We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #166 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We knew it would not be the Ritz for the money, but bless them, they were in the middle of a refurb and did not warn us!

The location was excellent, withing walking distance of the famous duck restaurt (must do) and the Pond Restaurant (must do).

The staff were lovelly and so helpful, but the management and training was non existant. The pool was not useable due to the re-furb and the tap water was yellow.

Due to the proximaty to the rice filed, Mosqitos were an issue and I had to ask for Mosi spray for the room as they did not think to do it themselves. I had to ask for towels every day as they took the used ones but did not replace them. They were deliver straight away with a smile. On the last day, we had an ealry start and they kindly servred us al a carte breakfast at 06.00. Kind people.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back as they have showers not a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiallTNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    105
    55
    22
    18
See reviews for
43
103
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kloten, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Due my job I have to travel a lot and I have seen many hotels but never one with so much charme and the best staff I've ever meet. The whole team is very warm hearted, unbelievable friendly and our stay was just a dream. You feel from the first second of your arrival that you are in a paradise and in a familiarly invoirement - special thanks to the team, especially to Budda, Eco, Daisy and all others in the purisunia team. The cuisine is gault mileau neveau, the quality of the spa and the treatments are better than in a 4 seasons. The puri sunia is the best place I've visited in 15 years Asia experience and over 18 trips to this magic continent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mschrofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This was my first visit to Bali and I couldn't have chosen a better place than Ubud or a better hotel than the Puri Garden for my introduction to Balinese culture. The location as well as the wonderful atmosphere created by the garden setting made it ideal for me. The staff, especially the young man in reception, were very friendly helpful and informative adding vry much to the enjoyment of my holiday. I hope I get a chance to return to Ubud and if I do the Puri Garden will be my first choice for my accommodation

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purigarden, General Manager at Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Peter,

First of all, I would like to grateful your kind consideration to stay at Puri Garden Hotel - Ubud. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have a pleasant holiday in Ubud. Thank you very much for giving us an excellent review on tripadvisor. Your positive review would directly bring positive impact to the successful of our business. Once again, thank you and much appreciated for your kind attention and good review. I hope you will come back again next time and stay at Puri Garden Hotel - Ubud. Have a wonderful day..

Best regards,


Cokorda Raka Trisnu Yudhana
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

After stayed in kuta for 3 nights I spent another nights in Ubud before Sanur. I stayed at puri garden hotel ubud for 4 nights. The taxi driver told me about this hotel and he drove me directly to have a look the hotel room. The front desk staff was amazingly friendly showed me the room at the 1st floor with nice green garden and relaxing pool views. Even though the hotel is doing renovation at the swimming pool but I still can use the pool. The room was fine using Balinese decoration and wooden furniture, the bed was comfortable and the toilet was clean and tidy. The room boys have done their job well and they are extremely friendly. Breakfast was ok by choosing from the breakfast menu. Ubud climate was cooler than in kuta and sanur, sometime rain but not pouring. Monkey forest only 10 minutes walk from the hotel and Ubud market is only 30 minutes walk. Many shops, restaurants and a famous museum near the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cooper j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purigarden, General Manager at Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Valued customer,

Glad to read your positive review and to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Puri Garden Hotel - Ubud. We believe that the review you have posted at tripadvisor will be vry useful for us to evaluate our work performances and of course to measure of our service is reaching the guest satisfaction or not. On behalf of management, I would like to once again express our highest gratitude for your kind consideration to stay with us and for your positive comment regarding our hotel. We fervently hope that you will come back again next time to Ubud and stay again at Puri Garden Hotel - Ubud.

Best regards,


Cokorda Raka Trisnu Yudhana
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I and my wife stayed at puri garden hotel for one week and we enjoyed it very much. The location is not right in the center of Ubud but easy to go anywhere, many shops and restaurants near the hotel. This is a small but beautiful boutique hotel with nice and green garden view. Our room was near the pool and have green garden view. It has comfortable bed room and the toilet is clean though a little bit small but the housekeeping did very good job. We got new towels everyday and they refresh our room in the evening. We impressed with lovely staff who have been very helpful and friendly to us. Breakfast was good, we can choose any kind of food we want from the a la carte menu, the fresh juice was tasty too. We certainly will come back again next time and stay longer..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank langston j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Water is very slow-hard to use it for bath, room is on high moist and smell, no view, bed cover is not dry so it comes with 'specific smell', price vs other hotel is less competitive. I have to move to another room for water-moist-smell issue

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azimuth19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candidasa, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Puri Garden Hotel. The location is great, right near Monkey Forest and within walking distance of some really nice restaurants. Unfortunately during our stay they were doing some improvements by the pool area but the staff handled it really well and appologised for the noise, of which there was little. The staff were a highlight of our stay and from the welcome drink until we left they made every effort to make you feel at home at this hotel. They were really efficient and whilst down at breakfast they would clean the room so as not to disturb our stay which we thought was a nice touch. The room was lovely and we appreciated the Balinese decor although, the bathroom is a little tired but did the job! Most mornings you would be given a menu with 3 sufficient choices which was ok, however for 2 mornings of our stay they provided a buffet breakfast which was not really up to standard. We enjoyed the service at this hotel so much that we extended our stay an extra two nights and would definately stay again!

Restaurant Tip : The mexican restaurant just round the corner was nice and reasonably priced and there is an Indian restaurant just down the road which does an all you can eat buffet every Wednesday

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs which allowed a little more privacy than downstairs although if I was travell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#100 of 198 in Ubud
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalows
Merthayasa Bungalows
#161 of 198 in Ubud
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#135 of 198 in Ubud
238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Budhi Ayu Villa
Budhi Ayu Villa
#146 of 198 in Ubud
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden View Cottage
Garden View Cottage
#148 of 198 in Ubud
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant is ideally located in the heart of Ubud village and only 75 minutes from the airport. 27 rooms provided with typically of Balinese architecture and complete modern facilities and room amenities. all rooms overlook to the swimming pool and lush tropical garden view. Scenic rice field scenery and contiguous temple are closed at the back of the hotel. Each rooms facilitated with air condition, TV, Fridge - mini bar, complete room amenities, tea and coffee,free 2 bottles of mineral water,free wi-fi, free parking, etc. Puri Garden Restaurant attached to the hotel that served for breakfast, lunch and dinner with variety of local cuisines, western, vegetarian, light and pasta. Other hotel facilities are Wine and Liquor shop, tour service, doctor/ clinic on call, massage (on request), Safety deposit box, Laundry, Room Service, hot and cold running water, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Garden Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Puri Garden
Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing