We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful homestay in beautiful Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sania's House Bungalows
Ranked #151 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place is really stunning - beatiful Bali style stone buildings in a traditional bali home. Breakfast on the private patio was a highlight, as was the thermos of hot tea left there early every morning. Pool is small but more than big enough to cool off in and in a lovely garden courtyard with full sun. Staff was incredibly helpful too - early breakfast when needed and booked transport and scooters for me (even taught me how to ride the scooter :)), and sorted evening dance performances as well. Only advice would be to take care in walking in the alley where the entrance is at night as there were some quite scary stray dogs there at times (I had to defend myself with an umbrella one night....). Local Warung around the corner serves an awesome Nasi Campur!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 261 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I was disappointed with the staff's grumpiness and the expensive price tag for a room at the back (v. dark at night) in a building in construction for a view of the stream err rubbish dump at the back. Sure there's a small pool, but 250k??? I checked out after one night and easily found a better place.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marilynec24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Just down from markets. You enter in a narrow gateway to be stunned by the tardis-like spacious interior. Stories of rooms. Leafy courtyard. Beautiful pool. It is stunning Bali style. I paid 250 000R for a room up top with views on one side overlooking the courtyard and pool. On the other I had stunning views of Ubud at dusk. Not far from Palace so I went to sleep to the hypnotic sounds of the gamelan. Magic!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Funkychick145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice and well maintained guest house in Ubud. Rooms and bathrooms are nice and clean. nice terraces, with nice views on the house garden/patios or on Ubud roofs. Swimming pool is not as large and clean as it looks on the website. Very quiet at night as it is 2 blocks away from noisy monky forest road, but early wake up is ensured by chickens , like most places in Bali. Breakfast is OK. I would not be as enthusiastic as the Lonely Planet is on Sania's house, but, overall, guest house is fine

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OJdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I spent 4 nights at Sania's Place, in a beautifull bungalow. Great welcoming, charming garden and with a swimming pool. The wifi connection is not very good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathpatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I've just come back from a trip to Ubud, where I stayed at Sania's for 5 nights.
I was impressed with the location, on a super quiet lane away from traffic, but only a 5 minute walk to Monkey Forest Road and heaps of restaurants.
I stayed in one of the 150,000 rupiah rooms and I would recommed paying a bit more for what looked like far better rooms near the pool. The breakfast options were impressive, pancakes and more than the usual eggs on toast. In 5 days my room wasn't cleaned, so that's my only criticism, but safe, and worth it for the swimming pool.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have been visiting Sania's since about 1996 and always enjoy coming back. It is a quiet oasis very close to the main market and an easy walk to some pretty rice paddy walks.

Sania's has grown a lot and has shifted from a bare bones backpacker sort of place to a more upscale family place, and the prices reflect that. The old bungalows have been torn down by now and replaced with fancier units with Balinese carvings, large patio areas, aircon, etc.

My advice is to only stay there if you get one of the rooms next to the pool - there are some in the back that are dark, mouldy-smelling and not as pretty (blue toilets, sinks and tubs?!).

If anyone from Sania's is reading this, please, please change the breakfasts!! They are the same since 1996: terrible white toast, standard pineapple/papaya fruit salad, a greasy omelette and so-so tea/coffee. And palm oil spread instead of butter! Surely if they are charging $35/night they can afford to buy some decent bread and serve a more sophisticated breakfast. We got so sick of it that we asked for fried rice (they won't serve local food) and just ended up eating out every morning.

Anyway, still a charming guest house but among an ever-growing number of charmin guest houses in Ubud.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Explorasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#118 of 199 in Ubud
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#155 of 199 in Ubud
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#131 of 199 in Ubud
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalows
Merthayasa Bungalows
#160 of 199 in Ubud
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kajeng Bungalows
Kajeng Bungalows
#168 of 199 in Ubud
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sania's House Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sania's House Bungalows

Address: Jalan Karna No. 7, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $20 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sania's House Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sania`s House Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Sanias Hotel Ubud
Sania's House Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing