We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bambu Indah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bambu Indah
Ranked #53 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Bambu Indah was the highlight of my trip to Bali. The pristine green organic gardens and grounds, overlooking fields of rice pads in the valley below, offered a magical backdrop to the very cool Bambu structures and wood bungalows. The service was amazing, the staff super friendly and the food delicious. Great to start my day with a yoga class overlooking the beautiful gardens. Can't wait to return to this very special place.

Room Tip: Stayed in Kona room which has a rope swing from the window to pool below. Fun for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    72
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
98
239
61
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

When I arrived at the Bambu Indah I was greeted with "Welcome to the Jungle". As a frequent international traveler I was in need for some back to nature and plenty of R&R. I must say that this trip accomplished both of these goals with stellar performance. The staff was attentive to my needs and always ready with the guidance needed to tour around. They arranged a driver, planned our tour and even packed us some local clothing for our trip to the Temple. The organic food grown on the property is used to prepare their menu items. I can vouch for the breakfast, lunch and tea time that the food is amazing. Don't miss the Bambu Indah !! My wife and I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you are looking for an authentic Bali experience, make sure you try Bambu Indah, a 10 minute drive from Ubud. I stayed there for a family wedding and it was the perfect place to celebrate together as a group. It is also a welcome retreat from the hustle & bustle of Ubud. The hotel features a collection of restored Javanese bungalows, grouped around a spring-fed swimming pool, on the edge of the spectacular Ayung river valley in Sayan. Tea is served on the terrace in the afternoons, with a panoramic view of rice terraces across the valley. Each bungalow has its own unique character, with antique furniture, colourful cushions, and traditional decor. The bathrooms are set outdoors in private gardens. Surrounding the bungalows are organic gardens growing rice and vegetables. The pool is wonderfully refreshing, spring-fed, with a continuous flow of water, lined with rocks - though a bit slippery, so be careful. The staff were all extremely courteous and helpful, and the restaurant serves delicious and nutricious meals, including the best Balinese food I enjoyed during my stay in Bali. Our family enjoyed several festive occasions in the spacious pavilion, watching the sunset over the rice terraces. There is also a large area for Yoga classes, and massage rooms above the restaurant. The hotel was happy to organize local massage therapists to come to the hotel. There is plenty of inexpensive taxi service available in the village. I highly recommend Bambu Indah if you are looking for a quiet sanctuary in natural surroundings, a unique Bali experience, or a private group facility for a special event.

Room Tip: Best views are from Afrika & Padi House, but for older folk, try Elora House or Java Lama, as so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I will not forget our stay at Bambu Indah for a very long time!!! Breathtaking views and surroundings, lovely staff, outdoor bathrooms, fresh organic food, and a true feeling of being away from it all (although you really are only a minute from the hustle and bustle of Bali living).
We stayed in Padi house but also looked at 3 of the other houses... Padi (and Africa) does have the best view and direct access to the pool, although the other houses had their unique selling points too - a glass floor over water, or surrounded by a pond of koi fish, better bathrooms etc...

Dining options are somewhat limited - although that's probably due to the small number of guests - but the food that we had was so fresh and wholesome. Afternoon tea is between 4 and 6pm and in keeping with the rest of our stay, it was very relaxing and pleasant as you watch the sunsetting over the paddies.

My only suggestive feedback would be that they provide a few more toiletries (e.g. shower cap, moisturizer etc.) and that perhaps they could do a few shuttles each day to Ubud centre (although the drivers are pretty cheap).

Despite all the above, I'm not sure Bambu is for 'everyone' e.g. my mother! The pool is all natural so that means little bugs/fish/frogs and slippery footing. The outdoor copper shower is a novelty but an outdoor bathroom is not conducive to spending long amounts of time outside in the evening given mosquitoes etc. You are away from the action - you can't really walk anywhere of interest. There are no tvs, music dock etc. so I'm not sure how long you would want to stay there with kids? (I don't have kids, so may be wrong here). We mixed our stay at Bambu Indah with a 'traditional' swanky villa stay in Seminyak which has given us a perfect combo of relaxation and accommodation styles.

I would definitely go back if ever in Ubud again.

Room Tip: Padi and Africa have best views. But all rooms seemed to have their good points!! Loved the one whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwimeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Bambu Indah is the place to go to unwind and reconnect with nature. The grounds are lush, green and beautiful and there are only 11 traditional "huts" or houses so you really have to book early to get the ones with the better views (Padi and Africa has the best views FYI) I stayed at Padi House and you can see the padi fields and the natural "pool" is right outside my hut! The staff were really sweet too, to decorate the porch with flowers that read "Honeymoon" :) The first night there was quite eventful as we were woken up in the middle of the night as the roof was leaking during a storm! The staff came soon after we called them and we had to move to another hut for the night in almost pitch darkness (quite an adventure, I must say). They fixed our roof the next day and they had to fix the toilet as well (couldn't flush). When we arrived, the staff explained in great detail about the high-tech japanese toilet but the butt-cleaning functions of the toilet never did work (before and after the repair). Other than this 2 hiccups, we still enjoyed our stay there. Lovely place.

Room Tip: Choose Africa House and Padi House if you want a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haejina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Bambu Indah reminds one of traditional living in Southeast Asia. Guests room in beautifully restored Javanese houses and the pond/swimming pool was amazing. I stayed in the Padi House and lying on my porch with a book in hand, watching the sun set was one of the most unforgettable experiences I have had. Travelling to Ubud was extremely cheap too because I rented the scooter.

I highly recommend this place if you are looking for something different and is ready to be blown away.

Room Tip: The Padi and Africa houses are the most expensive for a reason - they have the most stunning view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulchanws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Not sure that I should share this review as I think Bambuh Indah should remain a well kept secret...however...I just had the magical experience of being there for my daughter's wedding...it was the most magnificent, intimate, beautiful backdrop...a rice fields view in the glow of a Balinese sunset. We had the place to ourselves and our wedding guests as there are only 11 houses in the resort. Staying in Jawa Lama house provided all the facilities of a 5 star resort but with the ambience of a 1000 year old Javanese wedding house complete with squeaky floorboards. If you love nature, Bambuh Indah is for you...our house had a view of the jungle and rice fields below. The beds are securely netted from mosquitoes. The staff are typically friendly Balinese and did everything they could to provide us all with a happy experience...the food was deliciously home grown. Thank you for the memories Bambuh Indah.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.1 mi away
Sandat Glamping Tents
Sandat Glamping Tents
#56 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
0.8 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#64 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#27 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#62 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.3 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Indah

Property: Bambu Indah
Address: Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ubud
#7 Business Hotel in Ubud
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#48 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Indah 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic luxury in the gardens of a tropical highland farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bambu Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Indah Hotel Ubud
Bambu Indah Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing