We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Authenticity, Elegance, Serenity & Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #49 of 183 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authenticity, Elegance, Serenity & Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

An incredibly wonderful experience ... Fine attention to detail in rendering an authentically Balinese atmosphere. The room was immaculate and the staff splendidly warm, genuine and attentive. A special commendation must also go to the Owner/General Manager, Jurg Suter, whose meticulous customer service levels raised the bar for us irreversibly! Utterly charming visit! We shall return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DineshSenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    93
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
528
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

A very special place, fantastic attention to detail, and a continuously personal note.
Highlights of my stay were a massage at the spa overlooking the magical river which was one of the best massages I have had, and several yoga classes with Lily, a most insightful yoga teacher!
Impatient to go back already!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had three nights at Villa Semana staying in the Kamboja residence. As a family of four with my wife and two children aged 17 and 12 we differed from the usual couples demographic that provides consistent praise through Trip Advisor. That said we did not at any stage feel out of place would thoroughly recommend Villa Semana to families with older children. Some of the highlights were:
Our villa - comprised a king sized bed on the ground floor and a queen upstairs. The is a beautiful bathroom with outdoor shower downstairs and a small ensuite upstairs. The arrangement gives ample privacy to all. Outside there was a private pool and sun lounges allowing us the option of private swimming if we did not feel like using the main pool.
The personal touch. Within 30 minutes of arriving we were greeted by name by staff in the restaurant. Immediately staff took the trouble to learn all our names and use them in greeting us on our many visits to dine. Full marks to Swastika, the head waiter, who did this so well in addition to providing us with immaculate service. In taking our personal details when we checked in staff noticed that our eldest son was celebrating his birthday during our visit. He was greeted at breakfast by wishes of "happy birthday" and later, in the afternoon, three staff delivered a cake to our villa singing happy birthday to him. We had not said a word about his birthday - it was entirely at the instigation of the staff.
The location. Whilst the villas are 15m or so out of Ubud the shuttle service is excellent. The drop off/ pick up point is in central Ubud allowing plenty of flexibility. It runs like clockwork. The actual location of the villas, overlooking the Agung River and rice fields is just so idyllic that it is difficult to describe to adequately do justice to its beauty. We spent many an hour just soaking up the views and truly relaxing.
The food. We dined at the restaurant once at night, twice for lunch and fore each of our three breakfasts. It is was not unusual to be the only guests dining but this only added to the intimacy and personal attention that we received. Breakfasts had a good range of fresh fruits and cooked dishes and none of these disappointed. The same could be said of the lunches and dinner. All that we ate was beautifully fresh, well cooked and skilfully presented. A nice touch was the afternoon tea that is served every afternoon.
There is so much more that I could say and again without really giving villa Semana true justice. It was a wonderful start to our Bali trip and one that will give us memories that we will cherish for ever.

Room Tip: Villa Kamboja has a beautiful outlook with its own private pool and very suitable for a family with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snorlaxxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Villa Semana by far is the best hotel I have stayed in on my travels and i have traveled to over 15 different countries worldwide!!!
The scenery is breathtaking, the food is organic and amazing and the staff are so friendly and helpful with anything you need. I would wake up each morning looking forward to the breakfast and I have never stayed in a hotel looking forward to breakfast like I did with Villa Semana. They will individually cook for you whatever is on the menu, Eggs Benedict, Croque Monsieur, Croque Madam!!
My husband and I were enjoying our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a better setting to enjoy it in.
I am already thinking of when I can go back there next and longing to be in this Villa!!
Anyone thinking of staying in Ubud this is definitely the place to stay nestled among the rice fields it is truly exquisite!

Room Tip: I would suggest before you book to email the staff at Villa Semana as they are very helpful and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

My newly wedded wife and I booked s 4 day stay in Villa Semana as we were heard it was a quaint yet classy place to stay. That was exactly what we got and more.
Villa Semana is run by the former GM of Shang Ri La Singapore and it shows. The attention to detail is second to none, and at times surpassing establishments such as the Ritz and Movenpick. The service staff were all warm and helpful and the owner makes you feel right at home with his warm and approachable demeanor.
The hidden gem I feel, however lies in the food: The taste and quality are exceptional!! My wife and I frequent well known restaurants in Singapore but this place kept us in the hotel premises as even the local food at times pale in comparison with that served in villa Semana. It's a wonder not more people frequent the place if only to try the food. A truly heavenly place to stay and definitely worth coming back on a yearly basis!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MuhdImran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our honeymoon stay at Villa Semana was flawless and made truly special and personal by attentive staffs, and insightful conversations with the owner. 3 nights at Villa Semana was just too short and it made us promise to return and request a stay at Cempaka Villa. The service was prompt and efficient, and was not the least bit intruding. We could really not ask for more. The food prepared by the chef was awesome and ingredients used were fresh and meticulously picked. We tried almost everything on the menu and it never disappointed us once. It was truly an wholesome experience which we could not get enough of... From the meals, spa, room service, personalised treatment from the owner and staff... Villa Semana is a sanctuary not to be missed!

Room Tip: We stayed in Alamanda which overlooked the Ayung River... A beautiful sight to wake up to and have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelholic_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Villa Semana wonderfully met my expectations. The villa was beautiful. Maid service occurred twice daily. It was such a pleasure showering in the outside shower. The gardens of the hotel were meticulously maintained. I enjoyed relaxing by the river watching birds, butterflies & dragonflies, and locals doing laundry in the river. A short drive to Ubud from the hotel; a shuttle is available to travel there. Easy to go to Ubud for a meal or shopping. The hotel arranged a batik class at the museum and the Bali Bird Walk-highly recommended! The only bummer of my trip was a severe sunburn... No fault of the hotel. Just a caution as the sun is brutal. Stay at Villa Semana. You will be happy that you did.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artsandcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.7 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#23 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#25 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#33 of 183 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Property: Villa Semana
Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#41 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#44 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing