We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Pondok”
Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a beautiful 10 days at this wonderful small boutique hotel. So pleasant, clean and comfortable with fabulous staff and service. Very reasonably priced. We took our 8 year old daughter and went with another family with two kids, what a perfect setup! The kids could splash around in the small pool while the parents lounged around. The rooms were a good size and very pleasant and clean. Not right on the beach but a pleasant walk through the suburb, past assorted shops and restaurants. So much nicer than busy Kuta/Legian. We will definately be back. Thanks to Gede, Made and staff for your wonderful service and hospitality. Lisa x

Room Tip: The large villa (with family room) is a little more but would be worth it for a bigger family or tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paramau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 424 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

Excellent choice for a stay in Sanur. Large rooms. Excellent service. We loved the communal breakfast area. Gives you a chance to communicate w/ other hotel guests.
Hard to get a reservation since it is a small hotel but I felt that the staff went out of there way to make it happen. Thanks to them for that.
The hotel is a little out of the way from the commercial area which has some advantages (quiet nights) and some inconvenience (having to cross the by-pass road being the worse)
I would also recommend Sanur to any Bali visitor. cool vibe here. Not as frantic as Kuta or Seminyak but more soulful than Nusa Dua. Good food, excellent shopping. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay in Sanur. Stay At Pondok Ayu
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThierryRoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We chose to stay at Pondok Ayu after reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor. Needless to say we weren't disappointed! It is only a small hotel, however that means the staff have more time to dedicate to looking after the guests.

The rooms themselves are exceptionally clean and well serviced and equipped with everything you could require. The pool area was a private little oasis in the Sanur suburbs, much better than trying to swim in the surf.

Breakfast each day was delicious, and actually filled me up! Great selection, and enjoyed the company and conversation of the other morning guests

It is a little away from the beach/main shopping stretch, however we loved that. By arrangement with Gede or staff you could get a lift, but we enjoyed the walk. We did however line up some trips for dinner and eventually to the airport. It was the final stop on our holiday, and we couldn't have wished for any more.

We can honestly say that we will be back :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KecilScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here again in November 2011. Its awesome, staff are beautiful and the rooms are lovely! 20min walk to the beach or 2 to 3 bux in a taxi! Made and Gede are the lovely couple who run this place for a Aussie couple, both are wonderful. I love that it is oin the burbs and so peaceful. Corner shop 1 min walk and taxis are so cheap its crazy. Gede or a driver will take you anywhere in Sanur if they are free and if you like they will take you for day trips or to say Jimbaren Bay (seafood on the beach huts) and wait for you and take you home for a great price. Cant talk this place up enough am going back this year if I can get in lol!

Ps breakie is included and u can eat at their place Bennos on the beach or at your hotel.

Room Tip: Either upstairs or in the owners room, it costs a bit more, bout 20 bux a night more i think, but ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachaeldoesbette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Very stylish hotel. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. All the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating of my needs.

Mede and Gede went out of their way to help me, including cooking breakfast and dinners, arranging things to do, and pick up and drop off from airport.

The hotel is in the heart of Sanur. Walk to shops, restaurants and the beach. And of course, breakfast or dinner on the beach at Benno's.

I highly recommend Pondok Ayu as a great place to relax and enjoy your Bali holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkr555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I was impressed with Pondok Ayu when I read about it on TripAdisor biut not half as impressed as I was when I stayed for 5 nights. It may be small, 5 rooms only, but the rooms are great and are always clean and well equipped and the suite is to die for - fabulous! The staff were ever so friendly and attentive and couldn't have been more helpful. The drive in at night is a bit different but don't be put off - the hotel is in a really friendly village type environment and it really is only 10-15 minutes walk to the beach and great cafes and restaurants. They are more than happy to drive you to restaurants or the beach and pick you up afterwards but I find I just didn't need to. Relaxing - was it ever - I came home revitalised and I will definitely be going back and it will be sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: don't worry about it they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

we stayed here 4 nights and the staff were very friendly and helpful; we appreciated the free shuttle to the beach and into town; they even picked you up at the restaurant in the evening

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1 and we loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RVMBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 82 in Sanur
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel Sanur Bali
0.8 mi away
Maison Aurelia Sanur, Bali - by Preference
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 200 in Ubud
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#19 of 82 in Sanur
1,593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $34 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Winning Trip Advisor travellers' choice awards for 6 (2011-2017) consecutive years and the honour of being in their hall of fame, also a second best budget hotel in all of Asia makes Pondok Ayu Sanur Bali a perfect place for your next holiday. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done directly with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing