We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Largely overrated by Lonely Planet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sania's House Bungalows
Ranked #150 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Largely overrated by Lonely Planet”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I was disappointed with the staff's grumpiness and the expensive price tag for a room at the back (v. dark at night) in a building in construction for a view of the stream err rubbish dump at the back. Sure there's a small pool, but 250k??? I checked out after one night and easily found a better place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marilynec24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    120
    43
    17
    10
See reviews for
24
100
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Just down from markets. You enter in a narrow gateway to be stunned by the tardis-like spacious interior. Stories of rooms. Leafy courtyard. Beautiful pool. It is stunning Bali style. I paid 250 000R for a room up top with views on one side overlooking the courtyard and pool. On the other I had stunning views of Ubud at dusk. Not far from Palace so I went to sleep to the hypnotic sounds of the gamelan. Magic!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Funkychick145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice and well maintained guest house in Ubud. Rooms and bathrooms are nice and clean. nice terraces, with nice views on the house garden/patios or on Ubud roofs. Swimming pool is not as large and clean as it looks on the website. Very quiet at night as it is 2 blocks away from noisy monky forest road, but early wake up is ensured by chickens , like most places in Bali. Breakfast is OK. I would not be as enthusiastic as the Lonely Planet is on Sania's house, but, overall, guest house is fine

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OJdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I spent 4 nights at Sania's Place, in a beautifull bungalow. Great welcoming, charming garden and with a swimming pool. The wifi connection is not very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathpatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I've just come back from a trip to Ubud, where I stayed at Sania's for 5 nights.
I was impressed with the location, on a super quiet lane away from traffic, but only a 5 minute walk to Monkey Forest Road and heaps of restaurants.
I stayed in one of the 150,000 rupiah rooms and I would recommed paying a bit more for what looked like far better rooms near the pool. The breakfast options were impressive, pancakes and more than the usual eggs on toast. In 5 days my room wasn't cleaned, so that's my only criticism, but safe, and worth it for the swimming pool.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have been visiting Sania's since about 1996 and always enjoy coming back. It is a quiet oasis very close to the main market and an easy walk to some pretty rice paddy walks.

Sania's has grown a lot and has shifted from a bare bones backpacker sort of place to a more upscale family place, and the prices reflect that. The old bungalows have been torn down by now and replaced with fancier units with Balinese carvings, large patio areas, aircon, etc.

My advice is to only stay there if you get one of the rooms next to the pool - there are some in the back that are dark, mouldy-smelling and not as pretty (blue toilets, sinks and tubs?!).

If anyone from Sania's is reading this, please, please change the breakfasts!! They are the same since 1996: terrible white toast, standard pineapple/papaya fruit salad, a greasy omelette and so-so tea/coffee. And palm oil spread instead of butter! Surely if they are charging $35/night they can afford to buy some decent bread and serve a more sophisticated breakfast. We got so sick of it that we asked for fried rice (they won't serve local food) and just ended up eating out every morning.

Anyway, still a charming guest house but among an ever-growing number of charmin guest houses in Ubud.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Sania's House makes for a really comfortable budget spot in Ubud. My companions and I have spent about 150-250 Rupiah/night for two people across different locations in Bali, and Sania's offers one of the best deals in that price range. Rooms are tidy, the property is gorgeous (and the pool hits the spot), free coffee and breakfasts are lovely!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#115 of 196 in Ubud
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#163 of 196 in Ubud
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#158 of 196 in Ubud
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
#161 of 196 in Ubud
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sania's House Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sania's House Bungalows

Property: Sania's House Bungalows
Address: Jalan Karna No. 7, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sania's House Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sania`s House Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Sanias Hotel Ubud
Sania's House Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing