We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, beautifull garden and beach, good service”
Review of Laghawa Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laghawa Beach Inn
Ranked #67 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Landgraaf, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent location, beautifull garden and beach, good service”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Laghawa is located immediately at the quiet Sanur Beach, from which one has a stunning and even mystic view on three of the four large Balinese volcanoes.

The gardens around the hotel are luscious, very large and offer the exact unique atmosphere that people are looking for who are really interested in Balinese culture. The pool is large and clean, but will not be frequently used, as the hotel has its own beach, just a few hundred meters away from the main buildings. The sea around Sanur is quiet, clean and shallow, because of protection measures taken in the seventies. Only the massive seaweed can spoil the cleanliness on some days.

The rooms could do with a little maintenance, but are very authentic and acceptable for the offered rates. Service and staff friendliness are absolutely mentionable, as is the weekly Legong and Gamelan dance presentation, performed by an excellent group from one of the inland villages.

Summarising, there is no good reason not to visit the Laghawa, whether you are alone, romantic couples or families with (even small) children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the smaller housing blocks, as they offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raimond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    63
    55
    16
    12
See reviews for
36
65
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

The location in Sanur is very good and convenient to both beach and main road. Its directly connected to the beach by a pretty 100m path. The grounds are lovely and well kept with plenty of the Bali accents one expects. The pool is nice and well situated. Rooms are a bit dark and old, but clean. Free with wifi but an occasionally frustrating connection! Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Laghawa Beach Inn is a friendly hotel. Good price -quality, clean, well kept and situated at the beach and in the centre of Sanur . Friendly and helpfull staff (Augus). Will visit this place again!
Jacqueline

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We arrived at Laghawa Beach Inn, as the taxi driver we were with had brought us to several of the hotels we had researched, but they did not have space, or they had raised the price per night from what was advertised.

We went to the front desk at Laghawa, and learned that it was 550,000 rp per night for a twin room. We asked to see the room before making our decision. We walked in, it was dimly lit, and it was musty. The sheets on the bed were a little worn, and the whole room actually looked like it needed some renovating.

We decided to stay for one night as we had had a long day and wanted to just settle somewhere. We managed to barter with the front desk, and got the room for a discounted price of 500,000 rp for the night. We unpacked and went to the beach. To say we were disappointed would have been an understatement. The lounge chairs available for the hotel guests were dirty and almost all broken. The lounge chairs for rent were not much better (if compared to the lovely ones we had been renting in Seminyak the week prior). The beach was not sand, and not rock, it was somewhere in between. The water wasn't clear, it was dark from the patches of seaweed that lined the shores, and there were these weird man-made peninsulas built from rock, jutting out into the ocean, almost creating a bay for the hotel's beach. There was also one parallel to the beach in the middle of the water with two pagodas on either end, and this prevented the surf from crashing on shore. But it also made the water calm, and warm, and murky, and not what we would like after experiencing beaches in Seminyak, Padang-Padang, and Lipah.

We gave up on the beach, and moved to the pool. The pool was so warm, it was worse then bath water (Especially in November temperatures outside), and the chairs around the pool were dirty. There were bird cages with some birds, who did not look so happy. There were what seemed like locals swimming around in the pool with so many children, probably contributing to the warmth of the water! We decided to go to the room and get ready for dinner instead.

The one thing that Laghawa did do better then all the other locations we stayed at in Bali was provide strong Wi-Fi in the room. We were able to stream tv shows (since we weren't enjoying the outside that much) and upload pictures from our travels.

There were a few nice restaurants in the area, and we settled on a Mexican place for dinner. We noticed that the atmosphere was more of an older crowd (like 50+). And we assumed the reason the older crowd would come to Sanur is to stay at the Hyatt which was on the main street as well. My friend and I, being 20-something women, did not really take to Sanur, and I can't imagine the older people putting up with that beach anyway! (Maybe it's nicer at the Hyatt!)

After one night we checked out and went back to Seminyak where we loved it, and we didn't even take any photos in Sanur, because it just wasn't worth the memory!

All in all, Sanur is boring, Laghawa Beach Inn is run down, and you can get a lot more bang for your buck in other areas that are a bit more lively, and much more beautiful!

Room Tip: The suites are probably of better standard, but I can't imagine they'd be any better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sanur hotels

Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We spent the first week of December 2012 at Laghawa Beach Inn in room 126 for less than AU$50 per night with breakfast included. Airport transfers are extra cheap at Rp100k only which is about two thirds the taxi and street price. Breakfast is buffet style in the comfortable and roomy cafe/restaurant and includes a full cooked meal with fruit and toast and tea/coffee. The Jakarta/Bali Post is provided free and the wi-fi is also free but the quality is not so good inside the rooms but reasonable outside the room on the verandah. The staff were terrific, especially the cleaners and gardeners who both do excellent jobs. As other reviewers have commented, the gardens are a delight. The pool is clean and large and on the walkway to the nearby beach. We are planning our next visit to Laghawa Beach Inn during 2013. The hotel is very centrally located in the middle of the 5-6km of Sanur Beach. Other patrons included family groups with children, couples and individuals. We never heard any complaints from them.

Room Tip: My wife and I would recommend room 126 which is close to the cafe/restaurant and beach and the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice located hotel in Sanur with pro's en contra's. My room was rather basic; however, the bathroom was poor and needed an update. Luckely the roomservice was okay. A bit nerve breaking was the family of scorpions that inhabited my porch.
Food and restaurant are standard, but not bad at all. The garden is very pretty. Nice pool, lawns and flowerbeds. Walking through this garden guests will reach the beach. This is the greatest value of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruud60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for six days. The gardens are magnificent, there seem to be more people working in the gardens than looking after the rooms. The room was large but lacked a fridge or tea making facilities. Room cleaning was rudimentary. Wifi did not work in the room only at reception. Our air conditioner did not function correctly and it took two complaints and three days to get it fixed. The pool is large with its own bar and beach towels are provided. There is direct beach access via a short lane way. Sun lounges are provided free for hotel guests on the beach and at the pool but I think they might be in short supply during the busy season. This hotel is located about two hundred metre north of Hardy's Supermarket so has plenty of restaurants around it. Breakfast was pretty standard but you could help yourself to as much fruit and toast as you liked. Despite the faults we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TassieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#28 of 78 in Sanur
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#32 of 78 in Sanur
322 reviews
1.3 mi away
Diwangkara Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laghawa Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laghawa Beach Inn

Property: Laghawa Beach Inn
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan 51, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laghawa Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Laghawa Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laghawa Beach Hotel Sanur
Laghawa Beach Inn Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing