We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A five star retreat”
Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A five star retreat”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We find it hard to do justice to Pondok because it excels in everything.The place is immaculately clean, even the lawns get swept. All of the staff are wonderful and when you wake up they greet you with a beautiful Balinese smile and greeting, nothing is too much trouble. Five star hotels take note.
Barbara you have created something that you can be very proud of, We just hope we can get in when we return.
Thanks to everyone.
Phil and Sue Garner

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philipg844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb_Bennett, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello Philipg844, Thank you for staying with us at Pondok Ayu and so glad you enjoyed your stay, your kind words were really appreciated byt all our staff.

We welcome you back when ever you can.

Regards,
Gede Kartaya Manager and all STAFF AT PONDOK AYU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    43
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
127
178
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have just spent my second visit here and it was fantastic.Gede and his staff really go that extra mile to make their guests welcome and ensure their comfort.The hotel feels like a little oasis of calm in the middle of a busy town.The transport to town was much appreciated,as was the pool for relaxation.Again many thanks to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb_Bennett, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello again thanks heaps and so glad the return was just as good as the first time after coming such a long way to enjoy Pondok Ayu.

Regards,
Gede Kartaya & All Staff at Pondok Ayu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Point NSW Aust
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Into second week of staying at Pondok Ayu. Yet again Gede and his staff are tremendous hosts. This is our second time here at Pondok and the friendliness and professional service continues. Looking forward to the next week here at Pondok Ayu. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb_Bennett, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
So good to have you return to Pondok and we all hope to see you again another time.

Regards,
From Gede Kartaya and all Pondok Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just adding a confirmation to the mass of reviews already on here lauding this wonderful, charming place! We had the opportunity to spend 5 nights in the beautiful suite and it was just brilliant. The hosts and staff were fantastic and there were many little touches such as the turn down service that you would normally only see at much pricer places. The included value is just tremendous.

Due to my wife's mobility issues after breaking her foot in Bali, we were pretty much shut in to the hotel with our two young children, but for those 5 days, we wouldn't have traded it for any where else!

Some tips:

This is a small boutique hotel some distance from the beach and town. It's location, somewhat isolated from the touristy area, is a plus if you prefer a more tranquil setting. Both the beach and town can be accessed by foot within 15-20 or so minutes, even with kids. There are decent food options (both local and fast-food) even closer by on the By-pass Highway. The By-pass can be busy, but it is not impossible to negotiate. If you have kids, you can walk up to cross at the traffic lights near McDonald's which adds less than 100 metres to your journey. Also, the hotel has two cars available to transport you at no additional cost, pretty much anywhere in the Sanur area.

There is a mini-mart style supermarket about 2-3 minutes' walk from the hotel with reasonably priced snacks, drinks, and basic necessities.

DO get the suite - it is not all that much more in cost, and worth every penny (it is not an absolutely flawless 5 star standard - if you were especially keen eyed you might pick up a crack here and there - but it definitely conveys a sense of luxury though well under the commensurate price tag!) Book as early as possible!

DO take the option to have breakfast on the beach at Bennos, the restaurant associated with the hotel. Your hosts will give you a voucher to use and transport you there at your preferred time.

If you have children, DO ask for the cot and/or the pull out bed and the high chair and car seat to be made available for you - they will have everything set up before you arrive.

If you have the suite and want to enjoy the large, deep bath, DO leave plenty of time to fill it up and you will have to supplement the hot water by boiling the kettle available in the room at least a few times. This is the only minor 'inconvenience' we encountered.

Thank you to everyone at Pondok Ayu... my family was going through a trying time with my wife's injury (which has now turned out to be much more serious even than we had thought when with you), but you helped make our stay there thoroughly enjoyable - even being kind enough to remember our wedding anniversary with a beautiful gift of flowers! We hope to see you again one day...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaylo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb_Bennett, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We appreciate your great comments and appreciate your time at such a busy time for you and your wife but hope by now things are much better. Look forward to have you stay for another celebration.

From The Management and all the staff at Pondok Ayu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had a fabulous stay in this delightful little sanctuary. The staff were all brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. Transport into town was a big bonus. Would definately recommend to others. Pool and garden were delightful. Special thanks to all the staff for making us feel so special

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Over50OverSeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb_Bennett, Owner at Pondok Ayu, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
From the management and staff thank you for your time in putting your comment on tripadvisor and glad we could make your stay easier with out transport.

From Gede Manager and all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I've just returned from a trip to Bali and Pondok Ayu. This was my 3rd visit to Pondok and my 4th trip to Bali. Thanks to Gede & Mede for their fabulous service and attention. Nothing's too much trouble as Gede's taxi's us all around Sanur (all included in the price I might add). The place is spotless and very well maintained. It's just a 'special space' that I'm already missing. It's my little piece of paradise! Can't wait to return in August. Love Benno's Cafe on the beach owned by the same people as Pondok. Great food! I highly recommend a stay at Pondok.

Room Tip: From what I've seen, they all just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyhAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb_Bennett, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
To Judy H On behave off all our staff we would like to thank you for your comments regarding Pondok Ayu.

It has been our pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to the next time.

Regards,
Gede Kataya Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We would like to thank Barb and her team for arranging the beautiful flowers and cake for our daughter who has just spent 3 nights staying at the Ponduk Ayu for her 21st Birthday.
She was so surprised and thrilled with them.
Nothing was a problem and we found their team to be extremely accommodating, friendly and the facilities were top class.
We want to thank you Barb and your team for making our daughters stay a happy and memorable experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank warrenjog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb_Bennett, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you it was a pleasure for us all at Pondok Ayu to be able to add to the celebration of your daughters 21st.

Manager Gede Kataya and all staff at Pondok Ayu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 78 in Sanur
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
516 reviews
1.5 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.6 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Property: Pondok Ayu
Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Winning Trip Advisor travellers' choice awards for 5 (2011-2016) consecutive years and the honour of being in their hall of fame, also a second best budget hotel in all of Asia makes Pondok Ayu Sanur Bali a perfect place for your next holiday. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done directly with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing