We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See the real Bali!”

Bali Countryside Cycling Tour
Ranked #64 of 158 Outdoor Activities in Ubud
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bali's Countryside Cycling Tours allow travelers to experience the countryside beyond the traditional tourist route. Cycling downhill from Kitamani to traditional village, the tour passes through lush environments and the opportunity to walk through rice paddies, visit local and traditional villages penglipuran, famous temples PURA KEHEN and a family compound.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Wuhan, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“See the real Bali!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We chose Bali's countryside cycling (Bali Hai) because we thought the itenerary seemed the most unique and interesting. We were not disappointed! We were picked up from our hotel around 8 am and drove to a coffee/tea/ spice plantation. The plantation was absolutely beautiful and we were given several free samples of some extremely delicious coffees and teas. Luwak coffee is available for purchase by the glass(around $5 a glass). After the plantation, we were off to Kintami to have brunch overlooking Mt. Batur. Following brunch, we drove for a short while to the starting point of the bicycle ride. The bike ride is very simple. It is almost entirely downhill, so athletic stamina is not necessary. The ability to ride a bike is necessary. (We had 2 women on our tour who had a great deal of difficulty balancing on a bike.)The tour travels approximately 30-40 km through villages, bamboo forests, temples, fruit markets, rice fields, farmland, steep/twisting roads...the REAL Bali. One of my favorite things was listening to the chickens at various villages "serenading" us as we drove by. I also enjoyed seeing all of the children that were standing at the sides of the road shouting "Hello friend" and "Money!" The tour ends at the owner's family compound where you are greeted with a cold towel and are treated to a delicious Balinese lunch- all while overlooking a beautiful terraced rice field.

Our entire family participated in this event. My 4 year old son rode in a special seat on the back of my bike. My 10 year old daughter rode the entire length. My 7 year old daughter only rode for approximately 1 km and then rode in the back of a van for the remainder of the trip. Prior to this trip, our 7 year old daughter had never used brakes that were on the handlebars of a bike. It was far too difficult for her to compress the brake. Due to the downhill nature of the entire trip, if someone is not comfortable with hand brakes, this tour could prove to be too difficult/dangerous. If you are considering bringing children on the trip, you may wish to bring your own child bike helmets. The helmet provided for my 4 year old was a perfect fit, but we had to do some significant adjustments to the other children's helmets before they were considered (in my opinion) good enough. Overall. this was such a great experience!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Boilermakernurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balicountryside, Owner at Bali Countryside Cycling Tour, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Boiler
Thank you for your great review and also your choice on our cycling tour, we highly appreciate it! We realize that we should give all customers our best efforts and services, Flexible and good quality cycling tour in Bali.
Best regards
Kadek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    29
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique cycling experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

we took the Bali countryside cycling tour with Kadek, Wayan and Eddie in March (this review is a little late!) and had a fantastic time, the tour is seemlessly organised and offers a variety of routes depending on your confidence levels. We stopped at a coffee and tea plantations, a bamboo plantation, volcano, local villages and a number of temples a long the way before stopping for a fantastic lunch prepared by Eddie's wife. It was definately one of the highlights of our trip, highly recommended!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anisha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solo, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I love cycling around countryside. I am also a tour guide of it in Solo-indonesia
Ubud is a nice place in Bali. I love it

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank dwi_indonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good cycling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Excellent activity for all the family. We were picked up from our hotel and went to the volcano. Stopped off at coffee plantation. There was a short car trip after breakfast and we got on our bikes. Mostly it it down hill. Very happy that we went through a bamboo forest as it is something you do not see usually. Went to temples and residences. Cycling is not hard and is easy for both young and old. Mostly it is off the main roads which was good. There is a car which follows so if you want to stop you can. The guides are full of knowledge and are excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karsha2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balicountryside, Owner at Bali Countryside Cycling Tour, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Kharsa

Thank you for your great review and also your choice on our cycling tour, we highly appreciate it! We realize that we should give all customers our best efforts and services, Flexible and good quality cycling tour in Bali.

Best regards
Kadek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great experience all round, maybe too many in a group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We did the bike tour in April and enjoyed the experience as a whole...the ride down hill was such fun (and easy) and views just great.

What was good about it:

>great staff
>fantastic views
>AMAZING lunch at the end
>easy and fun ride all the way down hill

What could be improved:
> fewer people per group (took ages to pick everyone up and drop them off)
> less rushed breakfast at the top of the hiil , the food wasn't all that great either
> spend less time stopping at various spots to see touristy stuff and more time on the bike

All in all great fun, would recommend

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fraser97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Countryside Cycling Tour also viewed

 

Been to Bali Countryside Cycling Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing