We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Swastika Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swastika Bungalows
Ranked #34 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
rockingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have been visiting this hotel for the last 22 years and have seen many improvements - they now have de luxe rooms as well as the standard and superior. We normally stay in a standard/superior room which is a reasonable size with en suite - these rooms compare favourably with the Griya/Besaki/puri and many others on the strip. Please bear in mind that this is a budget hotel and the colours of the bathroom fittings don't always match, but they are cleaned everyday and the towels and sheets are changed every day. You can have a conrinental or American breakfast with includes fruit juice, toast (brown or white) eggs done any way with bacon. pancakes, black rice or noodles or savoury rice and then fruit and tea or coffee. This for a budget hotel is really something. The only thing missing in the rooms is an electric jug. The staff are very friendly and helpful from the desk to the cleaners to the restaurant and the spa. We will be back again for another month in December. You have to book in advance. The new de luxe rooms are always booked out and the pool is beautiful..

Room Tip: Most of the rooms overlook a pool - there are 3. I would go for the pool at the coffee shop or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmackie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    208
    79
    26
    11
See reviews for
96
153
86
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here for the first time in May. Whilst the resort itself has an older section (where we stayed) and a newer section (which is double the price), it's in a great location and the room we had was enormous. Housekeeping was excellent, with clean sheets and towels provided on a daily basis (without having to ask) and anything we asked for was quickly provided. Breakfast was included, and we enjoyed their wonderful banana pancakes most mornings, varying the menu with eggs (any way you like) and mixed fruits with plenty of tea and coffee included. They don't have a restaurant as such for lunch or dinner, but you can order the best spring rolls in Bali (with fries) at the new pool bar. They also do other basic snacks. Careful you don't burn your elbows on the bar's granite/marble surface. It gets dangerously hot! The staff are lovely, very friendly and, as with most Balinese, we expect to go back in two years and they'll all remember our names. For sheer good value, you can't beat this place, and the location is central to everything. Whether we wanted to go north or south in Sanur, we climbed in a taxi and got to our destination without exceeding the flag fall. Some seriously good restaurants within walking distance. Looking forward to going back in 2014.

Room Tip: We had enormous windows in our room, which allowed a lot of light in. Next time we go I'll ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank werrimadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My first trip to Bali, and my wife, the brains of the operation had visited Obud last year with a friend. She had come into the Swastika Bungalows on a day trip to Sanur. When I said I was going to tack on a week in Bali at the end of a business trip, she said, check out the Swastika. I'm glad she did! While nothing to look at from the outside, once you're inside the compound, the craziness that is Sanur could be miles away. There are three pools, the newest and largest is the nicest. The staff are very friendly, and attentive. I had a bungalow with fan cooling, on the economy side of the property that was really comfortable for one. Now, that said I wouldn't have stayed in one of these if it were my honeymoon, but hey, for a week or R & R, it was great! I can highly recommend this place for any first timer to Bali.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisdair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We made a last minute travel change and our favorite hotel was booked so we scoured the area and the Swastica came up. The pricing was good but the reviews were not great.......then we noted there was an old and new section to the hotel. We booked a new delux room with an extra bed (2 adults and 2 children under 3 years) and hoped for the best.
We arrived and the entrance was a narrow driveway that opened to a open air reception area, if the attitude of the staff was anthing to go by this would be a fantastic stay. The staff were some of the friendliest and most helpfull we had encountered in Bali. We were taken to our room, through the lush gardens, narrow pathways and past the older bungalows. The pathway gave way to a massive pool with a fantastic swimm up bar. The pool had a fantastic kids pool and a lip around the main pool that was knee deep and about 3 meters wide, this area proved a great area to laze in the pool and keep the kids close by. The pool itslelf was, dark blue, tile lined, super deep and always a great temp. It had plenty of day beds, and shaded areas. The resort also had 2 other pools but this was our favourite, there was another smaller pool that would be great for private sun baking and a quite read or snooze. The swim up pool bar is great and the pricing is the same as on the street..............awesome.
The room its self was perfect, I spoke the staff and they are only about 8 months old, huge rooms, great beds, awesome balcony, cold air con, bathroom was fantastic and top notch. The cleaning was spot on and impossible to fault. There was no safe in the rooms but a free safety deposit box was provided at reception.
I looked at the older bungalows and for the price I thought they were fine, just a bit old and as such looking dated but still had everthing you need or could want.
The hotel is about a 5-10 min walk to the beach and right in the middle of some great eating spots, one of our favorites was Wyans right out the front, dirty and dodgy but an awesome local feed for little $$$$.
WE WILL STAY AGAIN.........LOVED IT HERE and am planing the next holiday here already.......we have a ne Sanuar favorite hotel.
The Moore's

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mizerpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
195 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights in July 2012 in a standard room with AC (n.79) for 58US$ per night.
Pros : location is good: 5-10 minutes from the beach, close to markets (Hardy’s and Coco Mart), restaurants and authorized money-changer (beware at non – authorized ones : they always try to cheat you!); very nice and well kept gardens with flowers and trees; three nice small pools with lots of sunbeds; pool towels provided; all the staff is kind and helpful; good breakfast (your choice of eggs with bacon and tomato, bread, pastries, jam, noodles, fruit, juices) served at the terrace overlooking one of the pool; the room is large and clean: good king-size bed, 2 bottles of water every day, mini-fridge, good wi-fi, TV; free safe at reception.
Cons: bathroom and room furniture very old and run down: they need renovation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very welcoming and helpful staff. Good hot breakfast served by a friendly crew.. Location is very convenient to the beach (which itself is not that much of a beaach). It is in the center of the commercial areaa with many restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mphead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We often stay in Sanur Bali, generally in cheap B&B. We thought we might go up market a touch. The Swastika is opposite Billie's Restaurant my preferred choice but my wife likes a bit of comfort so the Swastika it was. We stayed for 3 weeks! Billy was a bit upset when we told him where we were but confirmed it was a good choice. A real English breakfast is something we do at home and weren't disappointed. Room comfortable, staff kind and attentive, nice to have a cold beer on the patio and watch the monkeys scrambling over the palms. Close to Hardy's the local dept store and 5 minutes at most to the beach if that's what you want. Sanur is a lovely place to stay, much better than Kuta where most of the drunks and spivs stay. Plus the locals do not hassle you but they do love to haggle so don't be afraid. I spent 20 minutes haggling over a taxi fare, saved all of 11p and the driver said he enjoyed the trade. Me too!

Room Tip: To the rear of the gardens away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#32 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#25 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#24 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
#30 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#36 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swastika Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swastika Bungalows

Property: Swastika Bungalows
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan 128, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swastika Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Swastika Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swastika Bungalows Hotel Sanur
Swastika Hotel Sanur
Swastika Bungalows Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing