We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

The reason for my trip to Bali (first time ever) was a little family reunion.
While the rest of the family were staying at the more "touristy" places along the beach, I opted for a more quiet place, and did some "Googling". The choice fell on "Pondok Ayu", which was a very fortunate decision. Unfortunately my stay there was way too short, from the 3rd. till the 5th. of September 2011.
Pondok Ayu is a very nice, quiet place, friendly professional staff, and I will be back there for sure!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ventje-Andre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    42
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
124
173
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Just having arrived in Bali, I spent the first two nights in Pondok Ayu. This small, wonderful place is certainly worth every penny. The room was nice, breakfast lovely and the staff most welcoming and attentive. I also felt completely safe on my own. If you want a glimpse of local life, It´s a nice little walk into the centre of Sanur. This definitely the place to stay if you like to be a little outside of the hustle and bustle of things.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HanneG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Just back from Bali with 5 nights at Pondok. Gede, Made, Wayan and the rest of the Pondok team made our stay perfect. We stayed with our 2 kids in a room with a mattress on the floor. For the 5 nights we coped just fine. We booked Gede for a day trip to Ubud which we thoroughly enjoyed. A hint Gede loves Babe Guling! Delicious!!! Being away from the main beach strip was fine as along the short walk we saw the school kids at the local school and enjoyed seeing the Balinese going about there every day lives. Made minded our kids for 2 nights when we had some time out. She is lovely with the kids. We booked a couple of cheap massages and manicures directly at Pondok that did not disappoint. The children living in the nearby lane came out to play one afternoon with our kids which was wonderful to see. Pondok was a lovely low key intimate accommodation, which we greatly preferred to our next stop in Nusa Dua. Thanks Barbara and Steve we hope you will have us back soon.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Engadinemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Easy going and relaxed place to stay. Staff are friendly and at breakfast you dine at one table with other guests - we met some wonderful people!

Thankyou for a comfortable stay which was great value for money!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Remyandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

i was quite curious to see this property after having gone through the glowing reviews... the place, service and staff did not disappoint at all..infact teh attention to detail and the warmth extended by the management are quite remarkable and are an example for the bigger chains..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We did our research before heading back to Sanur this year for a boutique, friendly and beautiful accomodation. We were certainly not disappointed.

We were planning our wedding and booked the place for our family and friends. Arrival drinks, friendly staff that remember all guests names, and rooms/bathrooms in great condition. There was nothing staff couldn't do for us and they were there when we needed them and instinctively unobtrusive when we wanted privacy.

Pondok staff helped make the wedding a success with a special effort to make the pool and surrounds sparkle for the special day. Thanks for the huge bouquet of flowers in our room!!!

Pondok by far and away desereves No. 1 rating!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

There are many reasons that this little place is consistently at number one on trip advisor and it is well deserved. We were lucky enough to find this beautiful hotel on our first trip to Bali and we have been coming back ever since. We felt like we were coming home to our second family as Gede greeted us at the airport with that big smile and it was hugs all round from the rest of the gorgeous staff when we arrived at the hotel.

It's all been said before on other reviews about why this place is so good so I thought I would touch on some of the little details which we really appreciate. Each evening the curtains are drawn and a lolly placed on each pillow which is really nice (and the kids love it). There are always fresh flowers in the rooms and the sheets smell so fresh. The gardener and the pool man are there each day tending to their duties with a smile and always stop for a chat. Each night Gede or another driver will take you to dinner then pick you up again afterwards. Oh and the king size beds are really comfortable. This place is only small with 5 rooms which is great when you have young children. It's also nice to get to know other guests around the communal breakfast table and get some travel hints.

We look forward to staying here again next year. Thank you Barb and Steve, Gede, Made and all the other beautiful staff. We look forward to meeting Putu's baby next time too!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaitecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.6 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis
1.5 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Property: Pondok Ayu
Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done direct with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing