We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place in Sanur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sindhu Mertha Guest House
Ranked #34 of 137 Sanur B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had 12 days staying at the Puri Sindhu Mertha this February. It was a good choice for our diving holiday and fitted our needs exactly. The staff are very friendly, most helpful and manage the place well. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them, and most importantly, they kept the place and our rooms spotlessly clean and tidy. A little out of Sanur centre but the frequently passing taxis are only $1 each way. I would recommend PSM to anyone wanting a modestly priced place to stay in the Sanur area.

Room Tip: Try and get one on the ground floor. Each has a nice personal sitting out porch close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

I would have rated Sindhu Metha Gues House very good, but cannot because because of the state of the toilet and shower. A small, reasonably quiet, no frills guesthouse. However, if do decide to stay, make sure to confirm your bookings before you leave. A few days before our arrival, we were informed that one of the two rooms we had booked would not be available for one night as the guesthouse had overbooked. Bali Scuba which had booked our stay managed to resolve the issue very quickly and we had the two rooms throughout our stay.
Our rooms were large and the beds were comfortable, with a good reading lamp. The linen was clean and the room was cleaned every day. It would have been a squeeze to accommodate three people. The air-conditioning was effective and quiet, the water pressure not great and it took a while for the hot water to flow. I did hear another guest complaining about the noise from their refridgerator. The toilet needs a very thorough cleaning though. We encountered a couple of cockroaches on the first day and after a successful hunt, we made sure to keep all our bags zipped to avoid bringing home unwanted guests and didn’t see any more roaches during the rest of our stay.
The breakfast was the same every day, but not being big on breakfast, it was OK for us. Other than breakfast, the guesthouse does not cater for any other meals, although you can order in from a restaurant from the menu in the room. We didn’t try this.
We seldom use swimming pools and the one in Sindhu was small. The staff are courteous and helpful and the two young men at front desk and the driver seem to manage the place pretty well. As this was part of our dive safari package and located close to the dive centre, we chose not to move to another hotel. It was a bit far from the beach and the main shopping and tourist areas and finding taxis, especially at night, was not easy. Before you ask the front desk to call a taxi, ask them if there is a surcharge, we didn’t and the surcharge was more than double the fare. Not a bad place, but I would recommend it only if you are on a budget or wish to be near Bali Scuba.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sableHongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Large room,with huge comfortable bed. Bit of a balcony, fridge, large TV. Only thing to complain about - not enough hot water to fill a bath! Pool and breakfast facilities are good. Close enough to the centre of Sanur for convenience, but far enough away that it's quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms at the back are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 69ingBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very, very, very basic accommodation deserving of only one star. (The three-star rating is fantasy.)

Main-ten-ance: The work of keeping something in proper condition; upkeep. The staff are obviously far more interested in the maintenance of their social networking status than they are of performing any building or equipment or installation maintenance.

Pick up from the airport was OK but the vehicle used was disgusting!!! Petrol had been spilled in the car recently and the 40min trip to the Puri Sindhu Mertha was tortuous to say the least. It was so bad that I almost asked the guy to drop us by the roadside so that we could catch a taxi. The stench was nauseating and the rest of the trip was completed with windows down.

On arrival at PSM the disappointments kept rolling in... The place is small, cramped, has no privacy, is bombarded with road traffic noise, has uncomfortable beds & pillows with old linen, the room allocated was small and furnished with poorly made and junky items, the bathroom (open to the elements and mosquitoes) had not received even the most basic maintenance in a very long time (the vanity unit had only a cold-water tap). Fungal growths were abundant and the floor tiles dangerously slippery.

The room had a pool view but the whole 'wall' that faced the pool was glass with only curtains (not opaque) for privacy. The room could not be darkened.

Breakfast was 'fuel' for the body only and offered little in the way of taste satisfaction; ordered to your room. A menu from a local Indo resto that would deliver was provided in the room otherwise no other type of service is available.

The airconditioner unit pumped out cold air - true enough - but at the cost of disturbance to the peace as the sound associated with its function was truly disturbing.

Locationally it is close to nothing of interest.

Positives: a beautiful pool, free WiFi.

Room Tip: Choose any room at least 1km away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been staying here for many years, and the staff is like family to me. They're always cheerful and helpful, and they always pick me up from/drop me off at the airport on time.

The rooms are basic, but very clean. The bathroom could use a renovation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irenenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here one night to attend a wedding in a nearby street. It's a small hotel with rooms (2 floors?) facing a nice swimming pool in the middle. Room was spacious with good bed and linens. Bathroom has bathtub and open-air shower but obviously lacked maintenance and provided minimal toiletries (but there's a shack next door selling shampoos, soaps, sleepers, drinks, etc). There was only one person guarding the reception and apparently he had to do other things too including watering the plants and thus at times nobody was at the reception and I had to wait for a while for the guy to come after calling the number provided at the counter. I was also asked to pay in cash (didn't mind as it was only for 1 night stay and the cost was not expensive).

Room Tip: Rooms on the right hand side of the reception area got direct sunlight in the afternoon and thus bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabyVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is very basic accommodation. Cleaning of the rooms is very badly done, the shower curtain was very grotty in each of the 3 rooms that we had booked and our fridge had mould growing in it. The pool could not be used as they were attempting to clean it after many of the guest complained about the poor condition of the pool, and had gone overboard with the chemicals, so much so that your skin and eyes started to burn after being in the water for a minute and it took a fair bit of scrubbing in the shower to get it off your skin. This could be a very nice boutique guest house but is so badly maintained that is of a very poor standard.

Room Tip: Don't think there is such a thing at this guesthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Sindhu Mertha Suite
Sindhu Mertha Suite
#55 of 82 in Sanur
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Home21Bali
Home21Bali
#97 of 137 in Sanur
3 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oxy House Bali
Oxy House Bali
#45 of 137 in Sanur
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Semarandana
Semarandana
#9 of 137 in Sanur
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kembali Lagi Guest House
0.7 mi away
Kesumasari Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sindhu Mertha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sindhu Mertha Guest House

Address: Jl. Danau Poso no. 53, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range: $24 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sindhu Mertha Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sindhu Mertha Guest House with its simple but yet rich architectural lines, the indigenous local materials and the exquisite fabrics, blend the sensual Balinese atmosphere with incredible high standard of modern western living. Offer a perfectly balance of nature, culture, art and warm hospitality for your total comfort. Spacious standard room offering a total comfort to relax with its balcony adds a great value to the room overlooking to the pool and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sindhu Mertha Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sindhu Mertha Guest House Hotel Sanur
Sindhu Mertha Guest House Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing