We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and nice rooms - poor breakfast”
Review of Prima Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prima Cottage
Ranked #65 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Prima Cottage. Located only 10 minutes away from the beach by foot, it is a nice and quiet place to stay.

The staff is very helpful and polite - and the room was comfortable and clean.

The only things I find negative must be the two animals in a cage in front of the reception and that the breakfast is a bit limited. A small banana pancake is not very much to eat for breakfast.

I would definately return! Thank you for having us as your guests.

Even though - I would definately return if I visit Sanur another time !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank EirikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaC0ttage, Manager at Prima Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for spending some time to write this review
we are all so grateful for such a fantastic comments and we welcome you again in our small but friendly place.
We try to improve everything day by day we just finish replacing ceilings and painting in cottage so we hope we can serve you even better next time.
We will look at breakfast menu to provide more satisfactory choice for our guest.
Have a great time in Bali and all the best!
Pedro Lopez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 274 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience the balinese feeling. The resort itself looks very nice with a nice and warm atmosphere. For the price you pay for it it's more then enough. Pool and garden excelent, friendly helpful staff! Breakfast is continental and nothing to complain about. Close to Sanur centre, mall, beach, and the best restaurant in Sanur: Lilla Warung. I would specially address my thanks to Kadek from the reception and Safri, who organised and guided tours for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobiB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Was booked to stay 5 nights in "deluxe " cottage. Didn't even stay one night. Located down a dark back alley & cottages are very run down & bathrooms are disgusting & stink of sewerage. $60 usd / night is ridiculous. Got better value elsewhere. Safety deposit boxes in reception are perched atop a table between 2 windows - not secure at all!! Staff very friendly & happy to help in any way. Don't waste your time or money if you want a comfortable clean stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nobbysnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaC0ttage, Manager at Prima Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest
We are sorry to hear about your bad experience,our cottages are located in garden,with plenty of garden around.
"Deluxe "is labeled by agent website as well as higher rates.If you have booked directly by hotel email/web you will get around 20% lower price.
Hotel is located in small quiet lane what guarantee peaceful,tranquil nights and bird singing mornings.
We use Chubb safe which is top class in England,and every time guest lost key we need to ask company directly to send it as there is no way to copy this key in Bali,also to open this safe someone needs 2 key,including master key and guest key.Safe is located in hotel office,behind reception area.
Cottage bathroom were updated a year ago,but we will check it looking for a reason of bad smell.
Overall we are probably the last Balinese style hotel in Sanur and we try to keep it that way with traditional exterior and typical carved door however interior we are updating continuously.

Pedro Lopez
Prima Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not much to complain about. The standard rooms were decent enough though small. Service at the reception desk was friendly and helpful.

Price is not very high, so don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. The resort itself looks very nice with a nice and warm atmosphere. But you wont be inclined to stay in the rooms for too long.

First night the water boiler seemed to be broken, so no hot water. The following day it was fixed.

Sanur itself was ok.. but we had a better time in Ubud and Seminyak.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The rooms could do with some updating especially the bathrooms. We had a room on the second floor. The gardens and pool were great. Typical Balinese style and clean. Basic breakfast but adequate. A two minute walk to the main road in Sanur. I would prefer not to see animals in cages but that is my preference.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hippo3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here after being in Ubud. It seems like type of room for the cheaper ones is up to chance and my boyfriend and I were given a twin instead of a double. We didn't mind but some other couples might. It was a nice enough stay there, close to restaurants and the beach is about a 10 minute walk although we walked further to find a bit that wasn't littered with rubbish (the front of the 5 star resort south of the first road to the beach is good, no sun loungers for the public though). We arrived too early for check in but they let us leave our bags and sit in the restaurant.

The restaurant is pretty average and nothing special, there are much better eats around the corner. But breakfast is included. One morning the coffee I got was awful, we think the filter must've been broken as it was full of coffee grains, and I'm certain I found a small fly in my banana pancake one morning, I just picked it out though.

There's a nice swimming pool but sometimes not enough space for everyone as its quite small, there are about 8 sun loungers out there.

We arranged taxis though the hotel twice. First was good, they ordered us a metered bluebird taxi which turned up early. The most important one however... We had asked for one for 3:45am as we had a flight to catch. We got outside that morning and it wasn't there, we waited and nothing. The security guy could only help is by calling up another company (not bluebird) and ordering another one. That was one of our scariest taxi rides ever, the driver was clearly exhausted. Not the hotels fault but we should've had the one we'd asked for originally and maybe we would have had a driver who was not so tired.

Because of this early flight, we wanted to take showers the night before. But no hot water came out our shower, in fact the hot water tap let out no water at all. So we thought we'd just have really early showers and hope the water had come back. Nope, same story at 3am. So no showers for us before we left.

Finally, our room appeared to have a service corridor running down the back of it and a locked glass door in our room went out onto it so you could hear everyone going to and from the kitchen.

In all, yes, it was a pretty average place, nice enough, I suppose you're getting what you pay for. We only ended up here because all the other affordable places were booked. Would I stay there again? Probably not. It was okay but we've stayed in better places for less.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna211092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Away from the madding crowds Prima Cottages is the perfect location in Sanur. Close to the night market and the beach, and a short walk to Hardy's this is centrally located, good priced accomodation.

Everything was excellent: our room, the service, the food, the staff. The only thing that I had an issue with, (and i heard other visitors comment too) was the tincy tiny cages that their birds were kept in, both were cramped with no room to flutter around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Prime Plaza Suites
Prime Plaza Suites
#15 of 82 in Sanur
1,320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.4 mi away
Taman Kesari Villas
Taman Kesari Villas
#21 of 147 in Sanur
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,380 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cafe Locca Homestay
Cafe Locca Homestay
#26 of 136 in Sanur
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prima Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Cottage

Address: Jl. Bumi Asih 23, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range: $101 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prima Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Cottage Sanur, Bali
Prima Cottage Hotel Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing