We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of quiet in overrun island”
Review of Bambu Indah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bambu Indah
Ranked #61 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Piece of quiet in overrun island”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was a highlight of my Bali visit. I was overall very disappointed in Bali and should have heeded warnings of friends that it has become too touristy. I loved my two nights here at Bambu Indah and wished I had stayed more days. It is so peaceful! It feels like the Bali I was seeking .... in the middle of the tropical forest, falling asleep to chirping insects, lolling about on my deck with views of trees and feeling far away from home. Had the best fish sate and rice at dinner. The bungalow was smaller than I hoped, however, with very little room to maneuver. The bathroom was fun but I recommend that the owner fix the flooring, which consists of narrow. Planks of wood with 2 inch or bigger gaps between the planks. I had to be careful walking to the sink etc for fear of catching my bare foot in between the flanks and twisting ankle. I would worry if I had kids with smaller feet or older people with poor balance. That was the only negative. Except that breakfast was skimpy for a hotel with these rates. You had a choice of one breakfast entree ( like oatmeal or yogurt with fruit and muesli) and coffee/tea and fresh fruit. No juice ..... Which is chintzy and a staple of every other Indonesian free hotel breakfasts, including at pricier places. Left me we the feeling that owner was penny pinching. Otherwise I loved it. Service was best in Indonesia and bed was super comfy ..... Great sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnes184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    75
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
106
248
65
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was a great surprise during our travels in Bali. The service, the staff, the food, the accommodations...amazing. We stay for three days. Wish we could have enjoyed the experience for longer. A bit off the beaten path..worth the exploration!!

Room Tip: The manager Ann helped pick our room..and we received an upgrade once we checked in. The photos on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warehouse2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

A wonderful Adam and Eve experience, friendly and beautiful staff, great organic food, Private yoga lessons and healthy massage available. Great relaxing view over the rice fields. Swimming in a natural pool.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJanMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stopped here for 2 nights after a week-long business trip in Surabaya. As others have noted, this is not a conventional hotel or resort. Come here to relax, read a book, have a massage, and get away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at the Bambu Indah for 3 nights on a vacation with my wife. The gorgeous views surpassed my expectations, even after reading all the reviews and seeing all the photos. It is extremely relaxing to just sit outside and enjoy it all, from the view to being out in the jungle.

We stayed in the Jawalama house. Nice and secluded feel with a wonderful porch. We had a gecko friend stay with us for the three nights and unfortunately, he left his droppings in the room. However, this did not really bother us since we knew we are out in nature and geckos tend to go in the bathroom in the same place. If this bothers you, then you can ask the front desk and they will immediately relocate the gecko back out in nature. The room had AC which was extremely nice to have at night and the bed with a mosquito net. The outdoor bathroom was good and if you enjoy outdoor bathrooms, you will enjoy this one.

Food is good. Everything is fresh and extremely organic. Might be a bit overpriced dinner wise but you are getting some delicious food; the babu ikes I had was excellent and one of the best ones I had while in Bali. Breakfast was always fresh in the morning and also good.

Service was great. Friendly staff who were very helpful. We only got to speak to the Manager on the last day who was very nice and wanted to ensure our stay was the best it could be.

Location is about a 5 - 10 minute drive from Ubud. You can have the front desk to call a cab for you: should be about 50000 IDR. It's a bit of a walk so would recommend to take a car down to Ubud to do our exploring around there.

Overall, you should note that if you stay here, you are staying out in nature. So you can expect bugs, geckos, anything else that lives out there as well as the regular noises at night. They won't bother you if you don't bother them. Rustic luxury is probably the best way to describe this place. As long as you have your expectations set that this is not a Hilton but a truly unique lodging experience, akin to high end camping, then you will be fine.

Room Tip: Jawalama house has a nice secluded feeling and a great view of the rice fields through some jungle b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stkkattds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

WOnderfully unique property in Ubud. The detail, charm, tone and overall setting that they have created using as mcuh recyled and sustainable materials as possible so special. We are delighted to have a stayed here and it really made our honeymoon. The staff was amazingly sincere, the food was the perfect,(mostly grown on site) and the room was so charming. Loved everything about the place. Look forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: Check out the Udang House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Wow. This is a one-of-a-kind spot with incredible views, a cool pool, and exceptional food. Bambu Indah is “rustic” and may surprise if you’re expecting conventional luxury. Once you get used to the outdoor rainshower (which we grew to love) and the sounds of roosters in the morning, you’ll love it. We were a family of 5 in the Elora House. It was a good space for us (two floors). Some have suggested this isn’t the best place for kids, but ours loved it. Our youngest had a Balinese massage and all the kids couldn’t get enough of the pool and palm tree with the swinging rope.

The food here does not get enough attention. While the choices are limited – typically two options at lunch and dinner – the quality is amazing. Over the course of three days, every single dish was fantastic. The breakfasts (included in the rate) were also terrific – fresh mango and papaya, delicious eggs or Balinese breakfasts, and great coffee.

The staff was very helpful as well. They coordinated white water rafting on the Ayung River, recommending a cheaper local option over the more heavily promoted brands. They also arranged for a fabulous three hour walk through rice fields and local villages.

If you want to get away from the crowds and feel like you’ve been transported back an earlier time in Bali (albeit one with wireless Internet), this is the place!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeGCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#73 of 196 in Ubud
717 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.5 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#75 of 196 in Ubud
363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#14 of 196 in Ubud
771 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#30 of 196 in Ubud
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Indah

Property: Bambu Indah
Address: Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ubud
#7 Business Hotel in Ubud
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#53 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Indah 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic luxury in the gardens of a tropical highland farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bambu Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Indah Hotel Ubud
Bambu Indah Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing