We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Wow! Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow! Wow! Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

What a wonderful place to say. It's hard to know where to start - this small hotel is nothing short of amazing. We stayed 5 nights in the Suite, beautiful and spacious with everything you could wish for in comfort. The staff at this place are the icing on the cake - beautiful, gentle people who can't do enough for you, and always with a smile. Gede, Made, and the rest of the staff take this place to another level.
It was lovely to meet fellow guests from other countries around the breakfast table each morning - very relaxed and just like home. There
are limited Lunch & Dinner options for the days you don't want to leave the comfort of Pondok Ayu. 6 Stars!! We hope to return next year [if there's a room!]

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casscats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    42
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
125
174
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

First time at Pondok Ayu, we had high expectations on arrival after reading all the positive feedback online and it exceeded our expectations. Traveling with two children, the suite was awesome, lots of room, stunning marble floors and a great place to relax. Although the Pondok is very nice the staff make it. They are very warm and helpful and make you feel part of the Pondok family. Would have to be the best accommodation I have stayed at in Sanur and although on the other side of the by pass is still only 10 - 15 mins walk to the heart of Sanur and if you don't feel like walking their friendly Driver will drop you off and pick you up. Couldn't fault the Pondok at all and is a credit to the staff and owners. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

this is my second home and what a treasure it is with great grounds and great pool and such lovely,friendly staff that go out there way to help you above and beyond the call of duty. Also close to all that is going on and set amongst the local community . Thanks Barb and Steve you are on a winner there well done to you and your great staff they make your stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: the best kept secret but too many people now know about this great place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Islandimports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

After staying here in 2005 we returned for the 2013 trip and stayed seven nights.
Still the same great boutique hotel, wonderful staff (particularly Made, Wayan and driver Degus).
Really enjoyed Sanur and Pondok again - much better than the east side! It's very quite and the main street has the best restaurants!

Room Tip: There's only five rooms, and they're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane_Paul_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have now stayed at Pondok Ayu four times and are booked to go back in December because we haven't found anywhere better to stay in the Sanur area. The staff are unbelievably friendly, attentive and so eager to help. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and private, the food is excellent and it would be hard to find better value for money. Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms on the ground floor and 2 rooms above via stairs. The suite is on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in Bali and we can say that Pondok Ayu was truly one of the best hotel we have stayed at. It can certainly compete with 5 star resorts like Kupu Kupu Barong and Royal Beach Seminyak Hotel and we think it is even better than the renowned 5 star Pita Maha Resort.

The attentive staff of Pondok Ayu (Gede, Kadek and the girls) makes all the difference: from turning on the air-conditioning in the living room in the morning while you are still asleep, preparing breakfast at any chosen time to closing the blinds in the evening and turning on the air-conditioning in the bedroom while you are eating out. Transfer from and to the airport is not a problem at all and is included in the price. Moreover, the price of the villas is very good: great value for money. All in all, Pondok Ayu is a fantastic hotel with impeccable staff. The only regret we have is that we did not stay longer at Pondok Ayu.

We will certainly come back if we are going to Bali again.

Room Tip: Villa no. 5 (I think the biggest villa) is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrLee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying at Pondok Ayu three times so far. Our most recent visit was in March 2013.

This is one of those rare, special places that has become, for us, synonymous with Bali. The staff and owners have the gift of hospitality. On arrival, we feel truly welcomed and know that we are in good hands. There is no better way to begin a vacation.

The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean, as is the bathroom. The location is in a residential neighbourhood at the end of a short lane, so it’s quiet and devoid of other tourists. The gardens, pool, and grounds are immaculately tended.

Breakfast starts at 7:00 around a large round table. At first, being not a particulary outgoing type of person (and especially not in the morning), I didn’t know if I would like the experience of having breakfast with other people I’d never met. Because the atmosphere is so casual, breakfast turned out to be an enjoyable time and we’ve met many nice people sitting around that table. And speaking of breakfast, always freshly made to order by Putu, Made, Wayan, or Kadek and served with a smile.

We enjoy early morning walks around the neighbourhood or down to the beach when it’s quiet. The beach is about a 15 minute walk Although we have to cross the busy bypass road to get to the beach or to the shopping areas of Sanur it has never been a problem for us. We just take our time and wait for a break in the traffic. Of course, if we’re feeling a bit lazy or hot, Gede is always there to cheerfully take us where we want to go.

On our last visit we were fortunate enough to share the time at Pondok Ayu with the owners, Barb and Steve, and their son, Mick. A delightful family, and the warm relationship between them and the staff is evident, obviously this is the base for the feeling that permeates this small hotel.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms -- all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RIchard-Tyea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.6 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#12 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
0.5 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#2 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Property: Pondok Ayu
Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done direct with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing