We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Part 2 :)”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #72 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Villa Semana in “Teratai” for 2 nights in July 2013 and the experience was quite unforgettable. The staff were friendly & helpful and the overall ambiance was beautiful. Jurg, the Manager was also very helpful with suggestions of what to see and where to eat in Ubud town. There was a complimentary shuttle provided as well, and the driver we had shared stories and traditions relating to Ubud which was a nice way to occupy the 15 min ride into town. The experience of spending 2 nights in the tranquil silence surrounded by paddy fields and the river was a welcome respite. Given the opportunity, we will definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VishaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 724 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We got a one bedroom pool villa that is very nice. No TV in the room but you fall to the charm of this hotel. Very romantic especially the spa which is located next to a spring in the middle of the forest. Staff is very friendly. You can book a shuttle to the center of Ubud which is very cultural. As honeymooners, we were the only people that were in their thirties. Most of the other guests were in their sixties. Maybe a hotel closer to the center of Ubud would have been better.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AnonymousPBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Villa Semana since 2007 and coming back almost every year. Set in the midst of the paid fields and perched on the banks of the River Ayung, a perfect, tranquil setting for a peaceful getaway.

The service is warm and friendly. The loyal staff are well trained and attentive to our every need. The spa is perfectly situated just next to the river and the spa therapists are also well trained. A visit to the spa is a must at Villa Semana.

The breakfast is sumptuous and all dishes are well presented

Finally, our visit is never complete without a chat with its owner, Jurg Suter, who is ever ready with a suggestion of where to go and to do in Bali.

A visit to Villa Semana in Ubud, is like coming home for us! We'll of course be back again next year.

Christine


Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Chrisgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We came to Villa Semana again to spend some time in the unspoiled beauty of the natural location. The hotel serves you in a soft and unmannered luxury. The experienced hand of the hotelmanagement gives you certainty and reliance: you have arrived in a recluse where relaxing and well treatment is offered at its best. Be it the cool and perfumed flannel you are given as a welcome and before entering the facility, the friendly escort to your villa or the excellency of the dishes in an absolutely romantic setting. It is the place to give your body and mind a treat and to come again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ildegarda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

On a recent holiday to Bali, Indonesia, I visited the John Hardy Workshop. John Hardy is a well known jeweller whose jewellery is sold in high end stores. After visiting his workshop (by appointment only), we stopped at nearby Villa Semana for lunch and a tour of the hotel and grounds.

It was amazing! The design of the buildings, the gardens, the location and the service were all superb. I felt like I was in a movie.

We had lunch in the open air dining pavilion. The food was very good and the menu had a selection of different types of food (local, Western, Asian), so there was something for everyone. A glass of perfectly chilled white wine started the meal and a perfect expresso finished it. We then visited the guest villas. Each "room" is a private villa with a garden area and a plunge pool. The villas were thoughtfully appointed. Again, it looked like something out of a movie. Some of the villas over look the winding river. One villa was a two storey building with the main bedroom upstairs and a wonderful view. Then we went through the garden and down to the river and the spa. The spa was another outdoor pavilion with a separate massage area, an area for manicures and pedicures, plus a wonderful outdoor soaker tub by the river. Words don't do just to how beautiful the hotel, its facilities and location were. The staff were attentive, but not obtrusive and the hotel is run by a very efficient and courteous Swiss man, Jurg.

I loved my all to short visit and am planning on returning and including a stay at Villa Semana.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My daughter, husband and I have just come back after our second stay at Villa Semana. And nothing seems to have changed. The place is beautiful, the staff great and the surroundings just so peaceful. We stayed at the same villa, Khamboja, that we stayed in the last time and we just fell in love with it all over again. Old faces such as Poni, Swastika, Dewa, Adi and several others were there to make our stay comfortable. Also, Ngurah who drove us around a couple of times is a great addition to the staff. Of course the manager Ayu was her efficient self. My family and I always enjoyed the lovely and insightful conversations full of interesting tales by the owner Jorg Suter. He is also the best person to guide you whether you want to eat and drink, visit places or do some physical activity. Thanks to all of you for making our second stay just as memorable as the first. And yes, we will try and return at the first possible opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ParagliderBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this peaceful, wonderful place a few times. Views, food, spa treatments and services can not be better and are consistent since many years! This in Ubud, which has changed a lot over the past years and where romantic tranquility has become scarce. For the ultimate feeling book villa cempaka, a two story suite with unbeatable views and atmosphere. Almost to nice to be true!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#30 of 199 in Ubud
649 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.5 mi away
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.9 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#98 of 199 in Ubud
154 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#54 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#61 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $146 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing