We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

When we arrived Bali, our driver was waiting for us at the Airport. This was the start of fantastic journey. Our driver dressed in traditional Balinese dress set the scene for a engaging holiday in Bali. we set up with cool drinks, chilled hand towels to refresh and cool down after the initial slap in the face with the winter heat and humidity.

30 odd minutes drive and we arrived at our oasis in Bali located minutes away from the beaches and shopping of Sanur. On arrival at the Gangsa we received a bouquet each and sat in the open air reception of this tranquil garden setting. Staff at the Gangsa without exception are engaging, friendly, courteous and focused on making your stay comfortable and memorable.

Our first glimpse of our Vila and I was gob smacked. This place was so amazing. Embracing the Balinese living style and traditions were captured in the design and layout of the villa's, the living areas were designed around your private pool, (it got used at all times of the day and was a welcome distraction from the heat and humidity).

The outdoor living area was sensational and although out doors, we were never troubled with insects or Mozzies. (the villa's do undertake a weekly fogging and each evening staff light mozzie coils in strategic locations)

Our package included breakfast and high tea each day. Breakfast for us normally took place at about 9am served to our villa's outdoor dining area as was our delectable afternoon High teas. Breakfast we had options of traditional Balinese selections, traditional continentals, or some slants on big breakfasts and American style menus. The Bali coffee each morning was a welcome sight .

Our bedroom was large and comfortable. Our bed was a little firmer than we are used to, however we always had a good nights sleep.

The only picky point I could make would be, the CRT TV in the bed room were getting a little dated.

The on suite was very interesting as it was indoors but also outdoor with a open covered roof over our outdoor bath with no doors on toilet and shower in the open bathroom on suite. (don't get me wrong, I loved it, it was open, but private, just different).

We used the open living area quite a lot both during the day and of an evening, taking the opportunities to dip into the pool as opportunity presented.

Would I stay at The Gangsa again? hell yeah. Would I recommend it to others? only if I truly liked them.

Our last day was a very sad day having to leave.

Room Tip: our Villa backed onto a temple and we were treated to quite a bit of kid's singing and a few cel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agtd, General Manager at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Bapak & Ibu Mike,

Om Swastyastu....

Thank you for your review at TripAdvisor. It is glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and facilities. I also happy to know that you will come back again on your next holiday.

I will share with my team and I believe they will feel very motivated to keep the high standard of our service and facilities.

Bapak & Ibu Mike, thank you and we look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Putu Agustini
General Manager
the gangsa private villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 388 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at The Gangsa for 8 nights in June 2013 ... our 1 bedroom villa 'Jublag' was a little piece of paradise. Absolute privacy in villa, gorgeous gardens with little squirrel (Tupai) playing in the trees overhead. The daily breakfasts and afternoon high teas (included in rate) were delicious with beautiful presentation. The Gangsa's cookies replenished in your villa and in the cars are sooo yummy! Mini bar restocked daily with bottled water, juice and soft drink. We made good use of the lovely private pool too.

Definitely worth booking the Gangsa's pick up service from airport, friendly driver, lovely cold washcloths, cold drinks, bottled water and those awesome cookies!

All staff genuinely friendly and happy to do whatever they can to make your stay a memorable one. The lovely Agustini gave me suggestions for shoe shopping in Kuta ... loved Matahari! Villas are very spacious, clean, luxurious, cleaned daily, as is the pool, once you leave for a walk or trip into Sanur. We loved the outdoor living area, spent a lot of time out there but were also very happy the bedroom had good airconditioning. Loved the bathroom too! My only complaint, the pillows weren't great so not the best night sleep but I'm a bit of a fusspot when it comes to pillows and my fiancee didn't have any problems :)

We didn't use the kitchen for cooking, there are just too many wonderful restaurants and warungs to try but we did buy alcohol from Hardy's (so cheap) and stock the big outside fridge.

The Gangsa is a little drive from downtown Sanur but drivers are available to take you whenever you want. The complimentary car service to Kuta is also available 3 times/day, we used that once for our Kuta shopping day. Very friendly drivers, happy to chat and swap information about Indonesian/Balinese and Australian life. We took some back street short cuts and walked home from Sanur a few times and also to the beach at the southern end of Sanur. A 15-20 minute walk in the humidity but we really enjoyed exploring on our own. At the Southern end of Sanur we found Linga Longa and had suckling pig, crackling was to die for (I think it's only available on a Sunday night) cost approx $6 Aus per person.

We had a couples massage package at the villa - 2 hours of heavenly goodness!! Definitely worth it. We also had $10/hr massages on the beach and at Carla Spa. See Jero at shop 5 in the parking area close to The Gangsa's private beach section. She's lovely and does a wonderful massage.

The Gangsa are quite vigilant with mosquito control and we had no problems whatsoever but we did have 10 days on vitamin B1 before we left for Bali and we continued it for the time in Bali. Didn't even need to apply insect repellent even though mosquitos were thick at times. I'm usually very bothered by mosquitoes and midges so this old camping tip worked a treat!

Definitely worth trying out a few of the local warung for meals, unbelievably cheap and delicious local food. I've reviewed a few separately but Mila's warung is close to The Gangsa, just a few minutes walk. We got all our money changed at the money changer just outside Hardy's - no problems at all. Hardy's is terrific for clothes and groceries if you don't feel like bargaining in the local shops or markets. We did both. The staff in the DVD shop inside Hardy's were great and upfront with which were quality DVD's and which ones not so much. We watched a few at our villa and on the plane trip home.

A beautiful stay, wholeheartedly recommend The Gangsa, we can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teddyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agtd, General Manager at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Ibu Teddyree,

Om Swastyastu....

Thank you very much for your very nice review. We really appreciated your time and effort to share your experiences on your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back to the gangsa

Best regard,
Putu Agustini
General Manager
the gangsa private villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Gangsa for 10 days in July 2013, the experience was nothing short of fabulous.
Augustini and her wonderful staff realy take pride in what they do and are genuinley friendly and helpful
Congratulations to all of you we will deffinitly be back , many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fruge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agtd, General Manager at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Bapak & Ibu Fruge,

Om Swastyastu....

Thank you very much for the time to write the review and it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed a memorable stay at the gangsa.
It is always our aim to achieve the highest standard of service and product, so I was delighted to read comments such as yours
Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at the gangsa and we look forward to welcoming you back

Best regards,
Putu Agustini
General Manager
the gangsa private villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have a good time in The Gangsa!

The villa is nice, the staff is friendly (always with smile), the breakfast is delicious! especially the breakfast on beach, we love so much!

Thanks very much for all of the staff treat us so good and make The Gangsa just like our home!

Special thanks for Rika, reply my email so many time and fulfill my special request!

However, the bed linen was a bit dirty, and some equipment (like lamp) were quite old, hope Gangsa will improve it. Even though, I will come again to The Gangsa.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agtd, General Manager at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Bapak Phoix,

Om Swastyastu....

We truly appreciate your comments, both positive and where we need to improve. We do take your comments seriously and I have personally addressed these issues with my team members for immediate improvement.

We hope you will return soon and look forward to welcoming you back to the gangsa private villa

Best regards,
Putu Agustini
General Manager
the gangsa private villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The villa’s are located in a lovely quiet village feel part of Sanur. Essentially you are not far from Sanur Beach but it feels like it which is great. There is a driver available to take you to Sanur (as required) or Kuta (set times) which is a very good service. Our villa was huge with separate buildings for the kitchen/dining, lounge, sunbed & bedroom/bathroom. The breakfast is very good & we ate in our villa at all times. The private pool is clean & the garden is well maintained. As soon as you leave they come in & clean but when you are there they will not bother you unless you agree which means definite privacy. We recommend the complimentary high tea available every afternoon. The WIFI works well. We would definitely return to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agtd, General Manager at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Bapak & Ibu

Om Swastyastu...

Thank you for your kind comments. We truly appreciate your time and effort to share your experiences on your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Putu Agustini
General Manager
the gangsa private villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I spent 2 nights @ Gangsa. As other reviewers have mentioned, the villas are amazing and the staff keen to do anything they can for you. During my stay, I celebrated my birthday & the Gangsa staff surprised me by singing happy birthday and giving me a lovely cake! The pool is fabulous - in the sun and shade throughout the day, the complimentary high tea felt very decadent and the on call driver was perfect to visit Sanur whenever you felt like it. Food was good - the chef was accomodating (I'm vegatarian). Recommended if you want privacy and space to chill out. Be warned - you may not leave the villa :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salrob88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agtd, General Manager at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Bapak & Ibu,

Thank you very much for your review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the the gangsa private villa.

Best regards,
Putu Agustini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently spent 10 nights at The Gangsa and definitely want to go back next year.
Starting right from arrival everybody has been super friendly and helpful, they all know and address you with your first name.
Everything is very clean and a nice touch is that your villa is cleaned when you are out of it.
It looks like they have somebody watching until you leave and then the cleaning team is informed to start the cleaning.
The butler is always availlable and at anytime you are driven wherever you want to go in Sanur.
If you like a quiet place with lots of privacy, this is where you should go, you could easily spend your full vacation in your villa and the hotel.
Hendrik & Genevieve
Rumst - Belgium

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank depluch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agtd, General Manager at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Bapak Hendrik & Ibu Genevieve,

Om Swastyastu....

Thank you very much for your sharing your experience and It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed a memorable stay with us.

Have a wonderful day and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Putu Agustini
General Manager
the gangsa private villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.9 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#3 of 79 in Sanur
447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#5 of 79 in Sanur
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Samata
The Samata
#4 of 79 in Sanur
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#19 of 79 in Sanur
2,347 reviews
1 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa

Address: Jl. Tirta Akasa 28, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia (Formerly The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#1 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#3 Family Hotel in Sanur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $203 - $665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an idyllic of modern comforts, unparalleled service and warm local village charm. from the moment you arrive, Kayumanis Sanur will serenade some harmony back into your life by offering you the opportunity to experience traditional Balinese life, the lush tropical landscapes, the spaciously comfortable private villa, and the gangsa's renowned ability to service your every need. Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa is another exclusive haven of Kayumanis private villas, who pioneered the concept of exclusive, luxury vacation retreats in Bali and in China; and continues to raise the standard by which others are to follow. Named after the keyed instrument that plays the resonant melodies in a traditional orchestra, Kayumanis Sanur was created with the vision to introduce travellers to a harmonious serenade of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gangsa Hotel Sanur
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing