We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Segara Village Hotel
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the Segara Village because family were staying in Sanur. The hotel is very well maintained, the location is great and the staff are lovely.

We originally booked a bungalow but then as a friend decided to come last minute, we upgraded to a family bungalow. Definately not worth the price - you can get a 3 bedroom villa elsewhere for the same price. The rooms however were very clean and had a nice sitting area underneath. Our room had a really foul smell in the bathroom. We were only there for a few days and out most of the time, couldn't be bothered moving so kept the door shut but we did tell management on leaving.

There are two pools however they need to put out more pool chairs or make sure they remove towels on the chairs that aren't being used. So many people would leave their stuff there for most of the day and only be there for a couple of hours. There was no pool service for drinks etc. which i found odd.

Breakfast was really quite ordinary for the size of the hotel and the price you pay to stay there - there is a ordinary buffet and also a cook making egg dishes at your request.

The bar area is great to sit and have a cocktail of an evening, it has a great vibe and reminded me of KuDeTa at night with great music and good cocktails.

We wouldn't stay again, it wasn't the place for us but if they brought their prices down it would be a nice place for someone who prefers that side of the island to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nessams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived and expected a bungalow, but got an upgrade to a beach club house. So far so good. The beach club house had a huge bathroom, great bedroom (with one of the best hotel beds I've ever tried) and a small garden. In front was a lawn and a big tree with a shrine surrounding it. So beautiful. Sadly within two days there were some trouble with the toilet so we were given the key to the adjoining house, while they were working on the first room.
When the toilet broke in that room, we were offered a whole new house, but as we were leaving the next day, we kept our actual room, and they fixed the toilet. We did ask the manager for a possible upgrade for when we would return 8 days later. He wasn't sure, but would look in to it.
When we returned we had an upgrade to another beach house in front of the "quiet" pool and a complimentary dinner. So there is nothing to complain about when it comes to their service!!

The morning buffet is rich, and if you have a beach club house you can eat in their smaller restaurant, where you free of charge get freshly squeezed juices an can have espresso-based coffees. The staff is extremely helpful in any questions you may have, and they are very keen on offering you the best service and making you feel at home and well.

The only thing that could have made our experience there better, was a more strict policy about their guest trying to "reserve" the sun beds. Most of the time, they didn't use the sun beds at all.

All in all we loved it there, and would love to come back!!

Room Tip: Book a beach club house, it comes with many advantages and most of them are close to a quiet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our first time to Sanur, and this hotel was perfect for us. We had a bungalow room which was well furnished and peaceful, the bathroom was a little awkward with the door opening onto the basin, the balcony was large and comfortable but not quite private enough. Although the hotel was 98% full we didn't feel crowded or one of the many. The staff were excellent and attentive to all needs. The surrounds we're beautiful and well maintained. Food was excellent and not over priced. Would definitely, return to Segara village again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We first stayed in Segara Village in 1983 and then stayed at other Resorts in Bali over the years.
But we always came back to Segara Village. We have now stayed there over 7 times. Now we are retired we stay two times a year.
What do we like about Segara is everything, the staff are always friendly with a big smile to start your day,wide variety for breakfast looking over one of three swimming pools and the sea.
Lots of areas around the resort to sit and sun or under a Bali hut to laze,read sleep or even look at your computer or tablet as there is WiFi ever where.
Ever thing is there at your door step,beach restaurants shops Massage, cake and coffee outlets.
The Resort is on 12 acres of sacred grounds and you can feel your self relaxing and being of peace with in your self.also you would not be more impressed with the gardens and shrines scattered around the grounds.
Price of all rooms are in line with other 4 star Resorts in Bali but with the added friendly feeling and comfort.
You will not be disappointed.
Reg and Diane

Room Tip: Book a cottage include My Time and then get up graded if available to Bungalow Quiet over by tennis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel makes available all the necessary elements for a wonderful vacation. The hotel itself has excellent furnished rooms, we stayed in a bungalow, the weather was lovely, the staff were always helpful to the point of meeting our every need, the food was nice and the cocktails were refreshing. In addition the hotel guests made our holiday also memorable.

The hotel location was positioned near complimentary cafes, restaraunts, markets and bars.

My wife and I are very grateful to the staff and hotel for making our holiday such a great success. We have been to Bali four times and will be returning to segarra village when we return in December 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We've stayed at Segara Resort for the past six years, and are always sorry to leave after a month of idyllic relaxation. It's not that we havent looked at other accommodation in Sanur - this year we were invited to view the Hilton Hotel, and also the new Regent Hotel, which is gorgeously fitted out and six star, but one could be at any resort in any country - and this is the secret of Segara. For us it is the essence of Bali, with its beautiful gardens, quirky sculpture which really merits a close look to catch the Bali sense of humour, and first and foremost, the Balinese staff who have the happiest smiles in the world and who look after their guests' every wish. It really shows that it is a family-owned resort, in the care taken to ensure everyone has a wonderful holiday. One of their best ideas are their Guest Relations staff, who know everyone by name and are always there to cater to every request.

We were upgraded to a bungalow which was well appointed and faultlessly serviced - and a great bed! Breakfasts are good and the restaurant at night improving every year. Sorry to say the Japanese Restaurant was not up to scratch this year with not too pristine fish and prawns, but will still give it another go. The bar area is a great place to have a drink and listen to the music and entertainment.

We know the market girls can be a bit annoying, but they are truly interested in where you are going - what you are doing - where do you come from etc etc. This is an Indonesian trait, and it doesnt hurt to answer them nicely and politely say that you are not shopping today. They have so little and in comparison, we have so much.

Don't know why we came home.......can't wait for next year.

Room Tip: We've stayed in a cottage most times and have been perfectly happy, but with the upgrade to a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnetteandSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Let me preface these thoughts, by saying the staff were one of the best that we have encountered, and the grounds were fantastic.

The rooms were okay, our bathroom was like a furnace, but the most disappointing aspect was the bed, it was like lying on concrete, they tried to help, but it still did not remedy the situation, the room size was small, but bright.

The breakfast area was like eating in a cafeteria, with limited buffet selection, as compared to many other hotels we have stayed at, with the same rating.

After staying at other hotels this definitely over priced.

Room Tip: If you get a room where the bathroom faces the afternoon sun, leave the blinds closed all day, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.8 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#19 of 79 in Sanur
2,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#17 of 79 in Sanur
1,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.4 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#3 of 79 in Sanur
447 reviews
1.8 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Segara Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segara Village Hotel

Address: Jl. Segara Ayu, Sanur, Denpasar 80030, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#5 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $110 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Segara Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well established beachfront resort in northern Sanur will shortly complete a major renovation to re-position to four star plus rating. Five distinct village room areas, each with its own layout and character are set amidst 6 hectares of lush tropical gardens. Two swimming pools and an array of recreational activities provide ample opportunity for pure relaxation or an activity - oriented holiday for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Segara Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Segara Village Resort
Segara Village Sanur
Segara Village Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing