We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Segara Village Hotel
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Stabler12
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not a 4 Star Hotel”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

There were some good things about this hotel, the grounds were well kept, it was right on the beach, and the breakfast was adequate, but other things kept this from being as a good an experience as it might have been.

I read several good and poor reviews of the hotel prior to visiting, and I can see correct points in both of them.

Firstly the rooms. On arrival we were shown to our room, which was exceedingly small and cramped. It had big cracks in the bath, and large gaps in the door seal which would have admitted all sorts of insects in the night. After a fifteen minute argument with the hotel manager, we got moved to another room, which was just about okay but far from great.

There is a light in the bathroom area which you just couldn't switch off, and the door to that area was glass, meaning it was didfficult to sleep as we could not get the room dark. We ended up hanging towel over the door to mitigate it. Eventually the staff told us that you could turning it off by slamming the warddrobe doors (..............?), which worked, but then it wouldnt come back on again which was even worse.

The room was badly spaced, tired, and just old. We chatted to another couple who had complained about there room and also got moved ...from the room we were in now! (505). It really needs modernising badly.

There is a nicebar and restaurant, but no one ever goes there as you can get the same food and drink on the beach restaurants for half the price, so the hotel is totally dead at night.

Staff are all very friendly and smile a lot, which gives the impression that they will be helpful.

Unfortunately as soon as you ask any of them to do anything they become evasive and just can't seem to be bothered. A lot of staff just standing around doing nothing. The pool was okay for sitting in, but not much good for excrcise.

The location is good as far as access tothe beach and beach life goes, but be warned, this is a very 'old' scene here, and very few people under 60. It didn't bother us as we had just come for a quiet week, and I can see some people being dissappointed. That isn't the hotels fault though.

I'm not saying it was terrible, but at best this hotel was average. I can't say I would recommend it to anyone. Travelbag should never hadadvertised it as a four star accomodation in the first place.

Room Tip: Don't eat or drink the hotel. The same for half as much 50 yards along the beach in either direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stabler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    397
    126
    47
    31
See reviews for
286
622
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The area around the hotel is fantastic, but the room was the only one that disappointed on our 10 day trip to Bali. We opted for the "cottage" room, which was a mistake. By presenting the room as a "cottage" we were disappointed when we got to a block, with small, unappealing rooms. The room was drab, the bathroom smelled of mildew, and the "courtyard" was incredibly noisy. Our little porch was useless. The "bungalow" rooms were only a few rupiah more a night, if we had been presented with a more realistic representation of the "cottage" rooms, we would have changed. We felt like we were advertised an experience and a room that we did not get.

Room Tip: Do not choose the "cottage" room, even though it is advertised as a "cottage", i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JMCN_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is my third visit to Bali, and the third in Sanur. The Segara is at the north end of Sanur, and therefore arguably not quite such a good location as say the Hyatt further down, but with taxis and scooters so cheap it makes little difference, or you just walk a bit more. The hotel offers a good standard of rooms, I stayed in the cottage rooms which were of a good standard, though the bathrooms was small, tho the room a good size. The bed was huge and very comfortable. There was a small balcony overlooking the garden.

The gardens were particularly attractive and large with lots of water features. The location is set back from the busy main strip road and so there is no noise.

The hotel fronts onto the beach and there are lots of little shops/massage places etc very close.This part of Sanur gives you more a feel of local Bali compared to further south.

Breakfast was good, with reasonable choices tho I felt the restaurant location and decor was only mediocre. The two on-site restaurants did not look enspiring but there are lots of restaurants nearby.

Service was of a good standard.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schnorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

No complaints at all about this great place. I have been going back and forth for over 10 years now and the place has changed a lot. It has always retained its character and had to modernise over the last few years to remain competative.
The grounds are very special and the head gardener very proud of his work.

All the staff are helpful and humerous. Take some time to get to know them. It's great to get back there and see all the familiar faces.
Village 2 is best and is reflected in the cost.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nrth NSW
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We , a family of 2 adults and 2 kids aged 7 and 10 yrs , spent the last 3 nights of our recent 12 night holiday at Segara Village. On arrival the girls were so excited and straight away said " Why didnt we stay here longer ? " .
Check in was easy and as we booked with Flight Centre we were upgraded from a Bungalow roon to a Club room ! We were welcomed by the duty manager and invited to the managers cocktail party that night ! Nice. We also had Made who was our Mytime representative and so lovely and helpful. We met his kids and our daughters had a swim together.
The room was very private ( 223 ) and very spacious inside . We had a huge king bed and there were 2 singles for the kids. We had ample space and a large bathroom and a small outdoor garden ! There was a patio at the front with a lovely lounge and table. Village 2 is in a great location , we were very close to the main pool, restaurant and the beach.
Behind our room were other Deluxe club rooms surrounding a private ( very quiet pool ) .
We swam in the main pool and also the " Family pool ". Both are lovely.
The beach at Sanur is sooo much nicer than at Seminyak and we actually swam in the ocean. There are so many cafes / restaurants along the beachfront to choose from. We had lovely meals , right on the sand ! Prices are very good , ranging from about 40,000 rp for Nasi Goreng to 80,000 rp for amazing seafood.
You can also sit right outside the Segara and have a bintang from the little shop next to the massage ladies for 20,000 rp. I also had a great massage on the
beach for 50,000 rp.
The breakfast at the Segara was great ! I dont know how anyone could complain ! There was fruit , yoghurts , cereals , toasts , loads of pastries / cakes , pancakes or waffles , about 6 hot dishes , plus an egg chef.
We hired bikes from the hotel ( cheaper on the beach ) and rode down the bike path , it goes for ages ! Segara is in North Sanur and I thinks its about 5kms to South Sanur. We were happy with our location.
There is a great little supermarket just down from the hotel ( I also changed money here as the lady was very nice and honest ) and also an alley with many shops. A bit further down is the official markets also.
We got up at 6am one morning for sunrise and it was beautiful ! To it.
3 nights was not enough at Segara Village and we are planning to go back to Bali in January 2013 and stay longer this time.

Great family holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Suzy7215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Loved the resort but the rooms in village 1 are really small and the bathroom is almost a closet! The food at the hotel is poor, the Japanese next door, miniami is fab fab you have to eat there. Also the restaurants on the beach are quite good. The pools are peaceful and relaxing and the afternoon teas are helpful with small kids who get the munchies! The resort itself is nice and peaceful surrounded by trees.

I know they are undergoing refurb but if you like mod spacious rooms and a decent bathroom then think twice. Even in the new village although rooms have much better specs, they are still on the small side.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Segaqra Village is a beautifull place located on a beautifull beach and with a fantastic Japanese restaurant located within range of our babyalarm! Spent 3 chillaxing weeks with our 7months old son and had nothing but joy. Very kind and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristoffer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.8 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 78 in Sanur
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.7 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Segara Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segara Village Hotel

Property: Segara Village Hotel
Address: Jl. Segara Ayu, Sanur, Denpasar 80030, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#5 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#6 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Segara Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well established beachfront resort in northern Sanur will shortly complete a major renovation to re-position to four star plus rating. Five distinct village room areas, each with its own layout and character are set amidst 6 hectares of lush tropical gardens. Two swimming pools and an array of recreational activities provide ample opportunity for pure relaxation or an activity - oriented holiday for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Segara Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Segara Village Resort
Segara Village Sanur
Segara Village Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing