We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many happy years visiting Sania, Theodorus and family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sania's House Bungalows
Ranked #148 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Many happy years visiting Sania, Theodorus and family”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Have returned here many times with my daughter and other members of my family and have always been happy with the accommodation which is set in beautiful gardens giving it a rural tranquil atmosphere. This is surprising as the bungalows are situated in busy Ubud market making it convenient for shopping and restaurants. Sania is a wonderful host always helpful and who personally keeps his gardens in beautiful condition. Theodorus, his wife, is a very attentive 'mama' who has never failed to greet us on arrival, whatever time it is, and is always ready to help with any problems. The family celebrate many religious festivals so there always seems to be some elaborate preparations in progress. The staff are all very friendly, helpful and most keen to chat so that they can improve their English. I would be hard to find somewhere else in Ubud that is so friendly, conveniently situated and such value for money. can't wait to return to 'My home in Ubud'

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms near the pool, these are in the bungalows middle price range and are close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    120
    43
    16
    10
See reviews for
23
100
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camiguin, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

not been to Ubud during previous visits to Bali, this was the time to do so. Recommended by a German "local" who did also the booking for us, we arrived in the evening and our room was not available; an error that however was solved almost immediately. We had the room directly besides the nice but little pool of which water color did not invite us to use it. The room was big, so was the bed which however was a little "noisy"; the bathroom basic and no toiletries supplied; the split-aircon effective and sufficiently silent; a pity the musty smell all over the room....
day and night it was very calm and silent in this compound. Free WiFi internet was available.
This rather home stay consists of a complex together of multi-storey buildings, walkways, steps and staircases around a small courtyard garden where not much sun enters. The staff at the reception and the waiters were not really friendly or helpful (for Balinese circumstances); the included breakfast, which is served on the veranda of the room, is very simple but can be integrated with extra-orders.
The very best of this place is its absolute central position from which you can reach almost all Ubud by foot. Considering value for money, should we come to Ubud again, we would consider to stay again at Sania's House....

Room Tip: we guess ground floor rooms are larger and easier to get to
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Patsada_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel has a perfect location and nice rooms typical from bali.
thats about it for the good points.
almost impossible to sleep without ear plugs as hearings dogs, chickens and new construction in the guest house.
They forgot to put sheets the first night.
The breakfast is horrible, long and most of time cold when they bring it to the room.
the pool has an intersting design but very small

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donvitotonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I am a return visitor to Sania's and find it perfectly located just behind the market and great value for the price. The family is gorgeous and all of the staff are happy and helpful. Breakfast is served whenever you wake up on your verandah. I have been here for three weeks and it feels like home. You can't be more centrally located than this. With everything within walking distance there are lots of eating options close at hand.. yet it is still very peaceful day and night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryYumYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nice rooms, clean, good beds, breakfast &wifi included. Location is excellent in central Ubud, but still it is very peaceful and quite during the night. Pool is tiny, but you can catch some sun and cool down on a hot day, so it serves the purpose.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Monica_from_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

When we first arrived to this hotel we were delighted by the architecture, although the family that owns the hotel and lives there didn't even bother to say hello we decided to stay.
In the middle of the night we've been bitten and therefore awaken by bed bugs, a horrible sight indeed ! We ran to the reception and all they had to say was that we could switch to another room, in the middle of the night... but with an extra cost !!!!!! as the other available room was like 4 euros more expensive !! we got really mad, they gave us, I guess, a not yet infested room but we couldn't sleep, of course. When talking to the cleaning guy in the morning it appeared that the owner was fully aware of the situation but doesn't care as long as she rents the rooms even for one night. We've left obviously and had to pay the full price and the employees and owners were very cold, not even saying goodbye ! I just hope that I haven't brought any of those bed bugs with me otherwise I would basically have to burn down everything I've got at home so please don t go there !!!

Room Tip: bed bugs don' t go there no need to say more!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lams00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel itself is very nice especially the architecture. But it seems that the success through LP recommendations made the owners a Bit lazy in terms of cleanliness. At first sight everything looked very nice. The size of the room, the location, the patio in front of the room, the service etc. BUT I cannot give more than a one point rating due to the fact that my bedsheets were dirty and infested by bedbugs. After 3 days I am still fighting with these beasts and if I'm lucky I won't bring them home with me. So unless you're an insect-lover DON'T GO THERE!!! Finally I realized that you can get much better and cleaner rooms for less money if you do a little more research out of your LP.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lockli_GER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#163 of 196 in Ubud
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#117 of 196 in Ubud
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
#160 of 196 in Ubud
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#156 of 196 in Ubud
107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Garden View Cottage
Garden View Cottage
#140 of 196 in Ubud
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sania's House Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sania's House Bungalows

Property: Sania's House Bungalows
Address: Jalan Karna No. 7, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sania's House Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sania`s House Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Sanias Hotel Ubud
Sania's House Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing