We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Coming Back!”
Review of Kakiang Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kakiang Bungalows
Ranked #151 of 553 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa,On
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely Coming Back!”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at the Kakiang Bungalows. It was our honeymoon and much to our surprise they set up our bed and bathtub with rose petals. Nice touch.The host explained to us in details about the room and amenities. We had a choice of breakfast (Indonesian, American,Continental)on a list that we hung on our door and it was served to us on our own terrace by the cement pond every morning (2nd floor has balcony, we were on the ground floor which we loved). They have a bakery so fresh baked goods were served if you chose a Continental breakfast. They offered free afternoon tea which was a choice of tea and coffee and fresh scones that they bring to your terrace. Room was clean. Bathroom was clean. They had a nice pool at the back. The spa was peaceful and serene. And the spa ladies were very good. We had a fridge which came in handy. Wifi was free and had good connection. Free transportation within Ubud was available as you like. Staff was top notch and knowledgeable! They also sell their own brand of natural insect repellent and lip balms. Location is on Jalan Hanoman which is parallel to Monkey Forest Rd. We normally stay on Monkey Forest Rd. but we found it has gotten really busy since our last stay 2 years ago. (I think it has to do with Eat, Pray, Love). We will definitey stay there again next time we are in Ubud. Many thanks to the staff at Kakiang for making our honeymoon something special.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 102. It was the ground floor with the cement pond that ran the length of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    70
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
32
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Totally recommendable place in Ubud. It's a good option to spend some days in Ubud in a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tizibcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I booked Kakiang Bungalow online and got it for approximately $80 to $90 (SGD)..which included breakfast. The staffs were very friendly, helpful and most of them spoke english. The room I had was on the ground floor and had a patio leading from the back door, it was beautiful to just sit out at the tea table on the patio, just either lounging or even having your breakfast served at the given time. Kakiang has its own coffee shop which serves main meals and lovely pastries (opens till late 11pm). It's at the center of Ubud and walking distance to all the shops and Monkey Forest. I was there for 2 weeks and found the stay wonderful. Yoga Barn is just right down the road and takes only a minute to walk there. Kakiang has its bonuses, it drives you anywhere in Ubud, unlike some hotels and bungalows that don't. So, yes, I would definitely go to Kakiang Bungalow again if I should return to Bali..........p.s you have to try their Fish Spa too!!! A brilliant experience!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germainefpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2008

After searching for many hours for a place to stay in Ubud, we found the kakiang. We couldn't find any reviews so we took our chance. We stayed here for 8 days and loved every minute. It is outstanding for the price. The room are beautifully designed and the balcony lovely. Every morning breakfast was brought to us to enjoy on our balcony and we could order food from the cafe that they own for dinner, again brought to our room for no extra cost. Included in the tariff was water each day and afternoon tea and cake. All delicious. The staff were fantastic. During our stay, the final Manchester United and Chelsea was on and although the rooms don't have TVs, the owner got one for us so we could watch it the mtach!! The Kakiang also has a gorgeous little spa where I had a massage and body scrub and flower bath for 2.5 hours for £10. The photos of the property that ae on their website www.kakiang.com are absolutely accurate - it is exactly like that! Can't recommend it highly enough. It is on the south side of Ubud near the entrance to the Monkey Forest Sanctuary. They also have bicycles for hire and free transport to Ubud central whenever you want though its only a 15 min walk.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TracywEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.0 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Terang Bulan Cottages
Terang Bulan Cottages
#3 of 5 in Peliatan
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tunjung Mas Bungalows and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Field Hotel and Bungalows
0.1 mi away
Nugraha Guest House 2
Nugraha Guest House 2
#83 of 553 in Ubud
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rama Phala Resort & Spa
Rama Phala Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Gianyar
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakiang Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakiang Bungalows

Property: Kakiang Bungalows
Address: Jl. Pengosekan, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 553 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kakiang Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kakiang Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakiang Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Kakiang Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing