We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the KAMUELA hotel Sanur means that the Gods are smiling upon you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur
Ranked #2 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Staying at the KAMUELA hotel Sanur means that the Gods are smiling upon you.
My husband and I stayed 10 days at the KAMUELA/Sanur and we were stunned when we entered our suite 211. A superb carved wooden door led us into a hall with private Jacuzzi…a sliding door brought us in our actual suite. Suite 211 was large, very large in fact. Suite 211 had a lovely seating area with everything in it you would dream of. We were met by a lovely Balinese lady who offered us refreshments and lovely cold towels to refresh ourselves. Towards the end of the suite is the sleeping area with a super King-size bed and behind a large matted window is a large well equipped bathroom with a his/hers washbasin, enormous bath, toilet and separate large shower. Towels are soft and plentiful, the usual amenities: soap/cotton buts/eye make-up removing cotton pads/lovely non-evasive body lotion/hair dryer in a tasteful bag/face flannels/shower gel and shampoo with a lovely fresh scent. We were not impressed with the up-market toilets, seniors might have a problem pressing the flush-handle, besides that the flush was not very strong, but that is a minor detail. Suites have a walk-in wardrobe which includes a safe. There is more than enough hanging and drawer space. All suites have flat screen TVs and more than enough channels if you get bored. The ground floor suites have some steps which are at night and for seniors a bit iffy. Because we had asked for 2 single beds we were moved to suite 230 the next day, which is upstairs. Even though both suites are the same, the upstairs ones are nicer. All suites are peaceful. Each night your bed is turned down and beside each bed appears a yummy chocolate! The KAMUELA beds are the softest, the nicest and the dreamiest beds we have ever ever slept in and it is a pity one can’t take them home ‘cos once home you know what you’re missing!
Breakfast is a feast, trust! On offer is: American breakfast, an omelette breakfast, a continental breakfast, a banana pancake breakfast, an Indonesian breakfast, a fish breakfast, a French breakfast, a Belgian breakfast and a Japanese breakfast and if all this is not to your liking I suggest you stay home! Besides the various breakfasts you see here written you have the choice of various fruit juices and tea or coffee and all breakfasts come with a lovely Balinese fruit salad. You can have your eggs done in any way you want and if I have forgotten something then my apologies! Writing this down makes me very homesick for the Kamuela. We did not have lunch at the hotel however we did have dinner on a number of occasions. The menu is good, especially the salads. We did not sample the wine. On Friday night a very small group of musicians is coming to your table. It is a matter of taste, we’d rather have a conversation but young people might want to ask for their favourite song to be played.
Hotel has a lovely swimming pool, beautiful gardens with one-bedroom and two bedroom villa’s. The KAMUELA is not a large hotel, the KAMUELA staff is lovely, hospitable, attentive and they do their utmost to make your stay the best ever! Not only that, they have a good sense of humour too. You might have seen it a thousand times but what we saw on a Saturday night was so mesmerising beautiful, especially with the tropic surroundings! What did we do and see… we dined at the pool because the Balinese dancers were performing and that made our stay extra special. Guest staying longer than 7 days receive a complimentary massage and that massage is not only very soothing and good, it is very very addictive. Guests staying at the KAMUELA receive each afternoon a complementary afternoon tea with lovely cakes as well as at 6 o’clock a complementary cocktail. The KAMUELA hotel offers a free shuttle to the beach as well as a shuttle to certain destinations (shopping malls) and the drivers are lovely and have a good sense of humour too! The KAMUELA is within short walking distance to the beach and the hotel is situated in a street with plenty of shops. Obtaining a taxi is absolutely no problem and the lobby staff is very helpful. Would we recommend this hotel … yes, yes, yes and to be quite honest, in all the many years we have travelled the world, stayed in supposedly top hotels, never ever have we experienced so much kindness and warmth from the KAMUELA hotel staff, a warmth and kindness the Balinese people are so famous for and yes, we’re gonna go there again and again and again! One thing you do have to be aware of: lift your feet when you step over the ground floor entrance – watch your step in the shower – watch the corners of the beds, other than that you’ll be having the time of your life staying at the KAMUELA, remember each night before you go to sleep and each morning when you wake up…the Gods are smiling upon you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank overseaswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Hi Mrs.Claire,
Thank you very much for your great review and your compliment to all our staff, will pass it to them, big hug from all of us here and will be glad to serve you again soon, say our hello to Mr.James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 794 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

I spent with my family (2 kids, my wife and myself) last week (mid of April 2013) in Kamuela.
We rented 2 villas with the pool. As it was our first visit to Bali, we had not a very sharp idea, what to expect. First of all we felt that we were really welcomed and more over at the each stage of interactions with the staff, we didn't face any single moment, when people push us for tipping, what outside hotel may look pretty tiring and irritating. We got our space with the full intimacy, very discrit service, which made us happy, when bringing all kind of meals to our villa. We could use free hotel transport within Sanur, so going to the selected shops was easy. If you expect perfection and each detail tuned - this is not the case, but you will get fantastic service and excellent value for money package. You simply feel good here - we liked nice pool, good food in the restaurant and the overall atmosphere, were you feel recognized and taken care of.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cezary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Hi Cezare,
Thank you for your time to write great review for us, actually our commitment to always make memorable experience to all our guest, I will pass your compliment to all our staff and will be glad to serve you again in the next future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Loved the room. We stayed in an upstairs suite. Very large, almost excessively so.
Lovely to have the complimentary afternoon tea by the pool. Breakfast was nice but a little on the small size for my husband's appetite.
Staff polite and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwikel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Hi Kiwikel,
We are very happy to read that you had a relaxing stay with us at our suite room, next stay we recommend you to try our one bed room pool villa which complete with own private pool, dining area, complete kitchenette, outside rain shower, then you can have your romantic barbeque dinner inside your villa, see you soon in the next future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have just come back from Kamuela Sanur. I travel frequently to Indonesia and Bali on business.

This is a solid upper three to four star establishment. For my purposes it suited my needs. Rooms great, spacious and comfy. Food at breakfast nice the same can be said with supper in the evenings.

Staff are very accomodating, friendly and kind. I got a great rate as they were running a special due to it being low season.

Sanur is a quite area and off the beaten track. If thats what you are looking for then it will be perfect for you. How ever if you wana be closer to action, great restaurants, clubs, trendy shop, great tourist sites this area is not suitable. Seminayak, Kuta , Ubud are better choices. Nusa dua if you like a gated community resort feel with fantastic beaches.As for the beaches here they are terrible and not worth it. Full of rubbish on beach and in sea.Bali has better beaches a distance away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 04-03-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Hi Usa,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and Im so happy to hear your stay went well, will pass your compliment to our staff, see you soon in the next future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here beginning of April which I'm told is the end of the wet season. The weather was pretty flawless even though there are downpours every 1-2 days they don't last very long and the sun always comes out again :)

Big thanks to all of the team at Kamuela who made our stay very easy, relaxing and lots of fun.

Rooms were very clean and tidy, if there was one thing I would say it would be that the private jacuzzis in the rooms need a bit of a clean but apart from that the rooms are pretty awesome. We stayed in the rooms near the entrance, you can pay more and get yourself a villa with a private pool which also look amazing or share a 3 room villa which we ended up having a romantic dinner in one night which was equally awesome.

The location of the hotel is not right on the beach but very close. It's about a 5-10 min walk to get to the beach. The route takes you past local shops, bars and restaurants and money changers too so it was really convenient for us. We checked out the beach and it was quite nice but I have definitely seen better in other countries. There's a bit of rubbish along the waterline which you're bound to see. If you go further north up the beach you'll see hundreds of locals on loungers, eating at warungs and in the water enjoying themselves, there are more tourists down the southern end.
I suppose it depends on what your expectations of what a beach needs to be but I thought it was ok.

The best thing is just chilling on the beach loungers and just ordering fresh smoothies from all the warungs. Alcohol can be a little expensive in Bali but we just grabbed some bottles of rum before arriving in bali and made cocktails at the beach with the drinks you buy from the warungs. I suppose some might think that's slightly ghetto but it worked for us and we were able to make our own cocktails using decent liquor not that headache inducing arak that is everywhere.

As is the case with every place in Bali you can organize day trips through the hotel or just hire a driver. We just ended up lazing most of the time and were happy enough to just chill around the area although for the more adventurous there are a lot of other sights to see should you want to.

We only tried breakfast as it was included in our package and there are various choices both eastern and western. I thought they were decent enough. Of course eating at the hotels are going to be more expensive however there are a bunch of options on the main strip which we tried and were pretty good and only a few mins walk from the main entrance.

We stayed 4 nights and it was great here. If you're looking for a nice getaway that's intimate for couples yet large enough for families with some personality come and stay here. In my opinion the big hotel chains are just expensive with no real charm. I would come back here again but there are so many other accommodation choices I could be tempted to try something else just to try something different.

In any case Kamuela villas is a great choice if you are looking at staying in Sanur and gets our vote!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Asiajzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hi,
We are very happy to read that you had a relaxing stay with us, will be glad to welcoming you again in the next future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in a ground floor suite for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon trip to Bali. We arrived at around 10pm and the friendly reception staff were there to greet us and show us the facilities. My first impression on entering the room was that it was cool, massive and smelled great!

There were rose petals on the bed and in the bath, there is a large shower as well as a bath and the best feature for me was the jacuzzi bath in the outdoor section of the room which was big enough for both of us to stretch out fully in, which is quite impressive considering my husbnad is well over 6 foot tall.

Our useless airline had left our luggage in Amsterdam, the blow of this was lessened by the fact that all toiletries are provided by the hotel including toothpaste and toothbrushes, a comb and a razor. There was free wifi which worked really well and the breakfasts were very tasty and cooked to order each day (my favourite was the Nasi Goreng).

The pool area and bar were lovely and we were provided with a drink voucher for a free drink each for everyday of our stay which could be used between 6 and 7pm and included cocktails, which were great. We also got a free 15 minute foot massage each but sadly didn't have time to use these. I would definitly reccommend this hotel if you are looking for some luxury in Sanur.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fatyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hi,
Thanks for your great review and will pass your compliment to all my staff..see you soon on your
next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a great place and authentic 5* accommodation. I live in Singapore and travel a lot on business and usually stay in the big name Western chains. I was very pleasantly surprised that Kamuela Sanur is on a par with the very best but is priced very reasonably. We had a Garden room which was ample for a family of 4 (we paid extra for a pull out bed). The room was huge and had a large Jaccuzzi bath on the terrace outside. The pool is nice, clean and new. The bar and restaurant are great and ranked in the top 15 of Sanur restaurants. Breakfast was really tasty and had plenty of options (American, Continental, Japanese, Indonesian, Healthy, Belgian Waffles, French Pancakes, Fruit.

The Hotel location is OK. There are plenty of shops and restaurants around. The main streets of Sanur is about a 30 minute walk/5 minute taxi ride (cost approx. US$2). The beach is a 10 minute walk.

If I was staying in Sanur I'd stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nondom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela S, Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hi Nondom,
Thanks for your great review for our suite room and our Caramel Restaurant, nice to read it and next stay you must try our Aum Spa which have some choice of massage and body treatment. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.5 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 82 in Sanur
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,378 reviews
1.3 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#19 of 82 in Sanur
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#28 of 82 in Sanur
2,432 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#4 of 82 in Sanur
471 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mahagiri Villas
Mahagiri Villas
#1 of 147 in Sanur
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur

Address: Jl. Cemara no. 33, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range: $79 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect resort setting year-round, Kamuela Villas and Suite - Sanur offers an exquisite tropical ambiance, ideal for families to reconnect, and for couples to retreat. Located in Sanur, a quaint neighbourhood in the southeastern part of Bali, Kamuela Villas & Suite - Sanur features seven private pool villas in a choice of one, two and three bedroom villas and twelve sophisticated suites. Make time stands still. Each Private Villa comes with all the signature features that Kamuela Villas offer: a private pool, personalized butler services, a kitchenette and in-room dining, with additional access to the spacious common pool area that features a pool bar and café surrounded by lush greenery and comfy day beds – the perfect spot for all-day lounging. The Suites are just as luxurious, with large open spaces including outdoor areas and bubbling outdoor jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamuela Sanur Hotel Sanur
Aston Sanur
Sanur Aston
Kamuela Villas And Suite Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing