We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #45 of 169 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We chose Villa Semana at the last minute for our honeymoon (yes, just 2 days before it) and since other places that we wanted were booked. However, we made a good choice, as this place is stunningly beautiful, it overlook Ayung River, where you can heard village's children played at the river bank in the afternoon. You have your own privacy, but still can feel close to nature and surrounding area. The food is excellent (it's good quality and fresh) and it always accompanied with good service (Thank you Pak Sukarma for all the trouble to find the address on tea's supplier, too bad they don't have the supply as well). The owner tried to make us feel welcomed and enjoy every moment of the trip (very well response on my concern with the pool). It was immediately taken care (Thank you Mr. Suter and all of your staffs). It's perfect place for our honeymoon and looking forward to return to Villa Semana in the future (hopefully it won't take too long :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Senjamerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    91
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
516
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Villa Semana for 3 relaxing nights after 6 busy nights in Seminyak. We enjoyed our time at this villa and we agree with many other comments before ours.
The food was outstanding! The breakfast offered a huge variety of selections and all options tasted delicious. We ate at the restaurant for 2 dinners as well, it was just so good!
The staff were attentive, the villa was clean and the surrounding gardens were stunning.
We also found the plunge pool just too cold to get into. Very little storage is supplied which means you live out of your suitcase the whole time - not good. Also the position of the bed did not take in the view. It would have been nice to lay in bed in the morning and look at the rice fields. The lounge area also did not really invite us, so we tended to sit in the hard dining chairs. With a few small changes the villas could be truly spectacular - compared to what we stayed in at Seminyak.
The couples massage was fantastic, the fish in the ponds were amusing, the atmosphere in the restaurant and main pool was excellent & attention from staff was wonderful.
We did enjoy our stay and would recommend Villa Semana for ambience, romance, food, relaxation and spa treatments.

Room Tip: Bring your own ipod of music
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaB623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This beautiful resort is truly remarkable and a hidden gem in Bali. The quality of the Villa is excellent, service always comes with a smile and overall the experience was way beyond any expectations.

The location on the island is great to make day trips and experience beautiful Bali. Villa Semana is far away from the touristic hustle and bustle in the South but has energetic Ubud around the corner. The colours and surroundings here are amazing and we strongly recommend you stay to here for at least 3 - 4 nights, although a week or more would allow you to really settle in a adapt to the rhythm of Bali.

We are definitely coming back!

Room Tip: Rice fields are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Semana for our honeymoon. The hotel is absolutely stunning with beautiful details everywhere, overlooking both rice fields and the river. The villas have every feature of a large resort- outdoor shower, pool, nice terrace overlooking rice fields and very comfortable amenities. Breakfast is delicious, especially the eggs benedict, overlooking the infinity pool with a fantastic view. The owner is very friendly and makes every guest feel at home. Gives great recommendations of activities, art shopping and restaurants-has some great stories too!! Would highly recommend the hotel- very close to Ubud(free shuttle there every hour) and a great romantic, exclusive retreat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We just stayed 5 nights for our honeymoonat Villa Semana and very much enjoyed our stay. A few things about the place:

Pros: beautiful location and grounds, lovely attentive staff, food was well prepared and fresh, professionally run. Bottle of wine on arrival, comfy robes, fruit plates and cookies at night, lovely tea hour by the main pool. Spa is small but delightful. Shuttle service.

Cons: a bit far from town and have to coordinate shuttle. It's 15-20 mins from town. This was actually fine for us, they were flexible and we were ok with retreating back to the Villa at night. Just know you can't walk anywhere from here and will always have to coordinate drop off and pick up. They always know your plan for the day. Small villa: We were in villa Alamanda which was very small, rather dark, and a little musty. The villa was smaller than rooms we stayed at in hotels so we were a bit disappointed in the size. We were hoping to spend more time there relaxing. While it was on the river with a nice view, we didn't spend much time there. There is also no where to put your things away so we spent the 5 days living out of the suitcase. The bathroom also has no where to put your things so it's very crammed. The bed however was comfortable, good bedding and pillows. The pool was also very cold so we barely used it. All and all, we ended up using it as a hub to sleep but didnt spend a lot of time there. We stayed in other villas where we never wanted to leave. Perhaps get a larger villa here if you have the option.

The daily interactions with the ecentric owner could be perceived as either a pro or a con. You will see him every day at breakfast and he will engage you with different stories and discuss your daily plans. My husband grew tired of it, felt like he was being stalked, and by the end, tried to avoid him. I didn't mind it so much. He gave me some good shopping tips. And I think he runs a great little hotel. He pays attention to the details.

Room Tip: Alamanda is close to the river but really small and dark. I'd get a bigger villa if it's ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diddleydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed in villa Semana after spending a month in Indonesia for our honeymoon. We took the honeymoon package in a deluxe pool villa with views over the rice fields. The location is wonderful right in the middle of the beautiful rice fields and it is a 15 min shuttle ride from the center of busy ubud. The staff were very attentive to our needs. With our package we had a three hour spa treatment at the spa which was magical.
I would recommend staying here for a romantic or honeymoon getaway. The hotel was full (only 10 villas) but it felt like there were just a few of us there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audejacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I went with my 13 years old daughter fro 4 days and honestly this place is perfection , we took the 2 floor villa overlooking the river , the place is amazing in all aspects the food , the room , the landscape and above all the staff and the owner who really look into the smallest detail .The villa name is " Kambuja" and it is very good for family with kids were the kids will have there separate bedroom in the 2nd floor , there is no TV in the villas which makes it more relaxed place yet they have ipod dock for playing your own music in addition to some cds . The villa had a small pool where you can use for sunbathe butnthere is the main pool which was always not busy and it felt like its all for us alone , they also send a car ( mini van) to drive the guests to and from Ubud down town every hour they have amazing packages when you book from their website , i booked one that comes with complementary massage and special dinner and yoga class along with a walk around the area , if you are hesitant dont be because this place is perfect , the only thing which some people may not like is that the place is in a tropical island and like all other place worldwide,it comes with some sounds around the villa from frogs and geckos ( small type of lizards) , they don't enter the room and in rare cases if they do the Management will take care immediately , finally the hotel also can arrange ( sur. charge apply) tours for you for any place in Bali
Special thanks to all the staff specially Nana the assistant Manager who is really nice.
I cant right about every thing good there otherwise it will take pages ....thank you .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akramaly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.5 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#25 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#16 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#20 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#7 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Property: Villa Semana
Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#43 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing