We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievably good”
Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

we were so happy with the fantastic service and more than luxury rooms .large and so comfortable-the staff are so helpful and so very efficient ,all you have to do is request and its done -so good have been back one day and have already booked for next year,prices more than reasonable- we had a great time cant say enough about the friendly atmosphere- all so easy
fantastic

Room Tip: all rooms are good , no noise ,all have fridge a/c and comfort to the 10th degree
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dyral m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 419 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just got back from 10 days at Pondok Ayu. Made and Gede and all the staff are warm, friendly, happy and are a strong part of the Pondok family who provide a very personal service to their guests. Breakfast each morning was beautiful with the opportunity to catch up with other guests and chat about shopping, attractions and local restaurants. The pool was well maintained and many a day was spent lazing by the pool with a good book. Our room was great and we spent the last night in the villa which made our trip even more special. Prior to leaving every staff member came and saw us individually to say goodbye and wish us well. This truly demonstrated the kindness of the staff and the pride they have in their work. Barbara made the bookinig process easy and was ready to answer any questions I had prior to leaving Australia. My next email is to Barbara to book for next year. See you all next year

Room Tip: Room 4 was pefect but nothing would beat the villa if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Longy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stumbled across Pondok Ayu by mistake on Trip Advisor when looking for something a little different, read the reviews and thought WOW we need to try this place, so after inquriy with Barbara who was very quick and easy to deal with we booked for 3 nights as this was all that was available - but 3 nights wa better than none we just had to stay there.

We arrived at the airport and i text Gede (Barbara gave us his number to assist in locating each other which trust me helped!) He promptly replied an we found each other. Lovely airconditioned ride through the craziness of bali that we have come to love, with lovely chats with Gede the driver!

We stayed in one of the two 2nd level rooms which was lovely with aircon, king size bed, roomy bathroom the best room would be one on the groud level, but we are not complaining.

Its hard to put into words what is special about this place, we have been to bali many times and Pondok was Perfect.

There attentitiveness of every single staff member was amazing, You have breakfast included and you have this at a dining table where all guests eat if they choose, its nice to chat to others staying there and somthing that you dont get at a bigger establishment. If you needed to be dropped off anywhere Ngangah and Gede were at the ready it was no problem.
I left our washing one morning on the bed in a bag and that afternoon to my surprise it was delievered back all washed and ironed for a very small fee pretty much the same as one of the street laundrys (normal hotels etc charge hugely for this so i must admit i was a little worried)
The pool area is lovely, everything is lovely i could go on and on but i wont all i can say is Try it! Value for money AMAZING!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ABMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I enjoyed my return visit to Pondok Ayu, lovely staff, well appointed rooms and relaxing environment. However, one small drawback with this establishment is the lack of a bathroom facility for guests who are required to checkout at 12.00 pm and wait around for hours for their flight home. This happened to me recently, although I had booked over 12 months ago and requested a late checkout as my flight was not leaving until midnight. I understand in the high season rooms are at a premium, but the comfort of guests should also be a priority.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaliHaiBrightonSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was our first experience, coming to Bali. We were picked up at the airport by Gede and taken to this lovely little boutique hotel. Because of timing, our first night was spent in the lavish family apartment, which was absolutely astonishing. The rest of our stay was spent in one of the two upper rooms, with a nice view of the pool area.

The hotel itself is located on the opposite side of the heavily trafficked bypass. Being our first experience in Bali, this was a little daunting, as the traffic simply is insane. After a while, you do get used to it, and become more comfortable, waving people to stop and let you pass, but it is scary at first. On the plus side, you cannot hear the traffic from anywhere in the hotel, and the walk to the beachfront is only 10 minutes at most.

Enough cannot be said of the kindness of the staff - our every need was catered to with a smile, and everybody was always willing to help. Quite a contrast to the service level usually found in europe :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Had a fantastic time for our stay, we really couldn't have asked for more from the attentive staff. No places we have previously stayed at offer personal service at a great price. From Gede picking us up at the airport, Noongar dropping us to dinner each night and Made, Putu, Kadek and Wyann looking after us for breakfast and most lunches, we appreciated it all. The room was clean, comfortable and a good size. We also enjoyed the services offered on site- massages, facials, manicures and pedicures. We especially loved the pool and spent a lot of time there. The hotel is located In a quiet neighborhood, which suited us fine and gave us a chance to interact with some of the locals, we'd love to be back someday.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JWJLMLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

After a VERY long flight from Canada we were picked up at the airport by Gede and taken to the hotel. We had the large family room - it was amazing! A large sitting rooom where they put the queen mattress for our two children, a huge master bedroom, walk-in closet and large shower and bathtub that overlooked the private garden. It was spacious, clean and beautiful. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent and several evenings we stayed at the hotel for dinner as we were too jet-lagged to go into town for dinner. The service was a little slow as there was only one staff cooking - but it was definitely worth the weight. The pool was clean and refreshing and we all enjoyed it. As it is a small hotel we met our neighbors which added to the experience. I would recommend this quiet, clean, friendly hotel to all families. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Large family room is the best room at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 74Colleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#7 of 78 in Sanur
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#9 of 78 in Sanur
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Maison Aurelia Sanur, Bali - by Preference
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
1.6 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#17 of 78 in Sanur
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $69 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Winning Trip Advisor travellers' choice awards for 6 (2011-2017) consecutive years and the honour of being in their hall of fame, also a second best budget hotel in all of Asia makes Pondok Ayu Sanur Bali a perfect place for your next holiday. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done directly with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing