We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little bit of Heaven!”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #67 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little bit of Heaven!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Villa Semana at the end of June 2012. It was absolutely gorgeous! We had the 2 bedroom Kamboja villa as we were four for two nights. This overlooks the river and valley with the river noises lulling you to sleep. A real bonus for us was not having a huge TV taking up half the room - refreshing! The gardens are beautiful and I just loved the tasteful simplicity of it all. Nothing was overdone yet everything was beautiful. The restaurant setting and food were perfect and the staff were so helpful and friendly but discreet. The perfect spot was sitting on the 'look out' seat sipping a pre dinner drink as the sun goes down with the palm trees and lush forest to look out on and the sound of happy children playing on the river somewhere - just delicious! I will definitely be recommending this to friends as it was recommended to us and we hope to return one day in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkic646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    94
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
536
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Villa Semana is the perfect location for a special event as well as a hotel.

The cozy dining room location over the infinity pool, river and jungle view is stunning. The feeling is of relaxed luxury in outdoor setting surrounded by gardens rich with exotic tropical flowers.

I chose it to celebrate a friends birthday and from now on will choose Villa Semana for all my special events. It could not have been better. The food was superb including western and Balinese traditional appetizers and the best gnocci in Bali (Little Italian potato pasta treats with white truffle oil). The wine flowed and the chef made a special, beautifully decorated cake. The service is attentive, friendly and not intrusive.
I am always looking for a place to celebrate birthdays, weddings, anniversaries etc. From now on Villa Semana will be the place. They can be counted on to make any event very special.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vixtori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in the Villa Semana for 3 nights in June 2012. The location is in tranquil and beautiful Ubud, about 10 minutes outside of the town. The villa was great - even though we had one of the smaller places, the quality was remarkable. All of the furniture, from the doors to floors were had an amazing rustic feel. Everything was extremely clean. The outdoor shower was a unique feature as was the private plunge pool! The location was extremely relaxing... at night I saw more stars than I have in years. We spoke to the owner of the hotel at length during breakfast (which was included), and he went out of his way to give us recommendations of what to do and where to eat in the surrounding area. Also, the staff was as pleasant as can be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at Villa Semana for two weeks - the staff are all excellent, the food is wonderful and the setting is a little piece of heaven. We were lucky enough to be ugraded and enjoyed the Villa Cempaka very much (overlooking the river). The whole villa area is so peaceful and private. We spoke with the owner, Jurg, most days, and he was extremely helpful in arranging a day trip to 'SeaWalker' in Sanur, and a full day trip to see various Temples, the Volcano and rice paddy fields. We would certainly recommend stayingat Villa Semana to all of our friends. It is kept immaculate by the impressive staff, and the grounds are beautiful. During our stay it was my birthday and Jurg and the staff surprised me with a delicious chocolate birthday cake, complete with candles, and they all sang Happy Birthday - a really memorable occasion.

Room Tip: We originally chose a Rice Paddy view, but were upgraded and had a river view - which on reflection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Metroone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Ours was the honeymoon package for 4 days in Villa Semana. We had already read rave reviews about the property on trip advisor, but staying there was an absolutely amazing experience. Villa Semana is a beautiful place, located amidst paddy fields and a river on one side, totally secluded from the hustle of a city..
Warmly received at the airport, we were driven to the villa to be greeted by a whole bunch of friendly, warm and polite staff. We were cordially taken to our villa, Villa Vanda.. The moment we entered the villa, we were simply in awe of the place.. The doors open to a private space to you with no disturbance, an open air seating area and a private plunge pool overlooking the paddy fields. The bedroom was nothing less, decorated beautifully to welcome a honeymoon couple. The bathroom and the outside shower were superb. The detailing in this villa was impeccable. A surprise feature was the music system with speakers all around the villa. There were all the elements of a romantic setting, that a couple could ask for.. Cherry on the cake being a complimentary bottle of rose wine..
The spa is another area where this hotel scores well.. A three hour spa session in nature’s lap is simply out of this world and a ‘must do’ recommendation. It was on our way to the spa that we saw the double storey, Villa Kamboj. A simple request to upgrade us to the double storey villa with a river view was promptly accepted and the by the time we were back from the spa, our stuff had been shifted to the new villa, and so amazing is their service, that even minor things like the camera or the laptop charger cords were neatly wrapped!!
My husband is not fond of dark chocolate, and these guys took a note of it and started offering us both dark and milk chocolate with the evening tea. Our new villa had an amazing view overlooking the swift Agung river and a beautiful paddy field on one side. The overall vibe was scenic, picturesque and relaxing.

Our honeymoon was a special trip, but it would not have been this great if it was not Villa Semana. We’d like to come back to this place whenever we go to Bali. It is on our list of must visits for a romantic holiday.

Room Tip: Villas with a view of the river are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kapi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We came to Ubud after our Thailand leg of the trip for a bit of relaxing after some intense touring, and I'm very glad we chose Villa Semana. The scenery is so amazing and the grounds so beautifully maintained. We couldn't believe how immaculate everything was kept, from the gardens and koi pond to the little details such as Balinese statues lit by candles. The river views, and deck below were some of our favorite places at Villa Semana. Theres nothing more relaxing than sitting by the river and having a drink, or reading a book. We loved our villa with the outdoor shower and private pool, lots of space and room. The calm and peace that we felt here was exactly what we needed, and was highlight of our trip. The restaurant served some amazing food, with some favorites we had = banana crepes, papaya juice, and caprese salads. The shuttle that took us to Ubud town was extremely helpful getting around. The staff knew our names, and treated us like we were family. In fact, the staff of Villa Semana is the best thing about this hotel, truly amazing in every way. Although I'm sure the place was booked, we never felt overlooked or unimportant here. Furthermore, Jurg gave us great advice and helped personalize the trip for us throughout our stay. Riding bikes through the rice fields and Ubud villages were one of the biggest highlights of our trip. We will stay here again the next time we go back to Bali, which will hopefully be sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garbage1983805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Villa's are beautifully appointed.
The service personalized, warm and welcoming.
The food was superb.
What else could one ask for......
Only downfall is that our 2-nights went by so quickly.
Look forward to returning in the near future, a very special place indeed.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#30 of 198 in Ubud
604 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#77 of 198 in Ubud
355 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#26 of 198 in Ubud
210 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#23 of 198 in Ubud
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Property: Villa Semana
Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#50 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#58 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing