We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil haven”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #71 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“tranquil haven”
Reviewed April 7, 2010

my partner and i stayed at this resort for 6 days in feb 2010,after my partners mother died.we needed some quiet and rest,and this place was the perfect spot.
our villa was spotless and very private and quiet.we overlooked the river which was very relaxing.
the service at the resort was superb,all of the staff being very helpful and kind.the owner of the resort went out of his way to make you feel welcome,and had coctails with us in the fantastic infinity pool.
the resort is surrounded by the beautiful rice paddies and forest of palm trees.it is a truly stunning setting,and you just feel the stress leave you after just a few hours there.
the food was really good with a great infusion of balinese/thai and the prices were amazingly reasonable for such a smart resort.
the rooms were very comfortable and loved the outdoor shower.
if you want a place for privacy and quiet,then this is it.
roy and kevin

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perthroyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    95
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
51
538
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Dear villa semana, we would like to thank for the excellent services we had while we stayed at semana. me & my wife took 3d/2n honeymoon package and that was amazing.
the room is nice, the view in semana is like a small paradise. staffs are helpful, breakfast & dinner are delicious n memorable. our favorite is the spa, close to the ayung river n hear the sound of waterfalls.. fantastic! so we can say that our stay at villa Semana is our beautiful experince.

Rifqi Prasetyo & Wife

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rq_prast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Villa Semana is a rare gem. Hidden away in the countryside this small boutique hotel knows who to create a tranquil, unassuming retreat perfect for those looking for a romantic hideaway or a place to relax and rejuvenate. I visited Villa Semana just for an afternoon to enjoy lunch and a 150min spa treatment with a girlfriend. It was absolutely perfect, amazing mouthwateringly good food and the best spa treatment I have ever had ( and I've had a few).

What was impressive was the thoughtfulness that had gone into the design and planning of the environment to create an unforgettable ambience that went beyond the treatment itself ( which was also one of the best I've ever had). The staff are very well trained - friendly and incredibly discreet. The villas are very private with views that open out over the river and surrounding forest. I can't wait to return, but next time will be for a romantic weekend with my husband.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Wonderful location in the heart of the countryside 15 minutes drive from Ubud using complimentary shuttle and around 1 hours from airport again with the Villa Semana private driver. Ten villas dotted around the hillside overlooking a fast flowing river and rice terraces. A real feeling of being surrounded by jungle without any outside noise. Stayed in detached villa "Kambodja" 2 storey with brilliant river views. Villa had thatched roof and furnished typical Balinese style with dark wooden furniture - could have done with a bigger umbrella on terrace.
This was our first trip to Bali and initially the chaotic airport Visa charade, together with the crazy motorcycle driving gave us cause for concern. The drive to Ubud was an eye opener as far as the volume of shops selling stone carvings and wooden furniture. The rubbish everywhere was horrendous and spoilt this lovely island. Everywhere we went we were constantly pestered by sellers of tourist tat etc which was wearing. villa Semana was like a cocoon and if could just stay in the grounds and relax and be pampered.
The restaurant was fabulous the food really excellent both in quality and presentation. Persuaded my husband to have a full body massage together in Spa right down by the waters edge and he loved it!
The staff and I mean all the staff were amazing - if you asked for anything or needed anything doing they did it and got it right every time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed at Villa Semana for a romantic long weekend and we were so pleased we did. The location, set deep into the side of a river valley looking across to thick trees on the other bank, provides a naturally secluded location and the perfect environment for a relaxing holiday. The room was excellent, the staff were very attentive and the advice on what to see in Bali was first class. The spa was also very good, enhanced by its natural surroundings.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millergeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Oh Villa Semana! Were you real or just a dream?

The villa looking out on the river....
The spa treatment in a bath of flowers by a waterfall....
Dinner outside, under the stars....
And the cleanest, best maintained bathrooms in all of Indonesia....

Thank you to all the staff, especially Cindy, who gave us the low-down on the boy-watching scene in Bali.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF_visitor_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We were planning to stay in Ubud. The "inn" was full and we stumbled upon Villa Semana. It was a hidden gem nestled by River Ayung and rice fields with 10 villas, each with a private pool. For us, it was a haven for adults as Villa Semana welcomes children above 12 only. If you are looking for peace and tranquillity, you will be pleased as there are no screaming kids by the pool. The complimentary wi-fi in the villas, by the restaurant and the pool made it an ideal to work and vacation at the same time. The rooms were spick and span, the views amazing, the staff incredibly efficient, attentive and polite. We ordered food which were not on the menu, and the chefs prepared it for us. Food was delicious and good value for money. Herbs are grown in the gardens in Villa Semana. The wine selection could have been better but we understand due to the local alcohol import laws, we weren't able to enjoy our favourite labels like Pierro, Cullens or Mosswood from Margaret River, Perth, Australia. But who cares... we had a fabulous stay and we will be back.
Check out pages 20 & 21 of the October issue of the Singapore American Newspaper:
http://www.aasingapore.com/attachments/files/375/OctSANp18-21.pdf

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tietjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#32 of 196 in Ubud
629 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.5 mi away
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.7 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#20 of 196 in Ubud
225 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#42 of 196 in Ubud
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Property: Villa Semana
Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#53 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#60 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing