We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and beautiful hotel with excellent service in quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sungu Resort & Spa
Ranked #113 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is beautiful. The design is almost perfect. The pool is good and if you had back luck as us and you have a group of kids that are playing a shouting meanwhile you are trying to enjoy the SPA, you always can go to a smaller pool that is more private.
The people that is in the hotel is always trying to help you to find a solution for find a good excursion to do.
The towels are a little bit old. It seems that they don't invest to much in try to renovate the hotel.
The prices for the SPA and the dining is excessive.
The breakfast is good, but take into account that they take time to serve it.
It is an special place to chill out and enjoy the nice area of Ubud.
Wifi works good in all the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are bungallows, so they are quite private itself. All the rooms have the shower outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andykdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 256 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was a lovely hotel with very helpful staff. The pool was absolutely superb Hotel prices were a bit high for spa facitilies and food was on par with more up market cafes. T You can just relax as some rooms don't have TV, so you can ready get away!

Once adjusted the A/C was good and quiet, although staff tend to put it very cool on arrival.

They have a shuttle service to take you into the city any time you want. However, you need to have a mobile phone to contact for return or go to the Tourist Information bureau and they will call for you.

The only down side for me was that the rosters crow starting early in the morning. During the day you tune out, but even with earplugs you could hear them for the early morning wake up call. I like nature, but not at 6 am if I am on holiday.

Room Tip: A little of of town but you can get the shuttle at any time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl910934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We really liked this hotel. There are no TVs, it's away from the centre of town, feels very authentic. Staff were helpful without being over the top. They ensured we had the right information to complete the activities we wanted to do. Ginger martini in the foyer was really lovely, and there's a really nice warung a few doors down. We would happily stay here again. Out door bathrooms and four poster beds were a highlight. Swimming pools were a welcome relief after a day out at the markets in Sukawati. This is not five star, but we weren't after five star and nor did we pay five star prices. The vibe here is very relaxed. Rooms are incredibly comfortable. Bathrooms are huge and the room layout ensures everyone has their privacy. I'd always wanted to stay in a Waka resort and I'm glad I did. Was perfect for 3 friends on holiday.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1, 3 and 6. If you are a light sleeper avoid room 1 as it's by reception (which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Lovely staff and excellent rooms. We were in Deluxe Lanai 4 - highly recommended and the outdoor bathroom is really lovely. It's great to lie in the bath (as I did once) as the sun goes down with the sound of the crickets goes on around you.

Free shuttle in an dout of down is lovely, and the complimentary afternoon tea each day was lovely. Also, the food is outstanding, particularly the breakfasts - such wonderful fresh juices and fresh fruit plates, plus the loveliest Mie Goreng, Nasi Goreng and Bubur Ayam ever.

Free rice paddy trek was also great. We spent four nights here as part of our honeymoon and it was PERFECT. Staff are lovely and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Deluxe Lanai 4 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great service from staff. Free shuttle in and out of town upon request.
Free haf an hour massage for your stay.
Staff were friendly and always there when needed.
Gorgeous pool and lovely breakfast.
Free tea and coffee at afternoon tea time.
Loved the tea they use, had at least a pot per day :)

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and get the best room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice little hotel. This is a no frills hotel, but that is what is nice about it. The only drawback is the shuttle does not start until 10 am, so if you want to do morning yoga you will have a good walk into town, but it is at least down the hill.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misse77_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in Waka Namya from 16th to 19th June 2012. It was a wonderful stay. The resort has its own chharacter with a private swimming pool with almost every cottage. It is very close to Ubud (15 minutes walk or 5 minutes drive by fre shuttle) but at the same time in the middle of rural environment. The staff here are very nice and helpful. Stay in Waka Namya was one of the high points of our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalyanmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#95 of 199 in Ubud
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 199 in Ubud
1,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#35 of 199 in Ubud
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
3.2 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#46 of 199 in Ubud
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sungu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sungu Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Penestanan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#93 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $74 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sungu Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next Antonio Blanco Museum. With choices of accommodations in Ubud: villas, private villas, resorts and hotels, the Sungu Resort & Spa is no new player. Formerly known as Waka Namya Resort & Spa Ubud, this hotel and resort has re-invented itself, and therefore upgraded many of its services and facilities to cater for its guests - the satisfied repeaters and the new ones seeking an alternatives of Ubud Resort or Ubud Hotel. Come and stay with us - Be a part of supreme, serene and sacred experiences.The Sungu Resort - the haven on the hill, within walking distance to the famed Antonio Blanco Museum, is nearby the artist village of Penestanan and is a short drive from the Rudana Gallery, many Ubud Art Museums & Cultural Centre and the downtown of Ubud. The Sungu Resort is serene and relaxing with welcoming friendly staff and management team who are always at your service. The Renovation has been done properly, To be in full operation on 1 July 2013, the resort is keen to await your stay with us with a full rejuvenating spa programs, children programs and creative art programs. Relax, rejuvenate, and rediscover yourself in a newly refurbished Resort, The Sungu Resort. This newly reborn Resort, formerly known as Waka Namya Resort, boosts new improved facilities such as New Duplex Villa Sungu ideal for 2 Adults and 3 Children. Another addition is the 2 Bed Room- Pool Villa Sungu also ideal for 2 Adults and 3 children. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa SunguThis is a two storey-traditional Balinese style villa with amenities such as top floor is a big sofa bed in the queen size bedroom with, TV cable for kids, air conditioning. And in down stairs find a queen size bedroom, shared huge bathroom, open shower, bathtub with complete amenities such as a hairdryer, large fridge, mini bar and a telephone. This Balinese room is decorated with local art work, whilst in the outside terrace you can find a private swimming pool, beautiful tropical garden, ideal for 2 adults and 3 children; or, if you would prefer, 4 adults maximum. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa Sungu is an excellent choice for your family. Each of the villas has an outdoor swimming pool decorated with green stone - a true wonderful appeal for a swim for adults and children. Have a swim and regain your stamina and wellness with the healthy sea salt treated pool. The Sungu Resort - Unique place to stay - feels like home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Sungu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sungu Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing