We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, Beautiful, Simple, and Serene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gaya Villas at Gaya Fusion
Ranked #215 of 571 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Okinawa, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Rustic, Beautiful, Simple, and Serene”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The art gallery in the lobby was under construction and buried behind a large tarp during our visit. We were concerned by this when we entered, but the pool and shared living room just beyond the lobby are gorgeous. The artwork throughout the grounds is stunning. The pool is refreshing, clean, and very peaceful. We were here in mid April and the weather was beautiful and we did not experience any mosquito problems. The breakfast was large and quite delicious. I expected a buffet, but it was made to order from a menu each morning. We had a fantastic massage here in a spa room just past the pool, situated on a jungle cliff. We stayed in Kayu villa and were pleased with it. The lock was a padlock on the door, but we did not experience problems with security. The villa was large with a large bathroom, indoor shower, outdoor tub, air conditioning, fresh flowers, and a loft with an extra bed. Transportation by the villa was free between 10:00 and 4 pm. We arranged transportation through the villa to pick us up at the airport and the driver was over an hour late. This was extremely frustrating and not a good way to start our trip. The Italian restaurant above the lobby, Ciba, is excellent and so is the gelato shop next door. We enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHPUSAviaOki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desak D, Manager at Gaya Villas at Gaya Fusion, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Warmest greeting from Gaya Villas..

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday in Bali. Much regret that as you said our lobby and gallery were under construction on the period of your stay. Deeply apology for the inconvenience caused and hopefully we would be able to welcome you back to our villas again in the near future when we would serve you better.

Thank you.

Desak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Bali for 9 nights, 3 of which we stayed at Gaya villas. The villas are lovely in a quite peaceful setting along one of the streams. We stayed at Villa Bambu which has a private garden overlooking the gorge. First about the Villa-
It was large and comfortable with a really big bathroom which could be opened up to make it semi-outdoor.
The door to the bathroom, although nicely designed was really squeaky and loud and can be disturbing if one of you need to attend to a nature's call in the middle of the night.
The bed was large but the mattress wasn't as comfortable as is in large hotel chains. We couldn't sleep the first night but we asked for extra pillows and then were a bit more comfortable. Maybe, a more comfortable mattress would do the trick.
Service-
The service was polite and competent, although I felt that in a small boutique property it would help if the staff provided more information about things to do and places to eat at. On inquiring about a good waring to go to on our first evening we were told that there are lots of them and any one would be fine.
Also, they didn't seem very forthcoming with information about good galleries, nature walks, etc. that we could do. Although we did do them on our own, some guidance would have helped us plan our days better.
Location-
The villas are located a bit far out and unless you have your own transportation (bike, etc.) be ready to pay for taxis upto the center and back because it cannot be walked. Unfortunately due to my husband's bad back we could not hire a bike and the hotel shuttle although it operates once an hour from 10-4 pm wasn't very convenient if you need to get out in the evenings. If you want to be in the center of things then this should not be your base.
Food-
We did not eat at the restaurant but have heard great things about it. The breakfast served was very meager. Maybe some option of cereals, pancakes, etc. would be good.

Overall, we had a nice time though felt that this being our first trip to Ubud, we should have stayed at a place closer to the center as there aren't many places to eat around Gaya and we prefer being in the buzz of things. If you have a longer stay and wish to be in a beautiful setting then this place is perfect!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank architrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

First, there are two types of accommodations in Ubud. Those in the city center (where you can easily walk to Monkey Forest, Hanoman, etc) and those outside the city center (where you will require some form of 5-15 minute ride to see sights, eat at restaurants, etc). Gaya is of the second type. So in the same way that most accommodation just outside Ubud center offer shuttles and pickup service, Gaya does, too. Prior to arriving in Ubud, I found it was hard to get the lay of the land since Google Maps isn't all that accurate. So this note is to let you know the transportation situation which was a surprise to me upon arrival. Gaya is outside the city center by about 15 minutes.

Moving on, Gaya is a very well manicured property that has an intimate, boutique feel. The place seems to be co-owned by Balinese and Italians so the result is an Italian-inspired Balinese experience. The art is both contemporary and crafted. The villa design is really something extra over the usual Balinese spots. And the living area and pool are just brilliant and quite relaxing. Because it is outside the city and because there are only 6 villas, you'll find your stay very quiet. The staff also keep a polite distance (but are exceedingly friendly when needed) which contributes to the remote feel.

I stayed in Villa Batu, which was a one bedroom villa opening onto the pool. It is one of two slightly older (not in a bad way) villas between the gallery and the pool. The other four are a short descent into the jungle and are of newer construction. Villa Batu included a large bedroom with huge floor cushion, dressing area, large bathroom with indoor tub and shower, and an outdoor shower covered in moss and vines. The bedding was top quality and everything in the room was immaculate. Two bottles of purified water are provided in the bathroom and there are a few drinks available at a charge in the minibar. Because this is a small property, you won't find the usual cluster of tourists waiting to go here and there in the lobby. No, it'll just be you wandering in and out of the gallery to go to and from your villa. It's almost as if you live there.

There is a restaurant on the property, but it is under separate management. Cibo, it is called, serves up delicious pastas and pizzas in a quiet open roof terrace. It's open til 11pm, so no concerns about missing dinner. The owners again are Italian and so is the management which means you get well thought out, detailed Italian staples. I ate there three nights in a row and enjoyed three separate pastas with accompanying breads and teas. You can also pop down to the gelato shop just beside the art gallery and pick up some sweets if you're not in the mood for a full meal.

Overall, I really enjoyed my experience at Gaya and regret that I'm not able to find villas of this sort of design at this price in Ubud center.

One last note re: location. Google Maps had a 'Gaya Villas' pinned on Jalan Raya Ubud near the center of Ubud when I was there. That is an erroneous listing, so don't look at it. The Gaya Villas you are looking for are actually located in the village of Sayan on Jalan Raya Sayan / Jalan Raya Kedawatan / (two roads that turn into each other). Transport by fixed price taxi from DPS airport will run you 300,00r.

Room Tip: If you want to be by the pool, ask for one of the older two villas up top. If you want to be more se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days during Christmas time. The Bamboo bungalow with private terrace overlooking the jungle was great, very peaceful and calm, all in green. The restaurant serves great Italian food but the breakfast in terms of size and variety can be improved.
It should be mentioned that the hotel management did not pay appropriate attention to the maintenance of the facilities as my husband had a very bed fall injury first night we arrived due to muddy stairs that were not cleaned after the rain, low light visibility and no warnings from hotel. This fall could have been fatal and had almost ruined our vacation. Although the service staff showed to be very helpful, the hotel management showed lack of care and understanding for our troubles caused by this accident. Therefore, the rating of the hotel service has been set at a low level.

Room Tip: Bamboo bungalow is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place blew us away. It's a charm and we couldn't believe something this plush and luxurious came at this price! The reception is an art gallery- the first thing you notice when you enter is the sense of space- big glass windows, lots of open air, greenery and paintings. The rooms are enormous and luxurious- every details is taken care of and the staff are fantastic. The Spa is open air on one side and overlooks the forest- you hear real rain and forest sounds as you relax- not sounds from speaker!
This is a must stay in Bali.
P.S. keep the address/map/phone number in hand so you can tell the taxi driver the location/area.

Room Tip: Every room here is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettyprettym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent 5 days in 2 of the villas. Family of 4 had the 2brm Paprius Villa and we had the Jepun Villa. Both villas were absolutely beautiful. The latex bed in Jepun is heavenly! Staff were fantastic and very helpful accommodating all our requests. Breakfast was really good. When we were there the Italian restaurant had not opened and when this does it will be the icing on the cake for all staying at the villas. The location is perfect, it is so peaceful and not that far out of Ubud central. Thanks to everyone at the Gaya Villas for making our stay such an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukijb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed in Gaya villas for two nights in Sep 2013 and had a great time. Finding the hotel was quite a pain as it wasnt listed on Google Maps and the locals didnt know where it was. However, once we got there it was all worth it.

The place has just a handful of villas and each villa follows a different theme. Its about 10 min from town so away from the noise and bustle. Although the resort is quite small, its cleverly designed and exudes a feeling of space and openness. Would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a quite place to unwind.

+
The staff was very courteous and arranged a scooter for us at short notice.
Location: Quite and serene, a great place to unwind.
Well designed villas.

-
Very small pool
Limited breakfast spread

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nogoodsnleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Ubud Green
Ubud Green
#40 of 571 in Ubud
492 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
5.8 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaya Villas at Gaya Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Villas at Gaya Fusion

Property: Gaya Villas at Gaya Fusion
Address: Jalan Raya Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 571 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaya Villas at Gaya Fusion 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaya Villas originally built as bungalows for our artists, set between the nature of the river gorge and the culture of the Art Space, integrate original artwork with luxurious living - a reflection of our philosophy that art and life are inseparable. Our Italian-Balinese fusion architecture includes marble floors and grass "alang alang" roofs, two shared living areas (one overlooking the pool and gardens, another with a large table and cushions) and a swimming pool with sun-lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Gaya Villas at Gaya Fusion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaya Villas Hotel Ubud
Gaya Villas At Gaya Fusion Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing