We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly and perfect location.”
Review of Putri Ayu Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Putri Ayu Cottages
Ranked #397 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly and perfect location.”
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Ok, so its not a 5 star resort, but it is a small, quiet, clean and beautiful little place to stay. A short walk to all the action incuding the Monkey Forest Sanctuary. The staff are friendly and aim to please. When we arrived, we felt like we had the place to ourselves. We had the cheaper room on the ground floor but it was perfect as we have a little girl and she was able to run around the perfectly manicured grounds. Right behind our room, were terraced rice fields which were a lovely sight. The hotel is at the end of a quiet road and when we first arrived we exchanged some glances "is this the right place?". However, once we arrived, and got settled we fell in love. Only 8 rooms so it is a great little relaxing place with great staff and service. Thank you to all at Putri Ayu Cottages for a lovely vacation!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    30
    22
    13
See reviews for
16
43
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We had problems to find a hotel in Ubud because it was august and by the independence day, so we wanted to go to Tegal Sari (good price and service) or Komaneka (it was so expensive)
Isn't a lovely hotel but the service is so nice, specially Gede. It's important that you get upstairs rooms, and better from the last building because has ricefied views
The beds are nice made by bamboo and quite comfortable, and has nets to be aware from mosquitos
The toilet it's ok, is simple, not dirty but dont look like new
Breakfast is large (pankakes, toast, scrumble eggs, juice, fruit)
Is really near by monkey forest

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noa_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Traveled with a friend and stayed for 8 nights, primarily because we were too lazy to pack our stuff up and move. Other places had better gardens, seemed cleaner with more to offer. I was always poking my head in various accomodations for future travel to Bali. Also, many places less expensive. Nevertheless, we were on the upper floor overlooking the pool. Great pool, clean. Staff was friendly, accomodating and available after a poke or two around a corner....Everyone there was helpful and friendly. Rooms large, light and airy. Great veranda overlooking rice fields. Night was lovely....ducks quacking, although that diminished as they were plucked from the pond and scooped away to market. Dogs abound in Bali and our property had some roaming around and talking amongst themselves. Not too annoying though. Crickets were loud, but in a serene way. Rooms were clean, but it's no 3,4 or 5 star place. A good place to hang your hat and explore the village. A 10 minute brisk walk down some paved and some dirt road leads you directly into town. Nice to be removed at night, but in the action only a short walk away. I rather liked the fact that very few people were around and I felt like we had the place to ourselves. One night played chess with the 20 year old kids who work there. Very casual and laid back. Shower was hot with good pressure and large bath area. Our room had a small fridge for our Bintang and wine. Also a hot water canister and coffee in room. Clean sheets and towels ever day and anything you needed. Noone tripping over you, but available if you needed anything at all. A bit expensive in comparison. Nice place overall...great side street!!! The rooms were as they appear on their site, so no fotos of that. Breakfast was toast, eggs, omelete, crepe. Tasty, but no winner...I liked it but would not stay there again mainly because there are so many other places with better rates (we paid 60 US dollars per night) and more lush gardens.....otherwise., I enjoyed the privacy!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank going410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

What an odd experience this hotel was. There don't appear to be any other guests. The front desk is always empty, we had to run around looking to pay someone when we left! The rooms have big cracks in the walls, the floor was covered with ants (we stayed in a downstairs unit). That said, the room was big and bright with a good bathroom. It appears that some effort was put into making this a nice place when it was built, but one wonders if a bad contractor was responsible for substandard building and that the current owner is letting the place go completely. There are big spots of damp everywhere and other evidence that the whole place is falling apart. It's pretty overgrown too. The swimming pool was unavailable because of a problem with a light (we feared electrocution!). We liked the location slightly removed from town, the open rice fields and quiet at night. We found the place vaguely creepy as it was so empty and left to rot.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiuseppeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2009

Set just off the non-descript road into Ubud, the Putri Ayu was wonderfully situated amongst the paddy fields. The staff were extremely friendly. The cottages were nicely laid out, business was good and the place expanding, with new ‘posh’ villas being built.
Our room was not ready; in over exuberance one of the staff showed us some of the deluxe rooms on the upper floors, with wooden floors and 4 poster beds; they were exquisite. We were then told ours was on the ground floor and not quite as nice. The deluxe were apparently all booked.
What we ended up with would have been considered wonderful, had we not seen the ‘Deluxe Upper Wood Bedrooms’. $60US was not cheap, but far better value than Kuta accommodation. If you stay – upgrade. The evening meal at the Putri Ayu tasted fantastic and was better than any of the meals we had in restaurants in the town (village).
Of particular note: The Putri Ayu offers a free pick up and drop off in Ubud. The town starts less than 1km away, but runs for another km along 2 parallel streets separated by a river. The transport service was very dependable (we rang for pick up several times from restaurants down town).
We move by taxi from foul Kuta and really enjoyed the relatively laid back attitude in Ubud. We really liked the Putri Ayu. It is a good place to stay for 3 days and we rated it as the best of 6 places we stayed in Bali.
Some things we did in Ubud:
Walk out the back of the complex 400m to the monkey sanctuary, which the whole family loved.
Take the Campuhan Ridge Walk and stop on route at an amazing cafe on stilts (just whish I could remember the name). The walk takes 2 hours through paddy fields so green it looks unreal.
The Bumbu restaurant. A pretty place in a courtyard, with little huts for eating around the water gardens (if the ants don’t get you). Food was OK. 6 out of 10.
Kafe Wayan – Excellent western laid back coffee / food place, that we could not fault. It was even non smoking! Full of back packers, but a great place to spend an hour or 2.
The market was OK and worth a look around.
We did not go White Water rafting, but others we met seemed to enjoy the experience.

  • Liked — Fantastic location in Paddy Fields + ‘Deluxe Upper Wood Bedrooms’.
  • Disliked — Weish we had stayed in the ‘Deluxe Upper Wood Bedrooms’.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BiancaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We were booked for 4 nights but checked out after 2 days. The property was supposedly in town but not really within walking distance. The shuttle service often was not available as the van was being used by the hotel's owner, thus resulting in a need to pay a taxi every time we needed to go into to town. The rooms were large and clean- no complaints there. It seemed odd as it seemed we were the only people staying there. The staff tried to respond to requests but did not understand what was desired. For example, we asked for extra blankets to be delivered to the two rooms but all extra blankets were dropped in one room. The breakfast was quite tasty but you'll need to go into town for all other meals. A rather sterile, benign property all in all.

  • Liked — Large clean rooms
  • Disliked — Distance from town without available shuttle
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank medview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Kiskenda Cottages
Kiskenda Cottages
#135 of 198 in Ubud
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#100 of 198 in Ubud
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homayoon Villa
Homayoon Villa
#309 of 542 in Ubud
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Y Resort Ubud
Y Resort Ubud
#150 of 198 in Ubud
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
0.3 mi away
Bucu View Bungalows
Bucu View Bungalows
#60 of 542 in Ubud
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Putri Ayu Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putri Ayu Cottages

Property: Putri Ayu Cottages
Address: Bisma Street, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Putri Ayu Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Putri Ayu Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Putri Ayu Cottages Hotel Ubud
Putri Ayu Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing