We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Restaurant, good food, great ambience, though Overpriced”

Mozaic Restaurant Gastronomique
Ranked #50 of 751 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $150
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Mozaic Restaurant is a fresh oasis of ingenuity in the world of gastronomy. It is the uniqueness of the experience that has become the hallmark of its reputation, encompassing the quality of the ingredients, the perfect execution, the sheer multitude of flavours and the quality of the service, all to be enjoyed in a lush tropical setting. Mozaic's ever-changing menu consists of a la minute creations which evolve, disappear and return in accordance with market availability. Chef Salans and his chef de cuisine prepare what inspires them in the moment, orchestrating their tasting menus like a symphony, a sequence of marvelous colours and flavours served by knowledgeable waiting staff before the sommelier indulges guests with his expertly paired wines. Mozaic is a true gustatory adventure, a dining experience as yet unrivaled in Bali. Awards: 1. Les Grandes Tables Du Monde Mozaic Restaurant Gastronomique, is the first restaurant in Southeast Asia to be recognized by the prestigious Traditions et Qualite association as a member of ‘Les Grandes Tables Du Monde’ (The Grand Tables of the World), joining an exclusive membership including world most famous restaurants such as Lucas Carton (Alain Senderens), Le Louis XV and Plaza Athenee (Alain Ducasse), Guy Savoy (Guy Savoy) and The French Laundry (Thomas A Keller). 2. Wine Spectator - Award of Excellence 2016 Wine Spectator’s Restaurant Awards recognize restaurants whose wine lists offer interesting selections, are appropriate to their cuisine and appeal to a wide range of wine lovers. To qualify for an award, the list must present complete, accurate wine information. It must include vintages and appellations for all selections, including wines available by the glass. Complete producer names and correct spellings are crucial, and the overall presentation and appearance of the list is also taken into consideration. After meeting these basic requirements, lists are judged for one of the awards. 3. World Gourmet Summit 2015 MARTELL Asian Restaurant of the Year (Regional) This award seeks to recognize a restaurant / restaurant chain which serves Asian cuisine and promotes culinary and service excellence in the region. Eligible restaurants must have been in operation for two or more years (at the point of nomination). The nominated restaurant must have consistently exceeded the standards of excellence and provided extraordinary dining experiences for guests.
Gibraltar
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Classy Restaurant, good food, great ambience, though Overpriced”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Found this restaurant classy and the food was good. Selected a menu that allowed me to taste samples of different kinds of food. The restaurant is pricey though for what you get. However, if exclusively, ambience, and good service is what you are after, you cannot really criticize this restaurant. As you can expect from these kind of restaurants, you don't get foods in large amount, so if you are looking to fill your stomach, this is not the place for you. Overall the Mozaic was as much about the experience as the quality of its food. Though, be warned, not the place to visit if on a budget!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,002
    254
    156
    62
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing food, average service”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Having dinner at Mozaic was a good culinary experience. The restaurant is beautiful, from the lounge area you're seated in while the menu is presented to you to the dining tables outside on the patio. The decor is superb. The food has been reviewed several times so I feel that I don't have much to add. It was exquisite, very creative and what you would expect of a highly rated fine dining restaurant.

What I was disappointed with was the service. We ordered a bottle of wine and it took over 15 minutes to be delivered to us. We received our first course (and not just the amuse-bouche) before our wine had arrived. Perhaps they were looking for the bottle or finding out if it was in stock, but nothing was ever mentioned to us. Plates took long to be cleared off the table once we were finished eating and we generally felt like we were not being looked after. I ordered the Chef's Surprise menu and had little idea of what it was that I was eating as the servers sort of muttered what I was being served and walked away.

When you are spending so much money on an experience, it shouldn't just be left up to the food to make an impression. The level of service should at least match the quality of the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soulfultravelandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Ubud”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

About 50 metres away from Uma by COMO, Mozaic is the fine-dining option in Bali, and has been included in the San Pelligrino Top 100 Restaurants of the World list. The restaurant is owned by Le Cordon Bleu graduate-chef, American Chris Salans who worked in Michelin-starred restaurants in Paris and the US, head-cheffing at some prestigious restaurants including Thomas Keller's.

The restaurant's current head chef is a Frenchman, Xavier Mauerhofer whom I was lucky enough to meet. Xavier has had an impressive career too, having worked at some of London's best restaurants for a good ten years including The Square (one of my favourite London restaurants), No. 1 Lombard Street and Sketch, as well as restaurants in Shanghai, Singapore and Beijing.

Mozaic offers 4 different tasting menus at various prices, all with an option of wine pairing at £37 or £57 per person for premium wines. We went for the Discovery Menu which uses primarily Balinese ingredients and is priced at £47 per person.

Commendably, Mozaic offers an entirely vegetarian tasting menu at £40 per person for 6 courses, as well as the Chef's Tasting Menu at £60 that uses some top ingredients like foie gras, pata negra ham and truffles. There is also a Chef's Surprise Menu priced at £83, which tempted me, but I preferred to stay local and sample the Balinese menu. The wine list is very impressive too with a comprehensive range of new and old world options. Like anywhere else in Bali, the wines were highly priced with the list's entry level wines starting at £35. However, to be fair, these were expensive and good, unlike many other places which offer expensive poor wine. We ordered a Portuguese Tinta Roriz 2006 from the Douro Valley priced at £37 which was well balanced, with some long, soft tannins and good red berry fruit characteristics.

The Discovery Menu is pictured below - the flavour combinations were sophisticated and exotic, I would struggle to describe them here, so I will leave you to savour the images that follow.

We kicked off with a fine amuse bouche of Balinese king crab with dabu dabu spices, served with cucumber emulsion and parma ham powder that set off the evening to a good start.

Kecicang - seared fresh water Sulawesi yabbies (a type of Australian crayfish), cauliflower, sesame, ginger flower gel and emulsion.

Kluwek - coral trout confied in coconut oil, Balinese "Kluwek" (a nut from the Indonesian Kepayang tree, also widely used in Nyonya cooking in Malaysia) infused black olive sauce and olive oil braised vegetables. The flavour imparted by the coconut oil confit was delicate but surprisingly distinct, it was a delightful and interesting way to confit fish.

Bumbu Rendang - rendang spiced oxtail tortellini with curry sweet potato, cep mushroom and parmesan emulsion. This was my favourite dish of the menu, the rendang of oxtail tortellini was rich and delicious.

Nangka - Kintamani suckling pig, young jackfruit emulsion, bok choy, ginger and curry leaf infused demi glace.

Sirsak - fresh soursop sorbet (Brazilian graviola fruit), grapefruit gelée, campari emulsion and pomelo tuile.

Kunir and Kemangi - lemon basil mousse with turmeric root sorbet and fresh pomegranate.

The food at Mozaic was highly sophisticated and beautifully flavoured. The Discovery Menu was indeed a journey of discovery into Balinese ingredients and flavours employed meticulously well by some classic French techniques. We were also offered a tray showing the primary Balinese ingredient of each of the courses were about to eat, which was a nice touch and informative. I highly recommend a visit to Mozaic when visiting Ubud - at £47 for a six-course tasting menu, this is excellent value for food of this calibre.

For the full review and images, please visit - www.thelondonfoodie.co.uk

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thelondonfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truly extraordinary”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

In researching Ubud restaurants for a special meal, we found a website that said Mozaic consistently makes the top 100 list of restaurants in the world. Now we know why. This was truly a unique dining experience. The atmosphere is elegant and chic, in a lush tropical garden setting. The service is exemplary; in fact, it was a thing of beauty to watch the well-orchestrated team approach. We have rarely seen such seamless, professional and unobtrusive service. (The only other place we can compare it to is our favourite restaurant in Montreal, Canada, L'Express - where the service is beyond compare!) Most of all, the dining experience itself is outstanding. With a set menu approach, we weren't sure what to expect. Two of the menus are outlined very clearly and offer six courses. The others are 'surprise menus' to be guided by your individual preferences and dietary restrictions. I chose the vegetarian 'surprise' menu qualified with this simple statement: "I hate cilantro and I love cheese." With those few words, I was served 6 or 7 extraordinary dishes - all exquisitely prepared and presented, and appealing to my personal tastes. My husband chose one of the set menus, offering a mix of beef, poultry, seafood and vegetables, and was equally delighted. His only negative observation was that the wine pairings seemed to be too sweet and overpowering for the nuanced, subtle flavours of the dishes themselves. We shared this observation with the staff and they made an effort to change the pairing on the last course. As travellers and when at home, we don't dine out very often. When we do, we try to make it count - choosing the best restaurants that we possibly can. From that point of comparison, we can truly say that Mozaic earns its reputation as one of the best in the world.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“The best in Bali”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Have eaten there twice this year and had different dinner menus, both times where excellent , food is creative and very nicely preesented and, rare in Bali, tasted fantastic. Weak point is the bad english of some waiters, if we would not have had the written menu, we would still nt know what we had eaten.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank IbnBatutta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mozaic Restaurant Gastronomique also viewed

 

Been to Mozaic Restaurant Gastronomique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing