We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nyoman Karsa Bungalows
Ranked #172 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

This functional hotel is very close to the monkey forest, and yet is quiet and looks out over rice paddies. The rates are pretty good - we paid $60 US in high season, the pool is spectacular, the breakfasts included and basic but fresh, and the WiFi was free and not too slow. It is only five minutes walf from Yoga Barn. Monkeys may come and take a look on your verandah, so keep fresh fruit inside. The village run enterprise is staffed by friendly and warm staff. Only downside is that there is no safe in the rooms. Otherwise great value.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
35
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tangerang selatan
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

we booked a room in this hotel by travel agent, they gave us great price, now we know that not all hotels in ubud are expensive..by the way, this our first time to spend the night in ubud, me, my wife and my 3 yr'old daughter.. when we arrived, the front desk / lobby is not to good to see.. but when you get in to the hotel, you will see a very different view than you saw in the front / lobby..nyoman karsa have 10 rooms, i stayed at the room, facing the pool and rice field.. the room is spacious, the bathroom is big and clean, it had a bathtub and a rainshower. after then, we contact the receptionist to find us a motorcycle to drive to, because in monkey forest road, is a one way road, and the road is not to big, so it difficult if we drive by a car, so we order a motocycle for 50000 idr / 24hrs, then we go to the PIZZA BAGUS, not to far from the hotel, they have a very good pizza, u should try it.. and you have to try the balinesse traditional massage in venezia spa (next to the hotel) they gave you a very good balinesse massage for 90000 idr / 1 hour.. you should try the IBU RAI restaurant too.. IBU RAI is well known as the great chef back then in the 80's, now he son GEDE DEWA runs this restaurant.. one thing i really miss about ubud is the atmosphere.. very calm.. really good for your soul, most of the restaurant, store etc, are closing at 9pm, even in weekend. ok that's all for now.. btw, you know, UBUD means Medicine / cure :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fransisco_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spend a couple of days in Ubud and found those Bungalows a perfect place to stay. The rooms are clean and simple, the beds comfortable. The garden with the pool is nice and next to a rice field which gives the perfect Ubud atmosphere. The breakfast based on fresh fruits and various combination (noodles, pancakes etc.) which you can order is just perfect as a start for a day of shopping on the market. As the hotel is just around the monkey forest and the city you can reach everything by foot.
So I would recommend this hotel for other travelers ...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StudentenkussHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

my boyfriend stumbled across this accommodation by accident after we'd been looking for a new place to stay all afternoon.
at very short notice, we were given a beautiful , spacious room overlooking rice paddies and neighboring beautiful gardens from 3 of the 4 walls of the bedroom.
the bed was large and comfortable- the aircon sufficient and able to be left on when you left your room. there was a day bed and a lovely balcony where breakfast was served at your requested time. rooms had flay screen tv's with a dvd player and dvds that all worked well. the bathroom in room 9 was amazing. terracotta tiling with a separate rain-water-style shower and spa bath, clean and spacious with towels changed daily, good toiletries that were of good quality and very good hot water and water pressure.

hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming, and we did not require an upfront payment on the room. the hotel grounds are well kept and clean, with flowers and grass kept well maintained. the pool is very clean and not overly chlorinated, and overlooks beautiful rice paddies creating a sense of space and isolation. we were able to get food delivered from another company to the pool area and our rooms without any hassle.

after two nights we were moved to the new hotel block as someone had booked the room we had been staying in. room 7 was still comfortable with all the amenities stated above but with a smaller bathroom and bedroom, and the lighting was much dimmer. standards were still comfortable and high however, and the view of the rice fields and ravine was beautiful.

i stayed at this hotel with my partner and then continued my stay for 5 nights alone and was treated very well. hotel staff ensured i was cared for and my transport needs were met, they even took me to pick up my tailored clothes for a small fee. getting to know the staff, such as July and Ketuk was a joy- such welcoming and caring people that never hassled me.

at 50 dollars a night for double and 40 dollars US for a single this place is on the pricer side, but if you are looking for somewhere with a good location (within walking distance to the yoga barn, restaurants, shopping etc), good amenities and friendly welcoming staff i would recommend Nyoman Karsa Bungalows. i will be back. i felt more comfortable here then my own home in Australia!

Room Tip: try and get a room in the older building-there is a twin share and a double on top (room 9) these r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My family and I have just spent 16 nights in this wonderful place. This is the second time we have stayed at Nyoman Karsa Bungalows and would go back again. It is located at the bottom of Monkey Forest Road however close to and within walking distanct of central Ubud. The staff, Komang. Jule, Kadek, Ecka, Dewa and many others whose names I unfortunately cannot remember are friendly, helpful and will go out of their way to provide a second to none service. They provide a great breakfast and Jule cooks fabulous pancakes with fresh coconut and palm sugar. The rooms are a good size and cleaned well daily. The pool is awesome and looks out over the rice fields. The bungalows offer a quiet and peaceful atmosphere with lovely views. Venezia day spa is next door and they offer an excellent pampering service.
My only suggestion to Nyoman Karsa would be to provide each room with a small fridge, extra toilet paper, more coathangers and renew the old towels for some new thicker towels.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzkatok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

If you plan to head to Yoga Barn, Monkey Forest or Dirty Duck - this is a perfect location! The rooms are clean and comfortable. Basic in design and decor, TV has no English channels -but wi fi connection is good. Great little breakfast and very helpful staff. Think 500,000 per night is a little expensive, but seems to be going price for most places in the area. If you want to head to KAFE or Clear Cafe on Hanuman St. its about 10-15min walk. If you want to shop at the market on opposite end of town, is about 20-25min walk either up Hanumon or Monkey Forest Road. Would definitely stay here again - just hope they lower the price a bit!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoga_Chica73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We urgently need accommodation as the property we had booked into was terrible. We just did a wander around Ubud making enquiries along the way. We wandered into Nyoman Karsa and were offered a room for 500,000 rupiah a night. The room was upstairs and was very clean and the bathroom was huge. It had a large corner bath which was just awesome plus a lovely balcony. The breakfast was very very ordinary so we chose to eat out for the last two mornings. The pool area was just okay with only 4 sunbeds so you have to be quick to get a bed. I found the staff to be helpful and it served itself well for what we needed. IN addition it offered free WIFI which worked fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud Inn
Ubud Inn
#166 of 196 in Ubud
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#102 of 196 in Ubud
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citrus Tree Villas - Shana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Indira Cottage
Indira Cottage
#61 of 575 in Ubud
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citrus Tree Villas - Arik
Citrus Tree Villas - Arik
#388 of 575 in Ubud
2 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uma Sari Cottage
Uma Sari Cottage
#198 of 557 in Ubud
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyoman Karsa Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyoman Karsa Bungalows

Property: Nyoman Karsa Bungalows
Address: Monkey Forest Road | Jalan Monkey Forest ubud, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nyoman Karsa Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Bali, you'll feel right at home at Nyoman Karsa Bungalow, which offers quality accommodation and great service. With its location just 0,5 km from the city center and 24.1 km from the airport, this 4-star hotel attracts numerous travelers each year. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nyoman Karsa Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nyoman Karsa Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Nyoman Karsa Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing