We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, amazing service, amazing villas. Absolutely fantastic.”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #73 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We just left Villa Semana and will definitely be back. The staff, the food, the service and the villas were unforgettable. Semana is perfect for couples, but would also be great for families or groups of friends. The tours offered are some of the best in Bali and the guides are incredibly knowledgeable. The staff are some of the kindest and most helpful I have encountered in my stays in Bali. Of all the resorts I have stayed in in Bali this would definitely be the best. Pool Villa, Semana Harmony package at the spa and the walking tour in Ubud are highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondibeach2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 723 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

Bali has an image of beauty and serenity. Much of that is correct. Unfortunately in recent years "discovery" of the island has led to overbuilding, crowding and murderous traffic. Much of it is exciting, but to truly enjoy the experience of Bali, one must find a beautiful, serene corner which reflects all of the charm which Bali still possesses. That corner is without a doubt to be found at Villa Semana. Everything here fits well. From the custom designed villas, which are modern, but not too modern, to the wonderful, thoughtful and considerate staff, to the delicious food and above all to the glorious setting in a small valley over looking the river, with rice paddies on two sides. The hotel was designed perfectly for its setting, with lush vegetation and just the right sort of stone paths which lead you from building to building. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, but also distinctive, with refreshing private pools. . They could not be at a Four Seasons or whatever. They are local culture at its best. The Spa is delightful and outdoor massage above the river is enchanting. The The location is a 15 minute drive to Obud with a friendly and punctual shuttle service. Finishing one's stay at Villa Semana is never to want to leave. I have read most of the reviews and note that they are virtually all enthusiastic. The one or two which are not must be from people who do not understand the importance of taking part in a local culture. This hotel will not remind you of Miami Beach, and for good reason. It will give yo the complete Bali experience. There is no other option in Obud but this one.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fordson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed recently at Villa Semana for 3 nights for our 'babymoon' after having a negative experience with another villa close by. We were lucky enough that Semana had one villa still available last minute, and from the moment we arrived there, we couldn't have be happier. It is a gorgeous setting by the river, there is a feeling of peacefulness everywhere on the property. One of the main highlights of the place was the food, the chef was unbelievably talented, every meal was a delight visually and the flavours were incredible. The staff went out of their way to accommodate every request we may have, they truly understand how to look after their guests, nothing we asked for was too much for them. After often hearing 'sorry' at the 2 other places we had stayed at in Bali , where we had experienced many many misunderstanding and mistakes from staff, it was just so refreshing to see the high communication level by staff at Semana. Everything was done correctly the first time. I was also fortunate enough to have an incredible private yoga lesson on the deck next to the river which the resort arranges, the teacher is fabulous. The villa itself was nice. The villa pool was quite small, more of a plunge pool really with a little sun. We used the gorgeous main pool overlooking the river to relax by and swim laps which was ideal as we were the only ones doing so. We would highly recommend Villa Semana, and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustMarried4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed at the Villa Semana during the last 4 nights of our honeymoon and it was the perfect way to wind down our trip. It has a very relaxing, secluded feel to it that is unbelievably calming. Our room was wonderful with a view overlooking the river below. Private pool was nice, but it was totally covered and in the shade so I was never in for anything more than a quick dip. The main pool of the property is much bigger and will be better for all you sunbathers.

The standouts for me here were the SPA and the STAFF. Incredible spa setting right down the by the river which is second to none - you can literally feel your stress melting away. Since the property has such a small amount of villas, the entire staff has the ability to cater right to you. We signed up for the cooking class which is a 1-on-1 experience and it is run by the head chef. They even take you into the Ubud marketplace and tell you about all of the local foods that you will be cooking.

When we checked out on our final day, we weren't flying out until much later that night, they hooked us up with an amazing driver named Dedi who took us to several interesting spots around the island (temples, coffee fields, a few great places to grab a bite) and we had a blast talking and learning some more about Balinese culture.

Overall, a wonderfully romantic and relaxing spot with exceptional service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcote24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in a padi field villa and really enjoyed our time.

The villa, although small was quaint. It was impressively clean and it was fun to stay in something quite unique. With the padi field villas, the lounge area is open air, something I have not experienced before. The decor is traditional rather then modern however this I guess added to the charm of the place.

The only disappointment with the villa would be the size of the pool/garden area. It was rather small and definately looked bigger on the website. I would have loved to have seen a much larger garden area and maybe cushions on the sun lounges which would have encouraged us to relax around the pool. As mentioned, the pool is very small and cold so not really something you want to swim in.

What is really impressive are the gardens around the resort. They are beautifully maintained and the use of planting is fantastic. This really creates a magical, serene and special atmosphere. The public pool area although small, again is very pretty and offers a great view.

Also, how lucky is this resort with the location. As you enter the resort on the left, there is a pretty and expansive padifield which you can also see from your villa. However what is most impressive is the location on the river. You can walk right down to a deck on the river and sit on some chairs or a beautiful bale. This was heaven. I could have sat here all day. The spa is also located here and it is lovely to have a massage hearing the river bubbling below you.

If you can't decide between a river or padi villa, I would probably go with the padi view as you can always go down and sit next to the river if you want and this will provide you with a much better river view then what your villa will provide. I had a look at one of the river view villas as we were thinking of maybe changing to this for 1 night to experience the view but the one we were shown did not have a real view of the river (maybe others do) so we stayed in the padi view villa and as mentioned walked down to the river to enjoy this view.

Overall, a special, unique place to stay in Ubud.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank AnnaBenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We are a couple from China, we travelled a lot and Semana is definately one of the best hotels we have ever been, private and exculsive, except for breakfast or dinner time, you can hardly see other guests, give the feeling that the hotel is only for you :) The view is fantastic, and you can't miss the SPA right at the bank of the river, with the waterfall around, very relax, we tried traditional balinese message and Semanan message, both of them are very very good. The boss and the staffs are very friendly, in the end we received a gift from the hotel, we just feel perfect, and I put some photoes on my Sina Webo blog to share with my freinds, i strongly recommend my Chinese friends to come here.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Wanhaonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed in multiple cities while in Bali on our honeymoon. Villa Semana was the last and it made for a fabulous send off! Their spa is right on the river and hearing the river run while breathing in the fresh air during a massage is luxurious - a definite must do if you stay there. The staff (waiters, chef, drivers, owner, EVERYONE) was delightful and very happy to help. They had wonderful suggestions of sites to see and visit; we had something exciting to do every day and then we would return to our relaxing villa for the evening. The private pool is a great touch, though the water was a little cold for us. We did their cooking class with the executive chef, that was phenomenal - highly recommended. As for other food, the restaurant is great but it's a fairly small menu; we ordered the same things a few different days. It's small and quite and set in nature perfectly. A great place to relax after enjoying all that downtown Ubud has to offer during the day!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boston_abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#30 of 199 in Ubud
643 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.5 mi away
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.9 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#96 of 199 in Ubud
154 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#55 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#62 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $156 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing