We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Bambu Indah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bambu Indah
Ranked #68 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Bambu Indah was amazing. The setting a beautiful village with wonderful views of the rice paddies is welcoming and warm. The staff are so kind and helpful. The houses are beautiful restored homes that are very peaceful and comfortable. The outdoor showers are fantastic, the views breathtaking. It is truly a place where you can rest and relax. For anyone from India, I like to call it a Five a star Village. It is charming and quaint like a village but with all the modern day amenities (amazing showers and bathrooms, internet etc). The food is delicious. HOnestly this is one of the most unique and wonderful places I have ever been. It is a place I would travel 40 hours around the world to come too again!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaethana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 563 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2010

Simply the best place to stay. Gorgeous view on the rice paddies, great service, wonderful dining experience on your private terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koshka1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I am writing from my room in Bambu Indah.

Coming from NYC I was looking to connect deeply with the magic and sensuality of the Balinese people and nature. The sustainability: from the wood and bamboo used for the Villa houses, the villa interiors, the bathrooms and outdoor showers, the natural non-chlorinated swimming pool to the organic meals that are freshly prepared using the properties rich soil to grow the produce, the breathtaking views of the terrace rice paddies, present a truly magical moment.

The staff is always available to answer your needs and greet you with a genuine Balinese smile that only indicates a true "welcome". The views, the rhythm, the people I've met here, the sounds and the fragrance of Bambu Indah now live in my soul.

Being a single traveler, I feel treated like a princess with loving care to each detail as my needs were meet. Bambu Indah is a short drive to the center of Ubud and taxi service is provided by the staff for a very small fee. Deep healing massages with Mandra will make this moment even richer.

It's not about the price - which is extraordinarily reasonable - it is about the experience of a lifetime.

Truly Bambu Indah is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irmaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at Bambu Indah for the first five nights of our honeymoon in Indonesia. It was a great place for getting over jet lag and seeing the Ubud area. The view over the rice fields is fantastic, and the Indonesian breakfast is superb. The local coffee and fruit are awesome. We liked everything about our hut, Kuno House. It might have the best outdoor shower on the planet! And it has an unobstructed view and feels quite private. The staff was very nice and helpful in every respect (arranging taxis, setting up a cell phone, cutting down coconuts for an afternoon drink, etc.). Bambu Indah is rustic eco-friendly tropical luxury. It is a ten minute ride from town, but the rural calm and view of the countryside make this place a real gem. When you want to go to Ubud, the staff will call a taxi. They can also prepare great meals if you want to stay at the site for dinner. We can't say enough good things about this place. The staff go out of their way to make your stay special and memorable. We'd definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drjkBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Beautiful place to stay. Really unique and very relaxed! Surrounded by nature yet you have very comfortable bedroom & bathroom. EVERYTHING is organic, all the food served grown there and prepared freshly. You can even drink the water from the swimming pool, no chemical at all in the water, fresh like swimming in the river. The view is magnificent, the staff are great and VERY VERY friendly. The owners (Canadian couple) are very welcoming too, they owned a Green International School which I recommend everyone to visit! Some donators including Donna Karan, Sir Richard Branson & David Copperfield. The only regret is we only stayed there for 3 nights, next time we'll stay at least a week. Have a look their website if you're unsure but I guarantee you'll love it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2ravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights, I wish it had been 40. This place is spectacular, the location and accommodation very special but, added to that, the people and the entire venue made staying here an absolute privilege.
We stayed in the Kuning House, a Javanese house built in 1829 which was ideal for two people. The only negative was the sitting area was outside.
The whole place is very rustic which was a secret worry before we got there, but it is rustic chic including the natural pool, the vegetables growing around the accommodation and the views across a verdant valley.
If you're looking to reconnect with the planet, get off the grid for a bit and need some greenery to be surrounded with AND don't want another dull and dreary cookie cutter hotel, this is the place for you. Its going to be our secret hideaway for a while.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingKiwi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Bambu Indah was one of the true highlights of our entire trip to Bali. We ended up staying there for six nights and were sad to leave. It is elegant in a country, rustic kind of way. One of the highlights of our stay was waking up on the first morning after our evening arrival, opening the doors onto the porch of our house/room, and being awed by the magnificent view of the terraced rice fields, jungle, and mountains in the distance.

If you are looking for a "big hotel" type of experience, this is not the place for you. Rather, this hotel is small, charming, personable, and unique. It’s out of the way, ten minutes from Ubud, in a quiet neighborhood. Each guest stays in their own small house with it's own personality. These one bedroom houses are "rustic" -- the floors creak, the wood is old -- but don't let that give you the wrong impression. They are lovely and finely appointed with all the nice touches, including wonderful bathrooms. Some of these houses, taken from the Sumatran countryside, are over 100 years old and all have spacious front porches for you to lounge on, enjoy a meal, beer, read a book and/or soak in the incredible view.

The service is outstanding. Eva, Alisa, Sri, and the entire staff provide a level of service and attention that you could never get in a large hotel. The food is wonderful with a pre-fixed menu that is different but delicious every night. We ended up eating in for five of the six nights. Part of this is because of the scrumptious food and the other part of it is because we were so relaxed, comfortable and "at home", that we didn't want to leave.

We used the hotel as our hub for the inland area of Bali and would venture far and near during the day to see different sights, shop, etc. and then look forward to coming back to the hotel to "chill".

The hotel and grounds are on the quiet side so this works well for couples and adults. However, we showed up with our three boys (9, 13, and 15) and they felt right at home, particularly with the freshwater pond/pool complete with rope swing and palm tree with footholds to jump off from.

We’ve stayed in lots of nice hotels around the world but Bambu Indah will always stand out as being special.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBJ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#73 of 199 in Ubud
723 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#30 of 199 in Ubud
643 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 199 in Ubud
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,026 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.5 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Indah

Address: Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ubud
#7 Business Hotel in Ubud
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#57 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $120 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Indah 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic luxury in the gardens of a tropical highland farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bambu Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Indah Hotel Ubud
Bambu Indah Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing