We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury and amazing service”
Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Pondok Ayu has to be the most lovely hotel ive ever stayed in, the hotel itself only had a few rooms which makes it much more personal, and the pool and garden were just beautiful.

For the value the rooms are just awsome! they are huge and have everything you could possibly need, the manager of the hotel Gede and his family live on site and the most friendly family you could meet, they went out of their way to make our stay amazing and gede provided transport into and back from sanur at any time.

Sanur itself is packed with beachside restaurants, serving beautiful food and many allowing you to sit on the sand at a price u would pay for a takeaway in the uk!! Its a much quieter than bustling kuta but still has plenty to offer, we really enjoyed the orchid garden and we also met some friendly fishermen who took us out on their boat to do some snorkelling (would recommend you let them take u out because we tried to swim out ourselves and the tide dragged us out to sea!!)

Breakfast allowed us to mingle with other guests of all different nationalities, it was lovely and was cooked to order on site by the managers family.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.
Thank you to the owner and gede and his family for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwsjpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 424 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2009

We booked this hotel, by guidens of tripadvisor. Allways a risk, becouse we humans are so different inn what we like compared to location, service, staff, standard etc.

We have nothing to complain about, everything was almost perfect. (Nothing is perfect.. ) Thanks to all staff, for a wonderfull stay, and for giving us amasing week in Bali.

As soon as possible, we will be coming back.

BTW, Thanks all "Australian" who shared days with us at Pondok Ayu, you all are wonderfull people.

Brg
Ivan & Tom Erik
Norway

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We decided to stay at Pondok Ayu based on the good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not let down. The rooms were clean and spacious. The fresh flowers every day were a nice touch. However the stand out feature was the friendly service by Gede, Made and the rest of the staff. They really made it a special place to stay. We stayed for 2 weeks and 2 of our grown up kids came for a week for their 1st trip to Bali.

Breakfasts were great, eggs, bacon, pancakes, toast, fruit platter, toast..... The interesting feature is the communal dining table. You can have breakfast served in your room or by the pool if you want your privacy however sharing breakfast with the other guests in a small boutique hotel added to the friendly atmosphere as well as an informative sharing of information such as where the better restaurants were to be found. Made, Kadek and Putu's lunches were good too.... love that Nasi Goreng.

Pondok Ayu is situated on the residential side of Sanur. This was not a problem for us as Gede and Gusto provided free transport into Sanur. Transport requirements to other places were negotiated at very reasonable rates. Having been to Bali a few times we hired a motorcycle so getting around was no hassle.

All this and the very reasonable rates made for a great holiday.

Would we stay here again.... for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pedrobsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Just returned home after a wonderful 10 days at Pondok Ayu. This little hotel certainly lived up to the reviews on this website. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday in villa like surroundings, away from the hustle of the beach area, this is for you. The rooms are large, well furnished with a king size bed, plenty of storeage room, a large marble en-suite bathrooom with a full size bath, and spotlessly clean. The gardens and pool area are immaculate and the breakfast room which overlooks the pool, is a great innovation where guests sit at a large round table and share their experiences. Breakfast is by individual order (not buffet) with eggs to your preference, bacon, tomato and toast and a small fresh tropical fruit platter. The omelets are particularly good.

The walk to the beach and shopping area requires negotiating a couple of streets where smiling locals and schoolkids exchange greetings, then the "thrill" of crossing the By-Pass road. Wait patiently and go with the locals is the answer. We at 78 and 83 years respectively didn't have a problem, however, the hotel car is normally available free of charge in the Sanur area if walking is not your scene, and a taxi from the beach and shopping area back to Pondok costs about A$2.

The friendly, helpful staff of Gede, Mardi, Putu, Kadek, the new girl (sorry forgot your name), also the evening driver for your restaurant excursions, plus the pool and gardener men, make for a great holiday experience. Thank you all, especially the girls who presented me with a lovely chocolate birthday cake complete with candles and sang "Happy Birthday" on my patio.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BanoraPttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed with Gede, Made & staff for almost 3 weeks. The service and friendliness of the staff is better than staying in any 5 star hotel. The trudge to the beach did become our only complaint. I am not sure I would want to be crossing that road everyday with small children. When available Gede is more than happy to take you to the beach - however, you need to bear in mind that with one car and one driver this is not always an option - the guys will bend over backwards to help as much as possible.
Perfect accomodation for adults who are looking for a quiet, out of the way experience. There is no wi-fi, however Gede is currently investigating this - there are internet cafe's near the beach.
Will be back to stay - it seems to be getting very busy..lots of people coming and going - confirm your checkout time when you book.. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DockoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We absolutely loved this hotel. It's very small and has a private villa feel to it. The rooms are clean, modern and spacious. The staff work very hard to make you feel welcome. The hotel is in more of a residential area but this does not cause any problems, you have to cross a road to the restaurants and beach but it doesn't take too long to walk. The hotel will also drop you off and collect from the Sanur area free of charge.
Great value for money, would recommend without hesitation. Another tip, we found a great restaurant close to the hotel called Kayu Manis, it was our favorite in the Sanur area. The hotel staff will drop you off or give you directions.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Pondok Ayu is a real gem. This was reccomended to us after the villas we stayed in last were booked out. At first I was a bit concerned as it is the back streets of Sanur, but it really is an oasis. Gede, Made and their team of staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spotless, the facilities are great. We travelled with 2 kids 10 and 11, and they loved it. the pool was big enough for them and they made some friends outside in the laneway. I was worried that we would be too noisy but everyone was very nice and got on well. The breakfast supplied is fantastic. Gede or his staff would always be available if you needed to get to Sanur for shopping or eating. He also took us into Kuta for a small fee.
We loved the feeling of staying in a small villa, it was like home and will definately be returning some day soon.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JojoinBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 82 in Sanur
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel Sanur Bali
0.8 mi away
Maison Aurelia Sanur, Bali - by Preference
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 200 in Ubud
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#19 of 82 in Sanur
1,593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $34 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Winning Trip Advisor travellers' choice awards for 6 (2011-2017) consecutive years and the honour of being in their hall of fame, also a second best budget hotel in all of Asia makes Pondok Ayu Sanur Bali a perfect place for your next holiday. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done directly with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing