We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely ideal”
Review of Villa Puri Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Puri Ayu
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely ideal”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Oh what lovely staff and grounds. The room we wanted was available on booking so they upgraded us to a beautiful suite with a private court yard, kitchen, lovely room. The bath tub was a bit rocky to stand in but everything was very clean. We would return to our room to find our sarongs neatly folded, towels refreshed, bed made up. Just lovely. Do get pepi's pizza delivered to your room it's awesome. Staff went above and beyond in helping us organise activities.
Breakfast was ok, omelette station, fruits, coffee, juice, toast, me goring. It Was all cold the one morning when we had an early start 7 am. Staff were most apologetic, But their are plenty of cafes along Sanur Beach. Bing tangs by the pool. Massage by the pool. DVD selection for a quiet night in with a Pepi's pizza. Definitely recommended

Room Tip: Go the extra bit and get a private courtyard, big outdoor day bed in beautiful gardens. Watch out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandalf1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    158
    52
    21
    12
See reviews for
86
135
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked 6 nights online through Expedia as part of a 3 week stay in Bali, we booked the Emerald Loft room, for NZD$91 per night, I chose this place due to the reviews here, and we were thrilled with our choice.

The room, with full kitchen, outside bath, huge living areas and large loft bedroom was spacious. I think there are only about 20 odd rooms in total, so not 'busy' with hundreds of people (like we discovered while staying at the Grand Mirage, Nusa dua area). It was brilliant, the pool area was well maintained, with a small massage area at the end, for 60000 rp for a Balinese massage or 75000 for aromatherapy one, 1 hour, bliss.

Breakfast was good, usual food, eggs cooked anyway you want. Meals so reasonable and good quality. The staff were fantastic and housekeeping first class.

Thrilled with our stay, and would happily stay again, brilliant value for money here, beach access a short couple of minutes down the side road, again many places to eat and watch the waves.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sneezydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Me and my husband only booked a few nights here, to have somewhere to stay while figuring out what hotel we should stay on for 2-3 weeks. We didn't have high expectations because of the relatively cheap price compared to other hotels close to the beach, so we were very surprised when arriving here. Villa Puri Ayu is a hidden paradise!

Villa Puri Ayu has a beautiful garden, very well taken care of by the staff. It has 2 pools, the large one has a nice relaxing area close to the restaurant, so you can have a fresh juice or a cup of coffee while relaxing by the pool. Free coffee and tea is provided all day in the restaurant.

Just 2 minutes walk from the calm beach, with free sunbeds, this hotel has a great location. Close to good restaurants, both at beach and in the village. There is a pathway along Sanur beach (4-5 km), so we had nice walks there. In the evenings you can find a couple of small and really cosy (and cheap) restaurants owned by locals if you head right on the beach, and pass Mercure hotel.

The staff were all very sweet and helpful in any way. All guests at Villa Puri Ayu has free access to a great gym with jacuzzi and sauna in Sanur, and the staff gave us a ride there several times (it's not even necessary since it's only a 15 min walk).

Great breakfast included in price, with Indonesian food such as nasi goreng and mie goreng (fried noodles), but also grilled tomato, potato wedges, milk and cereals, sausage, toast, fresh fruit, and a person that makes you an omelett or egg any style you want.

The thing is that we liked this hotel so much that we decided to stay here, instead of moving to another one. The standard is just as good as at the bigger, more expensive hotels at Sanur beach, such as Puri Santrian, Hyatt, Mercure, but Villa Puri Ayu is a lot cheaper and provides a cosy and more personal touch. So, we extended our stay with 15 nights. You couldn't get a better review tha that, could you?

Room Tip: We stayed in room 202. It was perfect, located just next to the small pool and with an outside bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sxlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Having stayed at villa puri ayu twice before ,we booked again for 6nights and on return we couldnt believe how run down this place is starting become
The gardens are starting to look over grow with weeds ,the staff use to sweep every day on our other stays ,but on this trip saw them sweep only once
The small garden pool was looking rather green one day and we noted that the pool pump wasn't
Working properly ,broken tiles and the light in the pool was broken with a wire hanging out of it
The towels in the bathrooms need replacing , one that my husband used looked like it had been
Used to wash the floors with , bed sheets are also showing there age , stained and grey
Some of the staff are lovely BUT the small older lady at the breakfast area ,she was the most rudest person. I have ever accounted in the 30years I have travelled to Bali
My friend who we travelled with asked for a cup of tea to be made with a tea bag , this staff member looked at her they rolled her eyes turned to the other staff members said something in which they all turned and looked at us and more words where spoken
She then handed her a tea bag ..... Don't know what we could do with it as no hot water or cup !
My friend then returned the tea bag and asked for a cup and hot water.... More eye rolling , this happened for 5 mornings
The white cane loungers by the garden pool where white on my last trip ,they are now covered in mould ,a lot of the staff spend there day sleeping on the lounge chairs near the front desk or watching tv, the restaurant staff also spend there day sitting around talking or watching tv
It's a shame the management don't take more interest on the what's going on and a little more maintance on this hotel would bring it up to the gem it use to be
Get the staff to work instead of sleeping ad the place would shine !

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room 103 which was a good size with a big shower air con was just ok , even thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 65fiona65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supbali, Manager at Villa Puri Ayu, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear sir,
as spokesman for the management I can guarantee that we follow closely all suggestions given to us from our valuable clients. We also have a suggestion box by the reception to collect them.
We are committed into our hotel and always try to improve.
Regarding the garden our staff clean and swipe the public areas and the garden twice a day 8 am and 4 pm and this have never changed so maybe you did not saw them.
Just recently (December) we have changed all the toilette bowl in every room with new luxury one from American Stardard (with bottom sprinkle). In the same period we worked to fix the hotel lane that now even in the stronger monsoon rain does not flood anymore.
In January 2013 we changed all our mattress with new Hotel Deluxe model from King Koil that offer a superior sleeping comfort. Also we now offer FREE tea and coffee all day in our restaurant to all our clients.
Since 1st of January we decide to close our restaurant at 19:00 as pretty much no one use it for dinner and yes our staff was hanging around with nothing to do. There is so much choice of restaurants within 200 meters that our guest prefer to eat outside. Room service is still guarantee by delivery from outside restaurant like Sale e Pepe "Italian" and Sumo "Japanese".
Hope next time you will still come to stay with us and can see all we have done.
Best regards the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights two weeks ago. Didn't start off well with no driver to meet me at the airport as pre-arranged. Thankfully the taxi queue wasn't too long. On arrival I was told they had forgotten! No apology. When I mentioned this to the reception staff the next morning they didn't seem too concerned but did apologise.

The upstairs room was pleasant enough but also had a problem with mozzies, which was sorted out by not leaving the bathroom light on and keeping that door closed at night. One night was very noisy until midnight from a nearby bar/hotel.

Nice being close to the beach and main street. Fortunately the rain did not cause too much of a problem with puddles on the lane way.

Breakfast was starting to become repetitive with minmal change, although substantial enough. Staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't try the evening meals. The pools were inviting.

Overall the hotel was worth the money I paid and would be happy to stay again, although I wouldn't bother booking a driver again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavoPerth29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed in one of the apartments at Villa Puri on our first trip to Bali. We only stayed for a long weekend to do some diving but with the full kitchen, beautiful outdoor bathroom and cozy/romantic bedroom, we could have easily stayed longer.

Pros/Cons: The warm and relaxing pool, on site bali massages (@ only $6 for an entire hour), friendly staff and more than adequate buffet breakfast are all an added bonus. The only downside I guess would be the bar and restaurant. The girl at the bar seemed very confused when I asked her what alcohols were available so I ended up having to point at bottles to make up a drink. The selection is also skimpy so don't expect any fancy cocktails. We also wanted to stay in one night and order room service from the full service restaurant but ended skipping out on that whole idea. The girl who picked up the phone didn't have any knowledge of the menu (hence she repeatedly put me on hold to ask the cook) and both of our 1st and 2nd choices for appetizer and main course were not available! Frustrating to say the least but at least there are better alternatives nearby.

Location: the hotel is situated on a dirt road very close to the beach. Some people have complained about the road, however, it really is a short walk to town and to the beach so really not as bad as people make it out to be. The area also has a lot of restaurants, pubs and shops to choose from but a lot more low key/older crowd. The beach itself is not that impressive but if you're content with a little kayak, sea doo or just looking for a nice place to enjoy a sunset dinner, this is it. For the big surf shops, waves and more exciting night life, I recommend going to Kuta for the day. The hotel does provide daily transport and finding a taxi back was a breeze. For the local experience, I recommend renting a scooter (very reasonable priced) or taking one of the hotels free bikes.

All in all a good trip to Bali and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadie_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very pleasant staff and service. I had read that the lane to the hotel can be a turn off but was surprised it wasn't the case, maybe because I was here a week back which being an off season time. Stayed in the first floor cottage overlooking a pool, the place was serene and peaceful. Ideal for couples. The only issue was the gecko in the roof making its noise now and then, but since the bed comes with a beautiful net, we felt secure and really couldn't spot the gecko but just hear its noise.

The real deal is the 3-5 mins walk to the beach and the free cycle hire that will make your mornings / evenings a delight. And the 2 pools are good enough for a soak.

The breakfast wasn't bad, I just had to ask the chef to give me a "well done" omelet since I prefer it that way and the chef was obliging enough to give me that perfectly cooked all veggie cheese omelet. Would recommend this!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_world12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.9 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#37 of 78 in Sanur
437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#25 of 78 in Sanur
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Sativa Sanur Cottages
Sativa Sanur Cottages
#42 of 78 in Sanur
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parigata Resort & Spa
Parigata Resort & Spa
#18 of 78 in Sanur
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Puri Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Puri Ayu

Property: Villa Puri Ayu
Address: Jalan Cemara 4-B, Sanur, Denpasar 80280, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#20 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Puri Ayu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the ancient Sanur village, just a stroll from the beach, Villa Puri Ayu is a lovely boutique resort! An ideal location if you like to relax or experience the true Balinese hospitality.Composed of 22 units between deluxe rooms, apartments, suites and villas. Still secluded, private and peaceful, backed by a devoted and supportive service.Latest: 60 channels Cable TV, free Wireless and free beach facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Puri Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Puri Ayu Hotel Sanur
Hotel Puri Ayu
Resort Puri Ayu
Villa Puri Ayu Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing