We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveler rating
322
26
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
26
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every hour morning walk driver gusti green smoothie rice fields indonesian options yoga lessons ubud centre complimentary massage hourly shuttle afternoon tea the free shuttle service like coming home morning yoga the hustle and bustle our honeymoon fantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The resort is extremely beautiful but tucked away from the rest of civilization. From the rooms to the pool and dining area were all spectacular. The breakfast menu is A La Carte but everything on there was delicious. The restaurant is open late which is convenient being that nothing else is around the resort. The staff do an amazing job with keeping everything clean. You will never find a single leaf in the pool. The door of the room was quite heavy and difficult to lock (key lock) but the resort is very safe with on-site security. The turn down service each night was a plus. They also have the infamous instagram Floating breakfast for only 150k IDR and tastes amazing.

They offer free shuttle drop-off and pickup to the center of Ubud (5 seater SUV) and you can call or text the hotel to arrange this. The hotel is super secluded and is located about 15min away from the center. Twice the hotel drivers were unable to take us at our convenience due to “lunch breaks” so we used Grab for about 30-40k IDR. They also provide what they call “Taxi service” in which they drive you to wherever for a cost. Some of the rates were quoted too high for us. For example, we were quoted 350k for an airport transfer (45min away) but I only paid 140k with Grab. When we asked for a drop off to a local gym, we paid him 100k (5min away) only to be dropped off at the wrong gym.

There is a free 7AM yoga class by the poolside each morning. It was no traditional yoga class you’d imagine to take in the states and will definitely test your limits. Afternoon tea from 3-5PM consists of tea/coffee option and traditional Balinese dessert.

Overall, the staff was superb. They were so nice and pleasant that it almost began to feel creepy. I would definitely return and recommend this place to anyone interested in Ubud.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank masterbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gusti p, Manager at The Alena Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear masterbella,

Om Swastiastu

Genuine in hospitality greetings from The Alena Resort, Luxury Genuine Experience by Pramana

On behalf of the entire team at The Alena Resort, I thank you very much for choosing our home as your accommodation in ubud, and thank you for the very details review shared to all the readers on this trusted platform.

Very delighted knowing that you had great experience stay with us and the entire staff managed to served you well and exceed your expectation.

Very much appreciated for the positive feedback in regard of the time break for the shuttle service and the prices that bit too high for you, but other than that i really glad knowing that you have been enjoyed almost all the activities provided in our resort.

Thank you very much again and i hope to have another chance to welcome you and serve you back in the near future.


My Best Regards

Gusti Putra
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was in Bali with my wife for honeymoon. We stayed in Alena resort for 3 days. Everything was perfect. The location the resort the room the staff the swimming pool the spa massage were really perfect..Our room was very spacious, and cosy..Highly recommended.. Thank you Alena for making our accomodation in Ubud special..

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank thanos3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gusti p, Manager at The Alena Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Θάνος Μ,

Om Swastiastu
Genuine in Hospitality greetings from The Alena Resort, Luxury Genuine Experience by Pramana.

It was honor for us having you as part of our family member at The Alena Resort recently. Thank you very much for choosing the alena for your accommodation in ubud, and thank you also for sharing your honeymoon experience with us in ubud.

Very much appreciated your comments and compliment toward our resort in general, as we all very happy knowing that you had great time stay with us especially on your honeymoon trip.
the resort would never be perfect as we are only two years old, but your feedback and comments is very important for us to always improve in the future.

Last but not least thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future

My Best Regards

Gusti Putra
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff truly did go above and beyond to help us out where several hotels might have only offered us above average service.

When we arrived they went through the amenities in our room including where the tv remotes, safes and mini fridges were. The shuttle service was excellent with them even helping us out even when we asked for a lift last minute. They have a whatsapp number which is great if you only have a data sim and are unable to make local calls. When asking for tips on where to go during the full moon, they researched and sent us a message letting us know where they'd recommend we go. They also transferred me to local numbers when I needed to make local calls, at no extra charge. They held our bags a few hours past our check out time so we could go to town and enjoy our last day.

On top of that, great morning yoga sessions and spa (Krishna is good at what she does and very funny!)

I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone! By the end of it my friend and I felt like family and thoroughly looked after! Shout out to Made at the front desk for being a really nice guy!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gusti p, Manager at The Alena Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Natasha A,

Om Swastiastu
Genuine in hospitality greetings from The Alena Resort, Luxury Genuine Experience by Pramana.

First of all thank you so very much for taking your valuable time to write a very detail review and share your experience stay at our home recently.
Very much appreciated that you recommended the alena resort to your lovely friends and family also to anyone all over the world, that the alena resort is the very best get away for relaxing stay.

on behalf of the entire staff, i thank you very much for your compliments to them especially made at the front desk. this is great news for them as you get the feeling of being part of our family member and able to enjoy the services and facilities at the same time.

Last but not least, it was pleasure having you and delighted knowing that you had great time with us, and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

My Best Regards

Gusti Putra
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I hate to be boring but I have to award this resort another 5 stars. The acid test for me with any hotel is would I return and the answer is an emphatic yes. All the staff go that extra mile to ensure your stay is enjoyable. We stayed in the standard deluxe room which in itself was very impressive. The bathroom is outstanding with a beautifully designed shower area and separate bathtub. Excellent wifi if you need it. Can't remember the last time I had a non buffet breakfast. Sit back and enjoy the view of the rice fields while the charming waitress brings you very tasty and exotic fare: probably the best I have ever had in any hotel anywhere in the world. The hotel for me is just the right size; not too big and impersonal with a really nice pool for relaxing by after a days sightseeing. Only 15 minutes to Ubud town centre by the gratis hourly shuttle van provided. Go for it!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingreporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gusti p, Manager at The Alena Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear roamingreporter,

Thank you very much for choosing the alena resort and taking your valuable time to write the review and share your experience stayed at our home recently.

Our main goal is making sure all of our customers enjoy our services and have a different experience living in the serenity of ubud. Delighted knowing that you had delightful stay with us and the entire staff managed to exceed your expectation. Very much appreciated your compliments to our service, facilities, and staff especially the food during your breakfast.

On behalf of the entire team, i thank you very much again, and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

My Best Regards

Gusti Putra
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic place to stay! Very romantic and beautiful. The staffs are all extremely friendly, welcoming and accomodating. A special thank you to Wayan for going above and beyond for us. Always greeting us with such warmth and kindness

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank FarAway26115016099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gusti p, Manager at The Alena Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear FarAway26115016099

Om Swastiastu

Genuine in Hospitality greetings from The Alena Resort, Luxury Genuine Experience by Pramana

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write this review and share your awesome experience stayed at our home The Alena Resort recently.

It was honor having you and very much appreciated your great comments toward our resort and the entire staff especially wayan. Very happy knowing that you enjoyed the place with its romantic and beautiful ambiance.

last but not least, thank you again for being part of our family member at our home and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

My Best Regards

Gusti Putra
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews