We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Segara smiles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Segara Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Segara Village Hotel
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Segara smiles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's the fourth time i'm in Bali, and although still a lovely island, it's getting crowded.. Unless you go early November. In between high seasons it's quiet and really relaxed as it's meant to be. If you want a lovely secluded place, in the heart of Sanur, go to Segara Villages. A beautiful garden at the beach, lovely rooms and above all a great staff that makes you feel just to stay and not look further anymore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulAndGijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    380
    120
    47
    31
See reviews for
273
590
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed at Segara Village for our first time, although we have stayed at Sanur several times before this was our first time at Segara and what a wonderful time we had.... It was so nice to stay on a beachfront property. We decided to pay more and stay at Segara Village 2 and so pleased we did, it was well worth it, the area provides it's own pool for Segara 2 guests and the rooms were very very nice, the bathroom was big with large shower and also seperate bath and there was still plenty of room even with the extra beds for the 2 children. We were also spoilt with free cocktails, beer or wine served with canapes each day between 5-7pm... the kids could have mocktails, juice or softdrink. Great time of the day to chill and relax.
The breakfast was also great, so much variety, I would say you would have to be a very fussy person not to be satisfied. With everything from lovely fresh fruits, yoghurts, salads, cold cuts of meat, pastries galore, breads galore, egg station and loads of chafing dishes with lovely goodies that changed each day, sausages, asian stir fries etc ec.. it was endless and very nice.
I had read some reports on trip advisor before us going which made me a little nervous with what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised, and have already recommended Segara to many friends and family. If you are traveling with kids there is even a lovely playground to suit from toddler age up to almost teenage. There is also a pool table at the bar. The staff were second to none and the true feel of Bali was so nice and relaxing in the Balinese ambience of the hotel and surroundings. Segara is a big property but nicely spread out so you don't have the feeling of it being over crowded. The location is also fantastic, so easy to walk to other restaurants or go shopping and easy to get a taxi over to Kuta/Legain etc. You should wake up early at least once to see the sunrise!! So so nice!! We just loved it and would have not hesitation in highly recommending this hotel. Thanks Segara Village, we can't wait to see you again next year!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tropicalliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here 3 days just to relax. The villas are set in a beautiful quiet garden. Staff is very friendly. Very nice and well assorted breakfast. Lots of restaurants on the beach just besides the hotel, which makes it easy to go for lunch and dinner. The beach is a bit disappointing for older children though. The waves are far away as there is a reef further out. That means that the sea just in front of the hotel is very calm, no waves at all. We water is very clear and low, so good for younger kids. At low tight there is only 20-30 cm of water left with the rocks and the reef visible further out. Bring water shoes if you want to go further out as you have to cross some rocks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IvR2-expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We first visited Segara Village in 1987. Came back in 1988 and 1991. Segara is still thankfully Balinese and the setting is gorgeous. Some of the quaintness of the early days has gone but this has been done with upgrades to facilities to meet the expectations of current travelers. It is still a magical place to stay. The staff there are brilliant - so welcoming and helpful. We certainly have no hesitation in recommending Segara Village to others. Breakfast is a feast and there are excellent restaurants on-site or at the nearby Beach Market. Sanur has changed since the eighties. Now there is easy access along the beach for walking or cycling on a paved walkway taking you north or south with a large local supermarket not too far away if need be.
Getting up early to experience sunrise over the water and the view over to Mt Agung is worth it and if you are there on a weekend you'll be treated to watching the locals take time out with their families. If you want relaxation and to slip easily into Bali time this is the place to be.

Room Tip: We were offered a free upgrade to a bungalow (with a view of a wall) so preferred to stay in a cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a wonderful hotel, and gardens. The staff are really lovely and cant do enough for you.
They even had cold face towels for us to cool off ,as when you arrive the heat really hits you. We arrived after 11pm, so decided to walk up the road and found a little bar, which sold food as well. They served us with a beer and food, even at that time of night. The Balinese people are so kind hearted. We went on seveal day trips, and learnt alot about life style, religen, beliefs, etc from our tour guild, who spoke very good english. He was very helpful all week. As we traveled around we saw a cremation, which was just in a field by the side of the road, They were happy for the departed person, as its another part of thier journey, and a great celebration.
Its not far to walk into Sanur, where there are more shops and resturants all serving good food. But do try the Japanese resturant, on site, we hadnt eaten japanese before, and they were very helpful, dont be afraid to ask.
I really hope we can go back again next year, I love it. This is the second time Ive been and I still love it.

Room Tip: We had the Honeymoon suit , it was large with a very large bed. bath and shower. It was very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galenacrystals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have spent wonderful 3 nights in lovely and luxurious Segara Village hotel in Sanur, Bali. The high standard does not apply only to rooms (had a bungalow – free upgrade from cottage), but also to lovely surroundings - well maintained and beautiful gardens, selection of three pools (including infinity pool), clean and long beach. Hotel itself is situated on the edge of Sanur (touristic district of Denpasar) which guarantees both quietness and convenient location to all restaurants and bars. Very friendly and smiley staff willing to help and accommodate all your request. Highly recommended for romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Restaurants by the beach offers exceptional dining experience for the half of the hotel's price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piotrek_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just returned from a seven day stay at the Segara Village Hotel .What a beautiful hotel the grounds are like being in a botanical gardens. As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were given cold towels to cool off. They then informed us because it was our wedding anniversary they had upgraded us to Sagara 2 .The hotel staff could not do enough for us and the food was great to.
We both had massage at the spa and also ate at the Japanese restaurant on site.
Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.8 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#12 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.7 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Segara Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segara Village Hotel

Property: Segara Village Hotel
Address: Jl. Segara Ayu, Sanur, Denpasar 80030 , Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#5 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#8 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Segara Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well established beachfront resort in northern Sanur will shortly complete a major renovation to re-position to four star plus rating. Five distinct village room areas, each with its own layout and character are set amidst 6 hectares of lush tropical gardens. Two swimming pools and an array of recreational activities provide ample opportunity for pure relaxation or an activity - oriented holiday for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Segara Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Segara Village Resort
Segara Village Sanur
Segara Village Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing