We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot for lunch”
Review of Cafe des Artistes

Cafe des Artistes
Ranked #84 of 751 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice spot for lunch”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stopped off here for a late lunch and the food and service were both very good. It wasn't really anything special but we certainly had no complaints. The table in the garden was very nice and was just about enough to warrant a four out of five score for the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    285
    116
    48
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What happened”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have been going to this restaurant yearly, but oh boy, what has happened to the Balinese wait staff were not friendly and the service was less than basic. The standard of food and service has detracted from its former glory, my son sent back his stone cold crepe ,all foods where basic in quality and didn't warrant what they where charging, sorry but we shall not return

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank caycad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad food and bad service!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Was a bit concerned from the start but tried to make the most of it however the service was terrible! 20 mins before any drink orders taken and they weren't even busy. Staff seemed rude and uninterested in creating a nice atmosphere. The food was average to low average and not really worth it...much nicer places to eat around ubud. We ordered a Thai seafood curry that was watery and the seafood was overcooked and scarce! The side dishes offered with mains are pathetic...look old and dried out. The crepe suzette was disgusting...old cold crepes with a medicine tasting yellow sauce...we sent it back...Go elsewhere!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Read TA's latest reviews before going here”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Such a shame to see this restaurant become so poor. Despite having made a reservation we received rather indolent attitude by the staff on arrival. We ordered a carafe of wine and a starter each. The butter on my husband's escargot was hardly melted and my dish was supposedly gratinated goat cheese on toast with capsicums honey & sesame seeds. It was awful, no toast, no honey nor sesame seeds, 2 half melted pieces of rubbery cheddar a blob of cold goats(?) cheese and a strange orange and olive salad. I left most of it and to the restaurant's credit they removed this from our bill. We decided to leave and went elsewhere for the rest of our meal. The only thing positive about the restaurant is its' ambience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spark41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Tried Cafe des Artistes because it was close to our guesthouse, and it looked pleasant from the road. My rib-eye steak was well cooked as ordered but the side dishes were terrible. Peas so dry that they were hard the chew. My wife had the mie goreng and hardly touched her food due the taste.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing