We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise at a great price!”
Review of Flashback's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flashback's
Ranked #10 of 136 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Paradise at a great price!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was an absolute delight to all the senses! From the pleasant Porch Cafe walking past the veranda and through the arch to a beautiful small tropical garden with pool with frangipani's floating in it – this was a treat. I’m not a fan of big hotel’s (you could be anywhere in the world) and really like a more traditional, smaller style of accommodation – this ticked all the boxes. Although in the centre of Sanur it was very quiet.

Breakfast in the Porch Cafe was just lovely, fresh fruit, eggs, toast – all the trimmings.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all very friendly.

I can’t recommend Flashback’s highly enough, although I shouldn’t speak too highly of it as it may be fully booked out when next I return!!

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay in Sanur special.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms that shared a bathroom - which was great. All the rooms would be quiet - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishLinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    84
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
138
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I traveled alone and had never really done that before. Flashbacks was the perfect place to stay for a nervous first time alone traveler. Staff are professional and friendly with excellent English. The Porch Cafe attached had good espresso and excellent food. The beds were very comfortable and I deeply appreciated the fresh flower petals dropped onto my bed every evening. There is an excellent couch on a cool verandah where I could read a selection of good books while I was adjusting to the heat and humidity. The small but adequate pool was salt water, and exquisitely cool. I missed it when I left and would definitely go back. I could live there!

Room Tip: If you wanted more privacy and room, there were lovely little rooms apart from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed recently at Flashbacks in the upstairs room ( with kitchen and lounge). I have stayed in Sanur quite a bit and will always stay here from now on. Great value for money, clean, great relaxed atmosphere, small pool but its clean & refreshing. Terrific staff and the food was excellent at the porch cafe. Close to all the action but quiet at night. Loved it !!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs room has plenty of space with Lounge dining and kichen and air con in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliJAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Nice...scratch that....very nice place. I could only stay the one night as they were fully booked but nice place. As a backpacker I felt it was upmarket but good value for money. If you are traveling with your girlfriend.wife.significant other, best not get cheap and make her and check in here. The next morning after a fab breakfast attached the staff helped me find another place just down the road. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chau Doc, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I researched quite a few hotels and all the other places in Sanur seems to be a lot more expensive. Flashbacks is really nice, beautiful room and bathroom, good breakfast, friendly helpful staff, small but nice and clean pool, nice area to hang out. Good location.Think it is very good value. The only negative is that their restaurant is a bit overpriced, stay there find dinner somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Exactly what I was expecting - small, intimate and friendly accomodation right in the centre of Sanur. Easy access to the beach and more importantly, Hardy's just up the road! Breakfast was awesome - I'm still dreaming of the gorgeous fruit platter and home-made ciabatta toast. I had a few meals at the Porch Cafe which were terrific. Plus there are tons of exciting cafes within strollling distance. Next time I'm in Sanur I'll definitely be staying here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Air conditioned bungalows are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raecheyraech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Lovely quiet, small place to stay. We stayed two nights and I would recommend room 2 with air-con, especially at night with the mosquitoes all around! We had a LOVELY breakfast each morning at The Porch Cafe at the front of Flashbacks. The staff were very friendly despite the scare I might have given them at one stage. My friend booked Flashbacks after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor which were very helpful. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air-con as at night it is still hot and the mozzies come in the room (despite th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#14 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#32 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#2 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
#30 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flashback's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flashback's

Property: Flashback's
Address: Jalan Danau Tamblingan 110, Sanur, Denpasar, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the main street of Sanur, just a short walk to the beach. We have rooms, bungalows, suite and our guest house plus a great cafe, open from 07:00am until 11:00pm. If your not staying with us at least drop in for a coffee, selamat datang ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flashback`s Hotel Sanur
Flashback's Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing