We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bambu Indah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bambu Indah
Ranked #24 of 171 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We loved a lot about Bambu Indah. We had a very nice and relaxing stay. We were well taken care of, the food was amazing, and we appreciated the attention to detail throughout the resort. This was the most expensive and last place we chose for our honeymoon. We stayed in the Pali House. Upon arrival, we were told our room was not yet ready, even though we arrived an hour after check in. They gave us a coconut and we hung out in the lobby waiting for about an hour. Once they took us the the room we liked the look. Great views from the front porch, and we settled right in. Since we were without a car and not near the center of town, it would have been nicer to be able to choose from a menu of food, instead of picking from the selection of the 2-3 specials of the day. My favorite part of the stay was my massage by the healer. Spa treatments were reasonably priced. Though this place was unique and Im glad we got to stay there, it is not the best place for a honeymoon. We stayed in 6 hotels over our 12 night stay in Bali, and this was the most expensive and the least favorite of them all. There is definitely an appeal to staying in ancient javanese bridal huts, the the creakiness of the floors and the lack of privacy in the bathroom/shower led to a lack of romance. The ac unit above the bed was weak, so we slept cocooned under our mosquito net sweating and uncomfortable. The pool was great and we had a nice time on the rope swing. This was our last stop on our trip, and they helped arrange transport to DPS for us which was nice. Again, was a nice experience but would probably choose another place to stay before going back to Bambu Indah. Before we even landed in CA, they had emailed to see if we would review on trip advisor and ask how our stay was. Here you go!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessaL0VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    65
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
88
215
58
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed five nights at Bambu Indah in the Pagota House. We loved everything about the resort - except our room. We paid the same amount of money as if we would have stayed in one of the other bungalows, but the Pagota House is one of the owner's daughter's homes. While everyone else enjoyed beautiful views of the rice patties, the river, or the resort, our view was the owner's house (we were right next door) and a trampoline in his yard. I've included pictures. The room was completely glass, with sheer curtains - a little awkward because it felt like we had no privacy. There is a gap between the windows and the roof of the house. So lots of mosquitos, bugs, and geckos joined us in our room. If you have a fear of creepy crawlers at night, staying in the Pagota house is not for you. My husband loved listening to the sounds of the jungle - he slept like a baby. I, however, was terrified every night that something would crawl into our hut! If we had to stay in the Pagota house again, I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Pagoda house. No privacy and no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonandRayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm - Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is probably the future of hotels as well as of business.
Eco-friendly hotel-living meets the business concept of story-telling.

What you get is an ancient basic hut with creaking floorboards. Every hut is unique and has its own story. On top of that is the story of how and why the owners ended up on Bali and why they started a hotel.

All in all it was a very special experience that I can understand has tremendous appeal for some guest - make sure you are one of them.

I do – however – have three objections that will refrain me from recommending it to my friends;

• The price is the price of a real luxury hotel – and this place does not have the trimmings to justify that.
• It is pretty far away from Ubud and the hotel does not operate a complimentary shuttle service (which is fairly common). This means that you will spend lots of time in and money on taxis.
• The mosquitos were all over the place. We have stayed at several hotels close to the rivers in the Ubud area but nowhere have we been so badly bitten. I wondered why there were only two lounge beds by the pool – now I know why…

Room Tip: All the huts are different so make sure you check out their website before you decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredrikWBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Bambu Indah offers something different from other resorts in Bali. First off, it is a small property with only 11 homes, and therefore it offers an intimate setting. The homes are also more than 100 years old with lots of culture and heritage (they each have a story to tell!) Not to forget the bamboo structures (beautiful!!) as well as the natural swimming pool (where you can swim with fishes!) The staff were friendly, and do make an effort to remember your name. Requests are often met with a smile :)

On the whole, if you are looking for peace and serenity in a beautiful setting, Bambu Indah is a must!

P.S. The house with the outdoor shower was just heaven. I have never taken so many baths in my life before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymondraphael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBambuIndah, Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear raymondraphael,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write us a positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed a peaceful vacation with us.

Come back soon for more outdoor showers and swims with fishes!

Warm wishes,

The Bambu Indah Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

First off, Bambu Indah is not for everyone. My first night, it was foreign to be in a more "rustic" environment and it took some getting used to but the beauty of Bambu Indah is that your experience gets better and better every minute and hour you are there. For me personally, it reminded me of things that must have first drawn travelers to Ubud. The beautiful view of Bandung's rice paddies, the original Balinese homes, the earthy and natural foods and ingredients, the sounds of frogs and birds... I slept as well as I do when I am out in the mountains away from everything modern. Some have complained about the distance to center of town but once you are in the center of town, I guarantee you that the noise and pollution will have you running back to Bambu Indah.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBambuIndah, Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear solotravels,

Thank you for your honest review and for giving us a chance to host you.

Bambu Indah is a nature lover's haven and we are glad that you found solace in our organic, natural environment.

We are located just outside of Ubud, a short 15-minute drive away. Some of our guests love the fact that they can escape from the hustle and bustle of Ubud and return to the tranquility of our home at the end of the day.

We have, however, taken our guests' feedback into consideration and recently introduced a daily shuttle service for our guests.

We look forward to having you back here with us in the near future.

Thanks again for your review.

Warm wishes,

The Bambu Indah Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived at midnight and awoke to the most beautiful scenery and 100 year old cottages. I cannot articulate how serene and gorgeous this property is. We never wanted to leave and were happy when it rained because we lounged on our patio or the common hut area. The pool is amazing with little fish and a rope swing. Great friendships were made there. The hike was breathe taking: We crossed a rope bridge, saw rice paddies, climbed rocks, saw how people live, and more. The spa was adorable and I suggest the two person massage. It's the best I have ever had. The food was incredible and if they have the pumpkin salad get it. I ate it for lunch and dinner. We also took the first cooking class where we learned about the garden, greenhouse (made of bamboo and car windshields) and how Eco friendly everything is. I will be back!! Also thank you to Yvette for all of your recommendations and explanation of the property and owner. Xo

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Bambu Indah is a stunning boutique hotel with a thriving sustainable organic vegetable garden, peaceful views and setting, a natural pool with a gnarly rope swing... The hotel features lovely rustic huts relocated from Java, with a homely feel and incredibly comfortable bed.

I am interested in vernacular and bamboo architecture and Bambu Indah is a showcase of exactly this. the gardens were abundant with vegetables and flowers, we even got to see the nursery made with car windshields and an incredible tall hut built in the Sumba style.

The restaurant was excellent, very healthy cuisine which featured local dishes as well as more western style food and asian fusion, and all supplied from the garden that you overlook while you eat.

I was sick on the second day of my stay and the staff did everything they could to help me feel better, sourcing medicines and making special effort to look after me, I was lucky to be surrounded by such a beautiful hut and grounds so that even that day was enjoyable.

It is definitely an unforgettable experience, especially if you have an appreciation for a more fine grain hotel, with character, charm and an authentic traditional feel. This experience will give you an insight into traditional Indonesian architecture that is not really accessible in other ways, and will give you a memorable and unique experience of something that is not easy to find these days - a hotel that has soul.

Room Tip: we stayed in kunning house it was lovely, but they all looked lovely! apparently padi house has a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.3 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#18 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#20 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#23 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#7 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,574 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
The Purist Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Indah

Property: Bambu Indah
Address: Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ubud
#7 Business Hotel in Ubud
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#22 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Indah 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic luxury in the gardens of a tropical highland farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bambu Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Indah Hotel Ubud
Bambu Indah Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing