We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge private villa, 5 min walk to beach”
Review of Emerald Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emerald Villas
Ranked #8 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights and afterwards regretted moving to a more expensive hotel in Legian. We miss Emerald Villas.
We paid approximately AUD $160/night for the Honeymoon Villa through Agoda.
Rooms & our stay:
This villa was huge, private, we had a maid (Tirka) come every day to clean and do our washing, as well as the pool boy to clean and maintain the pool, the gardener to tend the garden, all included in the price. We thought the cutlery, utensils, drinking glasse etc could be cleaner, I washed them myself always before using, other than this (and all the mosquitoes that managed to get in our bedroom and mauled us at night!) I cannot fault this villa. There is cable TV, a DVD player, an all-important blender to mix drinks, fans in the kitchen and dining area, very efficient aircon in the bedroom.
We were given Villa B17 which is actually a 3-bedroom villa, the staff just locked up the other 2 private rooms (with ensuites).
It was very quiet except when the neighbour' rooster made some noise (could not hear from bedroom) or practiced the drums.
Location:
The villa is 5 min walk to the beach, just cross Jl Danau Tamblingan, practically straight down the street the villa is on. This takes you maybe 50m from the Hyatt' beachfront which is the nicest part of the beach. There is also some watersport places where you come out onto the beach, set prices, good value for money.
On the corner of Tamblingan and the villa street (Jl Karangsari) is a Bagus shop/convenience store, which also has a money changer inside. Not a fanstastic rate but very convenient.
If you turn right at Tamblingan instead of straight across, there is CharMing restaurant (our favourite in Sanur), and further along Massimo's (which is very popular, but we didn't like).
Turn left on Tamblingan and a 10-15 min walk will get you to Hardy's, where you can stock up on groceries. There is a also a good DVD store in there who actually told us when we picked a copy DVD that wasn't good quality!
Service:
Everyone who works in this villa complex are friendly, with 24/7 security at the front gate who make you feel safe, and they are also very friendly and happy to find out more about you. We especially liked the security guard to has a slight gap in his front teeth, he was lovely!
Reception were friendly and efficient, all the poolboys were friendly, smiling and always said hello, and of course our maid Tirka was beautiful.
Food:
We ordered room service many times in the villa, and everything was great. Not all villas have this facility so it was excellent. They had a large selection for breakfast and other meals, very well priced. They also offered alcoholic drinks and cocktails if you can't be bothered making them in-villa.
Overall:
Highly recommend this villa if you are looking for a private relaxing holiday escape in Sanur, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babygirlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 339 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in a four bedroom villa from the 31st October to the 2nd November 2012 which was booked for four couples. Although the villa was lovely, it really was set up for two couples and two rooms for children so check this before you go. The staff were very good and put two of the couples in another villa but unfortunately it wasn't the same with two of the couples being in a separate villa. In saying this I would not hesitate to stay there again as the staff are wonderful and its so close to the beach and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthLozperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I booked my Emerald Villa accommodation in June 2012. I had read all the reviews about the three different complexes that make up Emerald Villas. Gold, Emerald & Jade Villas.
We got to reception quite late after a flight in from Lombok. Sat at reception after being picked up at the airport, to go through all the usual stuff. To then be told we are sorry for the inconvenience but your villa is not empty yet so we need to put you in another villa for two nights first. (Uh oh this is where it starts)
We have you in a four bedroom king villa for the first two nights. Where is this Villa? It's at our Jade complex. "But I was told I was at the Emerald Villa. 'No, why would you think that? "This email I have from your staff is why I think that!"
Oh this email is old we have changed you around.
( this is where my father was getting out the phone to book tickets home to Australia)
Lets go look at the villas they said.
I'm glad we did. Jade Villas are amazing. No reception, no crowds. Just you and your family in your own villa.
I wished we had the four bedroom villa the entire week, it is amazing. The three bedroom we moved to was also great, just a smaller pool and missing an extra dining area.
All in all excellent stay from a scary beginning.
If you are staying here, request Jade Villa if you want peace and quiet.
Make sure you constantly email the booking service in case you are moved.
Watch out for the offer of pick up from the airport. They wanted US $25 after you arrive. The villas don't tell you this at the time you request it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cunninghams-Beauy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Emerald Villas is located a few blocks back from the beach & is near the main bars & restaurant strip. Having said that, it’s very quiet and a perfect retreat. We had a three bedroom villa (A1) which was just beautiful.

The pool is a kind of lap pool albeit beautifully landscaped & large enough for a few people to be in & cleaned / swept for leaves twice a day by a pool attendant. The villa rooms are spotlessly clean & spacious – our bathroom was huge! There is also a safe in the wardrobe. There are two showers in each individual bathroom, one indoors & one outside, perfectly private. (The other bathroom had a bath as well). The rooms are around a living area with its own kitchen (we did not cook), dining table and gorgeous outdoor furniture. It is all truly lovely and we spent a good few hours there just relaxing.

The food is Mediterranean style – you can get pizzas & burgers as well as the local fare. Stick to the local dishes, the western food was fine but not very exciting. The mezze plate was good.

All of the villa staff are lovely and friendly – special mention goes to our housekeeper Yumi who looked after us very well. It was great after being in Bali for a few days by then to put our washing outside in the basket in the morning & have it brought back to us perfectly washed & ironed in the afternoon. Yumi comes & goes and is unobtrusive – and we did try to be tidy so as not to make a lot of work for her!

We had two ladies from the spa come to our villa for massages, manicure & pedicures which was really lovely. We booked four massages – which you can have in your living area but as we were travelling with others we had them in our room – and two mani’s & pedi’s and the ladies were with us for about 4 hours. You pay the hotel but remember to tip directly.

If I come to Sanur again, I’ll definitely stay at Emerald Villas. The office staff were happy to help our friends with accommodation bookings for their next stop & the staff on the gate are also very lovely & happy to help with anything you need.

The only negative to Emerald Villas are the caged monkeys at the entrance. I really felt sorry for them being caged up and pathetically averted my eyes when I came & went – I hope the hotel considers doing away with this ‘feature’.

We saw one of the smaller villas that are located around a shared pool – they are much smaller than the two or three bed villas & a completely different atmosphere. If you can, shell out for the villa with the private pool, and enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madeleine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

easily accessible form the airport and central to the shopping district and restaurants. the private villa had a pool and our own cleaning crew. the furniture is a bit dated but the other villas close by were newer.

Room Tip: since it is a equipped as a 3 bedroom home with spacious living area and kitchen, this is perfect fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latinforthames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Where do I start?! We paid £150 for one nights stay before we flew home, we had been travelling around Bali and wanted our last night to be luxury, as we had read so many great reviews we thought we'd go for it!.....Big mistake!

Upon arrival to our villa we were told we would have free private transfers to the city from the villa, BUT you had to book in advance and then there would be a 30 minute wait, which is annoying. We didn't bother with this.

Soon as we walked into the villa we could smell dirty water, the floor had dark stains on it, the kitchen had not be cleaned as there were crumbs and empty bottles lying around on the surfaces, the cutlery was sticky and clearly had not been washed, the bathroom towels all had holes in, had grey stains on them and were very thin and frail, there were two bathrooms, neither of them with any toilet paper, soap, shower gel and shampoo. As it is a private villa there is no reception run to for toilet paper as the villa is so far away!

Our bed had brown stains on the sheets, the pillow cases were stained a mustard colour and somebody had left the balcony door open so before we could get to sleep we had to attempt to kill all the mosquitoes that had decided to make camp in our bedroom.

The pool was cold and full of leaves, the curtains downstairs were broken and would not close properly, the dvd player did not work and there was no hair dryer or dressing gowns.

Some of these things may sound petty to you but when we are paying a lot of money we expect a 5 star standard! This hotel should barely have one star. We stayed in one star hotels in Bali and they were lovely, so much better than this, I felt angry and stupid for paying so much money for such an appalling service.

There are many hotels in Sanur, I advise you not to waste your money here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BubbleandSqueak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceBell, General Manager at Emerald Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Frankly I was shocked at this complaint as it is by far the worst we have ever had. Most other comments are very positive about our accommodations and services. The reason the villa was dirty was because there was a mix –up with reservations and housekeeping was not advised that a new guest was checking in. Since we were near capacity housekeeping decided to leave the villa cleaning until the next day. This is the first time this has happened in our eight years of operation and we have put safeguards in place to ensure it never happens again. We apologize profusely to the guest concerned and hope that they will accept two nights accommodation in our larger two bedroom Queen villa complete with a romantic in villa meal for two at a time convenient to them in the future as compensation. This will allow them to truly appreciate our quality of villas and services as thousands of others who rave about us have in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days in July in villa B18.
Pros.
The front line staff were very helpful and eager to please.
The pool was a blessing.
Cons.
However, even though our villa was not rented out after our departure, the sales people charged us for an additional day due to our flight out being in the evening. We were not even allowed to have a shower before transport to the airport.
We think that their was an attempted break in one night as someone climbed over our roof - breaking a roof tile in the process. The external security was a laugh as there were many gaps in the fencing.
The villas were a bit delapidated in that small maintenance problems were not carried out. Examples:. A broken tile on one of the steps in the pool, the tv display in the bedroom had a blank space and the roof tile was removed but not replaced.
The villa is badly designed. The loo is in plain sight - and smell - as you walk into the main bedroom. Do not know about the other bedroom as it was locked. Take something to make the loo smell better. The pool hardly ever gets the sun so it was quite chilly which, at times, was a blessing!
The prices charged for extra services are extortionate! Just to use the BBQ, which is stored at the villa , would have been nearly £30. The airport run was also nearly £30 as well - a taxi charge is £7. All their charges quoted do not show the service charge which is then taxed as well.
Our advice is that, unless you desparately need a private pool, stay at one of the many 5 star hotels directly overlooking the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidhughb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.5 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.5 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#17 of 78 in Sanur
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.0 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#9 of 78 in Sanur
418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#14 of 78 in Sanur
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Villas

Address: Jalan Karangsari no 5, Sanur,Bali, Indonesia, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range: $84 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Emerald Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are cordially invited to indulge yourself at your own private First Class © Bali Luxury Villa on the “Best Island” in the world LOW COST AIRPORT TRANSPORT: Your luxurious experience begins with an optional ( additional charge) low cost service by our Balinese chauffeur directly to your Villa in a modern air-conditioned vehicle.TROPICAL PARADISE: As you enter the front gates you will realize that the villa complex is first class which is usually only the prerogative of the rich and famous.HUGE VILLA WITH LARGE PRIVATE POOL: Magnificent architecture, spacious grounds and exquisite tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Emerald Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Villas Hotel Sanur
Emerald Villas Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing