We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sania's House Bungalows
Ranked #148 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place with friendly people”
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed he're for 6 nights. The compound looks very nice. We had a nice and very clean room with a huge balconie overlooking the swimmingpool.

I think we payed a littlebit to much for the room. We only had a fan and no airconditioning.
Curtains in the room are white so at 6 in the morning I was always wide awake.
Bathroom is ok. We had a bathtub.

Breakfast was very good and served on your own balcony. Especially the bananapancakes were delicious! Also you get a nice fruitsalad. They serve free tea during the day.

They do try to sell you trips, but they are not pushy at all. So for us that was not a problem at all.

Location is very good. Nearby the Pasar and lots of restaurants. We loved eating at Budy's Warung that's nearby and much cheaper than the restaurant in Monkey Forrest Road.

The swimmingpool is small but very nice cool water.

They have wi-fi, but receiption is not perfect. Constantly I saw people walking by with there laptop to find good receiption. But it was good enough to get to my e-mail.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monnike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    120
    43
    16
    10
See reviews for
23
100
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

I was really impressed with the compound when I arrived, the family shrine and pool are very nice, and location is central. Room was very clean and views from balcony great. However, the roosters and dogs in the surrounding dwellings start to crow very early and the top rooms are quite warm with only a fan. Considering you can get a decent room for 100 000 rupiahs in Ubud, the 300 000 I paid was a bit steep.
Also, the noise problems plague many places, if it is not scooters, then dogs and roosters, in Ubud many small roads may have a surprising amount of traffic. I am happy with the place I found now, it is close to Monkey forest road but very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxfishlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We would definately recommend this guest house to others wanting budget, comfortable, clean and classic balinese accomodation. Warm and friendly staff, free breakfast, beautiful gardens and nice pool.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

What a wonderful hidden gem Sania's House is. My pal and I had a delightful stay.
The environment was beautiful!

p.s. If the handsome Ricka should read this, I hope I bump into you again one day.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trosefielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Helder
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2010

I saw Sania´s House allready when I was in Ubud for 1 day with a group and was looking forward for a homestay when the group left later on Bali and I`ll stayed on my own. They´ve showed me a room and told me to phone one day before I would like to come.

But when I came then they put me in a room which was on the back of the houses. It was dark, no sun, and therefore a room which was very moist.
I asked for another room. There was only one room free and that cost me more but it was nice and clean. And I stayed there for 5 nights with pleasure.
I´ve payed 300.000 rp. per night for one room of my own. (that other was 200.000rp)
Towelcleaning is ones in the 2 or 3 days as I remember????

Shania´s is a really nice homestay then. You walked at first trough the familycompound and then you came to the beautifull old balinese houses (see photo´s)
The boys are very friendly and helpfull.
Nice breakfast and tea at your one balcony.
A little swimmingpool but only in the morning in the sun.

Sania´s is in the middle of the centre but in a sidestreet so you don´t hear the traffic that loud. Behind the homestay is the big market, so the middle of the centre from Ubud. Very nice if you stay alone, I´ve walked all one my own also in the middle of night when it was all dark. I allways felt saved!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank printilIngrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l1zzy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Stunning hotel at a good price.Lovely staff and beautiful surroundings.Nice (but small) pool.Very relaxing.Well located in the town. Would return for sure if we were ever in Ubud.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l1zzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

After reading many great reviews, I obviously had a higher expectation. The room we stayed was filled with beds with old mattresses and a smelly bathroom. The location is great, a few steps from the market. However when in Ubud, we wanted to experience a bit of rural view surrounded by paddie fields, enjoy listening to nature sounds at night, and basically chill out. We heard that even the central area of Ubud town had some paddie fields left 10 years ago but it's all developed now with so many restaurants and souvenir shops. After walking around the busy buzzing touristy area, we just wanted somewhere homey that I can go back to relax and feel real Ubud. After staying Sania's for one night, we left for an amazing guesthouse in Bisma - 10 minitus walk from the centre of the town. It's in the middle of paddie fields and the rooms are so clean and decorated with beautiful Hibiscus flowers every morning. Sania's buildings were beautiful old Balinese style. I do not mind old but do mind messy and not kept clean. They could do better giving their place a bit more care. There are so many better places if you don't mind staying just outside of the centre. 10 mins walk is not far at all when you can get to stay somewhere with lovely Ubud surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mstrlotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#163 of 196 in Ubud
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#117 of 196 in Ubud
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
#160 of 196 in Ubud
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#156 of 196 in Ubud
107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Garden View Cottage
Garden View Cottage
#140 of 196 in Ubud
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sania's House Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sania's House Bungalows

Property: Sania's House Bungalows
Address: Jalan Karna No. 7, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sania's House Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sania`s House Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Sanias Hotel Ubud
Sania's House Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing