax, rejuvenate, and rediscover yourself in a newly refurbished Resort, The Sungu Resort. This newly reborn Resort, formerly known as Waka Namya Resort, boosts new improved facilities such as New Duplex Villa Sungu ideal for 2 Adults and 3 Children. Another addition is the 2 Bed Room- Pool Villa Sungu also ideal for 2 Adults and 3 children. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa SunguThis is a two storey-traditional Balinese style villa with amenities such as top floor is a big sofa bed in the queen size bedroom with, TV cable for kids, air conditioning. And in down stairs find a queen size bedroom, shared huge bathroom, open shower, bathtub with complete amenities such as a hairdryer, large fridge, mini bar and a telephone. This Balinese room is decorated with local art work, whilst in the outside terrace you can find a private swimming pool, beautiful tropical garden, ideal for 2 adults and 3 children; or, if you would prefer, 4 adults maximum. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa Sungu is an excellent choice for your family. Each of the villas has an outdoor swimming pool decorated with green stone - a true wonderful appeal for a swim for adults and children. Have a swim and regain your stamina and wellness with the healthy sea salt treated pool. The Sungu Resort - Unique place to stay - feels like home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Sungu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sungu Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing