We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good - only one criticism”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sungu Resort & Spa
Ranked #104 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really good - only one criticism”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked the package (2 nights, massages. food, transfer - $200), which was a complete bargain. The room was spectacular and the whole place was lovely.

The only reason I haven't given this 5 stars is because although the staff were friendly they were extremely irritating. I understand that everyone is needs to get money to get by but we were persistantly approached by staff in the hotel whilst eating, drinking, or doing anything to book a trip through them. We even said to one maybe and he informed us he had booked us on to a boat later in the day. The management need to stop this as it puts a real dampener on the experience. I expect the hawkers in the street but I don't want to be seen as a dollar sign whilst i'm eating my pancakes!

The Nasi Goreng was delicious and you might get lucky and get the room with a bottle of Johnny Walker I left in the mini bar- although I am sure the bottle will have been found - the price inflated and then resold to make as much money out of us as possible.

Room Tip: Go on their website and see what packages they have available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    90
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
79
102
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Situated a short while away from hectic central Ubud, this resort is a relaxing option when visiting the area. Clean rooms with nice outdoor bathrooms, and a great pool. Breakfast is generous and tasty. And a free shuttle is offered to and from the centre, though it is in within easy walking distance if you are feeling energetic.

The only negative comment I have is the confusion caused by some of the staff very strongly recommending a performance that is not recommended by the reception staff.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AmyL566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at the Sungu Resort & Spa for 2 nights just two days ago. I have stayed at Amandari in the past. In my opnion, the standards at Sungu are almost the same as at Amandari but at about 1/7th of the price. Great value for the money. Staff service very caring; a car and driver was always available (and complimentary) when we wanted to drive to central Ubud. The location is great--only a few minutes away from town close to The Bridge Restaurant. The hotel changed management to its current one just about one month ago and they are making some upgrade changes. However I could not find fault with anything at this resort and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: I had room 7, my friend had room 6. Rooms were adjoining in one building. These two rooms share a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Waka Namya late December just as it was being rebranded (the 'Sungud' if I remember correctly). This is a hotel I would highly recommend because of its extremely friendly and helpful staff. Although the hotel is not 5 star rated, the staff's attitude certainly make you feel like it is. Moreover, the hotel in itself is charming (set in a beautiful balinese garden with a great large pool), even if a bit old (and undergoing some refurbishing at the moment). Rooms are spacious, well decorated and with huge outdoors bathrooms. The location is good too - just a 5min drive into central Ubud. And, the hotel provides a free shuttle service to drive you anywhere in town, and pick you up from anywhere as well. All in all great value and wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanghai118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here (mature couple) for 8 nights in October. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. Room was kept clean and bed turned down every night (mozzie nets on the bed too). We had a Lanai room, which was very spacious. We also had access to the smaller pool as it was low season.
The bathroom, although large, was a rather strange design. The shower was in the open, which was lovely, although the pebbles were a bit unstable to walk over. To get to the shower, you had to walk through the toilet, even though the most direct way was from the bathroom but there was only a skinny tiled area behind the the bathtub to do this.
We had our breakfast served on our patio as the stairs to the dining room were a bit much for me to handle on a regular basis (knee replacement). Breakfast was lovely and the service was excellent.
There was a shuttle available whenever you wanted to take you into central Ubud or to any restaurant, as well as pick you up (finishes at 10pm). It was only a 15 minute walk into Ubud, but there are no footpaths on the windy, hilly road. I walked it once (uphill) and my husband did it a few times but not worth the risk at night time. Anyway, it only costs 40,000 rupiah if you need to get a taxi and they are plentiful in Ubud.
Take advantage of the free ride and admission to the Rudana museum, owned by the director (I think) of Waka Namya. My favourite though, would have to be the Blanco Museum, just down the hill, then up the hill, from Waka Namaya.
There are several little massage spa's and art shops around the hotel. I bought 3 paintings and had several massages. The massages at the hotel are ridiculously overpriced, about $75 US per hour. You do get a complimentary 30 minute massage and it is absolutely wonderful, however, they have priced themselves out of the market, which is a shame for the girls who give the massages as they are excellent.
My only complaint about this place would have to be the toilet paper! I know, sounds like a ridiculous thing to complain about but this stuff just disintegrated as soon as it came within a hint of moisture. We ended up buying some from a little shop down the road.
Nonetheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Waka Namya and would definitely recommend to others, particularly if you don't like the big resorts. This is a small and personal hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel was incredible. It was intimate, full of character, comfortable, great facilities (2 sml pools and an excellent spa), location close enough to town you can walk (but there are also free shuttles whenever you want dropped off/picked up) and the friendliest staff. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special. We arrived very late (after the kitchens had closed) but they still rustled up something to eat for us. We went on the free rice field walk in the morning which was informative and the hotel organised a couple of other trips for us too. The bungalow we stayed in, with sunken bath and outdoor shower was lovely, with great big canopied comfy bed. This was an ideal part of our honeymoon we very much enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatE1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

With our family with young kids we have stayed in this very pleasant small resort for 3 nights. We felt at home immediately after check in. It is a very quiet place and very pleasant designed. The staff is very friendly and helpful and a few excursions (f.e. risefield walking, visit to art museum) are organised for free. The breakfast is too limited and the rooms or houses don not have wifi, which is quite rare nowadays. The bathrooms could have some modernisation. There is a free shuttle service for around. The free afternoon tea with small snack is also very pleasant. We will not hesitate to recommend this place to others and understand from the hotel management that necessary modernisation will take place the coming months.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BastiaanVanLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.5 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
1.9 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
1.1 mi away
Ubud Wana Resort
Ubud Wana Resort
#48 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Hill
Sunset Hill
#91 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Solo Villas & Retreat
Solo Villas & Retreat
#78 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sungu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sungu Resort & Spa

Property: The Sungu Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Penestanan (Jl. Campuhan 1), Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#85 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sungu Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next Antonio Blanco Museum. With choices of accommodations in Ubud: villas, private villas, resorts and hotels, the Sungu Resort & Spa is no new player. Formerly known as Waka Namya Resort & Spa Ubud, this hotel and resort has re-invented itself, and therefore upgraded many of its services and facilities to cater for its guests - the satisfied repeaters and the new ones seeking an alternatives of Ubud Resort or Ubud Hotel. Come and stay with us - Be a part of supreme, serene and sacred experiences.The Sungu Resort - the haven on the hill, within walking distance to the famed Antonio Blanco Museum, is nearby the artist village of Penestanan and is a short drive from the Rudana Gallery, many Ubud Art Museums & Cultural Centre and the downtown of Ubud. The Sungu Resort is serene and relaxing with welcoming friendly staff and management team who are always at your service. The Renovation has been done properly, To be in full operation on 1 July 2013, the resort is keen to await your stay with us with a full rejuvenating spa programs, children programs and creative art programs. Relax, rejuvenate, and rediscover yourself in a newly refurbished Resort, The Sungu Resort. This newly reborn Resort, formerly known as Waka Namya Resort, boosts new improved facilities such as New Duplex Villa Sungu ideal for 2 Adults and 3 Children. Another addition is the 2 Bed Room- Pool Villa Sungu also ideal for 2 Adults and 3 children. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa SunguThis is a two storey-traditional Balinese style villa with amenities such as top floor is a big sofa bed in the queen size bedroom with, TV cable for kids, air conditioning. And in down stairs find a queen size bedroom, shared huge bathroom, open shower, bathtub with complete amenities such as a hairdryer, large fridge, mini bar and a telephone. This Balinese room is decorated with local art work, whilst in the outside terrace you can find a private swimming pool, beautiful tropical garden, ideal for 2 adults and 3 children; or, if you would prefer, 4 adults maximum. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa Sungu is an excellent choice for your family. Each of the villas has an outdoor swimming pool decorated with green stone - a true wonderful appeal for a swim for adults and children. Have a swim and regain your stamina and wellness with the healthy sea salt treated pool. The Sungu Resort - Unique place to stay - feels like home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sungu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sungu Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing