We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great balinese compound setting. Budget travel value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sania's House Bungalows
Ranked #135 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great balinese compound setting. Budget travel value”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is a lovely traditional balinese compound setting with the hotel rooms set out the back...lots of rooms and room prices to chose from - i went for the budget fan and cold water only. The pool looked unclean unfortunately (very green looking) but i swam in it anyway when i was hot. Stayed two nights. Would stay again because it is so central and is such a lovely old balinese style and its great to see these places survive in Bali. Breakfast was very ample given some of the breakfasts you can get in these smaller budget places. Room quality and cleanliness were what i would expect for the 250,000 IRD i paid.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerNZfromCHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    120
    41
    15
    9
See reviews for
23
97
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed for a week at this spectacle of wonder.
We did feel the need to upgrade to a air condoned room that was higher with more light than our initial down below room. The upgrade cost was minor compared to the significant improvement in the room.
Sania's house is a multilevel wonderland of architecture and decoration. Tucked down a side road behind the market it is simultaneously private, quiet and close to everything.
An added bonus was a family ceremony during our stay. The week of busy preparations followed by a day of marvellous beauty was a cultural treat.

Room Tip: P1has the best view but most stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Gorgeous architecture, lovely big bungalows with amazing wooden furniture, tropical garden and a yummy breakfast served on your balcony. Excellent location and friendly staff. Only downside for me was the pool - it was murky and green and surrounded by workmen most of the time we were there, so you couldnt really relax beside it if you wanted to. There was no hot water but given how hot it was we weren't really bothered. Would stay there again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Av1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Amazing decoration. Very typical. Nice little swimming pool.

Every room has a private patio where the breakfast is served.
One of the best location in center Ubud (near the market and palace).
Good little breakfast with fruits, tea/coffee, and alacarte items.

The only thing is that our room was quite old and smelly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The buildings and grounds themselves are pretty but the pool is a murky green colour that you would not want to swim in!
Although hot water is boasted on the sign outside, it is not readily available. Throughout my 4 night stay we were only able to get hot water once after running it for 20 minutes!
The staff were not very friendly and rude at times.
The breakfasts were good and delivered reasonably promptly to our room balcony each morning.
The location is also very convenient.
I would not chose to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hbc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed in Sania's the first time I was in Ubud, and every time I return I am stunned by its sheer perfection. The location, the architecture, the garden, the artistic touches. I have tried other places as well, but the value for money is just exceptional with Sania's.

Room Tip: P1 is my favourite room, having a nice view over Ubud and Mt. Agung.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxfishlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights. I think it was a little bit too expensive compared to what was offered. I really liked the fact that you could choose from a breakfast menu and they brought it to your porch. The rooms were kind of worn down, I was afraid the fan would fall down and the sink was leaking. I enjoyed the surroundings, nice garden, pool and good location. The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zorahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#145 of 198 in Ubud
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#130 of 198 in Ubud
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#108 of 198 in Ubud
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
#164 of 198 in Ubud
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalows
Merthayasa Bungalows
#161 of 198 in Ubud
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sania's House Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sania's House Bungalows

Property: Sania's House Bungalows
Address: Jalan Karna No. 7, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sania's House Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sania`s House Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Sanias Hotel Ubud
Sania's House Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing