We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem!!”
Review of Elsewhere - CLOSED

Elsewhere
Price range: $2 - $24
Cuisines: International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: GOOD CLEAN HONEST FOOD. We are open for Dinner only (but will reopen for BRUNCH next high season June to September). All priced items on the menu are INCLUDING TAX AND SERVICE (no hidden charges). WIFI. WE ARE OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK FROM 3:30PM TO 10:30PM ACCEPT VISA, MASTERCARD AND DEBIT. Look forward to seeing you ELSEWHERE !
Perth WA
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a little gem!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

A group of us went here on the recommendation of a friend. The menu is quite sophisticated and has a really good range of choices, so much so in fact we decided to try a heap of appetisers to share as we could not decide on just a couple!

We had the quinoa/pumpkin salad, quinoa crusted calamari, the trio of dips plate and the duck pate. They were all really good, but the standouts were the quinoa salad and the pate (WOW!!, that pate!!!). We ordered another serve of the pate as it was just AMAZING!! My only complaint is that the 4 small slices of bread served with it is not enough, however we asked for more and it was not a problem at all.

Two of us shared a main, which was a chicken breast served with a risotto. This dish was delicious and I would highly recommend it! Sadly, there was no room for dessert. :)

The service here is very good. The staff are attentive and friendly. My only concern is that the seating is only bar stools (that I could see). This is a shame as I personally have family members who would love the food here, but they would not be comfortable sitting on (or able to get up on to) bar stools.

I will definitely be back here and can highly recommend it. Even the unexpected glitch of a power cut was handled very calmly and professionally.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belle_PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balibrad, General Manager at Elsewhere, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hello Belle_perthWA

We are so Glad you got recommended by Friends of yours.
Yes the pate is a secret recipe and has been refined for a few years now, i did mention on another response earlier if you want to know a little bit more about it. I have had feed back that there is not enough bread and had that there is enough. all depended on how many people are eating it, so what i have decided that we give extra house bread as the black bread is our signature bread.
as for the pumpkin quinoa is one of our popular dishes here, that is one of my signature dishes and has been with me for only a few years and the dish has been a great success, Im glad the guests like it.
If you like Desserts next time you should try our chocolate pate or the meringue very yummy.

Thank you for your review we are still 3months young and working on new food for you to try next time.

Regards

Brad, Wawa and the Elsewhere crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    25
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sanur, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Why go Elsewhere.”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Excellent Duck Pâté. Great steak. There were 4 at our table and we all loved the food. While at the higher end price wise it is worth the extra rupiah. Will be going back and soon I hope.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MacTrax7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balibrad, General Manager at Elsewhere, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello Maxtrax7,

Thank you for your Great review,
Yes the Pate is an Elsewhere secret recipe that i have been working on for the last 14 years, tweaking and changing the ingredients to the standard it is now, a tedious process, but the results show in the flavour and lightness of it. Im glad you enjoyed it.
The steak is Australian beef grass fed, which helps contain the vitamins in the meat, so it is a healthy product.
I also recommend the chicken risotto, a very popular item on the menu which is getting great feed back.
Many thanks again, We look forward to seeing you again

Brad,Wawa and the Elsewhere crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic addition to the Sanur Restaurant scene”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

As expat permanent Saunr residents we are spoilt for choice of very good restaurants and consequently have become very discerning diners.
"Elsewhere" has become a regular choice, the decor in very trendy
and intimate.
The food quality,service and presentation is in my opinion second to none, the menu will be popular for all diners with a very good selection.
We had dinner at "Elsewhere" on Friday night with four of our friends.
I had the Crispy Skin Rolled Pork as the main and the Meringue / Fruit and Ice-cream dessert both dishes were superbly presented and Ah!! the flavours. All of our guests were very impressed with their food selections
The hosts Brad / Wawa and their excellent staff are always on hand to welcome you and make your dining experience very enjoyable.
In the short time that " Elsewhere" has been open a growing number of local residents and holiday makers are making it their restaurant of choice, it won't be long before bookings will be essential.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balibrad, General Manager at Elsewhere, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello Peter M,

A Big thank you for your review,
very inspiring to here your comments, I see you have become a regular to our place and welcome you back anytime you please.
We are in Process of Implementing a Brunch Menu which will have a few new and much lighter meals to choose from, also we will be putting on some daily specials/features that will change as often as we can to keep the menu interesting for those who have been here before.

Look forward to seeing you again

Brad,Wawa and the Elsewhere crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“How can a restaurant charge corkage......”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

How can a restaurant charge corkage when it does not sell wine. We dined last week and found the ambience was good and the food was good except the pork belly was overcooked a tad. As we are expats we drink a lot of wine and found that the restaurant does not stock wine so we took our own, to be charged corkage and not even to be supplied wine glasses was amazing, drinking wine from beer tumblers is not acceptable.We eat out most nights and most restaurants are happy to have our custom and don't charge corkage even thou they stock wine. Unfortunately we won't be back due to this issue.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 247JOHNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balibrad, General Manager at Elsewhere, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hello 247JOHNT.

Thank you for your Report on our Establishment, Very Informative.
- you came in on the friday 1st August with your lovely wife and a very nice group of 4 For a birthday dinner , not last week.
I do remember you Sir,

- you also bought your own Plastic wine glasses blue in fact. ???
you also had calamari, pork belly and a meringue the plates were licked clean,
how do i know if there is a problem unless we are informed before you finish the dishes,
the pork you ordered (extra crispy) so yes I do Apologize to you, It is not the way we like to serve it but we did comply to your needs.
we are not a fine dining restaurant we only seat 36 and like to think we are a non pretentious establishment that thrives on good service and fine food,
we are BYO(not many places are) and do charge a small corkage fee not like some establishments that charge more .
I am terribly sorry we didn,t reach your culinary standards.
feel free to come and see us again.

See you around...;-)

Best intentions Always

Brad Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to eat in Sanur”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

A visit to this unassuming eatery is a must when in Bali. The place not only has an interesting menu and fabulous food, it is also an entertaining place to plonk and people watch. The owner Brad is most welcoming and his mum, who was there on the night we visited, was just as friendly. Thanks to the Fire Station for the recommendation.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balibrad, General Manager at Elsewhere, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hello Kerryn P,

A big thank you for taking the time to review us here on trip advisor,
yes it is an unassuming venue with a good position to people watch in the bars across the road and people walking the street.
I think it runs in the family, mother taught me well. lol
Yes a big thank you to the FIRE STATION by sending you to us( i think i may need to work on a commission soon :-) for them lol.
Well I am Glad you found us and enjoyed the Fabulous Food that we offer on the dinner menu,
Brunch is the next stage im working on.

Many thanks to you again
see you next time in Bali

Brad,Wawa and the Elsewhere crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elsewhere also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing