We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but nothing special”
Review of Villa Puri Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Puri Ayu
Ranked #47 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OK, but nothing special”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to leaving Bali because of its reasonably close proximity to the airport. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. The hotel, however, is really showing signs of wear. Our room had an outdoor bathroom. The vanity was missing a door and just looked old. The bathtub was very large, but had brown stains all over the sides of it. The bathroom had a diret, mildewy feel to it. Towels were discolored and worn looking. We also received only 2 bath towels - no hand towels and no washcloths. The room itself also felt like it was in need of a good cleaning. The bed itself, was neat and the sheets were crisp and clean.

The breakfast in the morning was adequate, but nothing special.

Overall, the hotel was fine for one night, but I definitely would not stay here for any extended period.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimDC_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    158
    52
    21
    12
See reviews for
86
135
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is clean with warm service and always a smile. The breakfast is really good. The manager is both experienced and knowledgeable. As this place is close to the Denpasur Airport but yet far enough away, it is a great place to start your Balinese holiday, stay for awhile and end it there which we did. Transportation can be given to and from the airport at very reasonable prices. We would definitely recommend this place.
Joe and Jane

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hello154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in a villa and didn't want to leave!
The room was clean and has a lovely,authentic Balinese feel to it.
The hot water was great as was the water pressure and we got a fairly fast wi-fi connection.
The villas have a nice outdoor sitting area which was a nice spot to chill out in.
The complex has one large pool ( where the restaurant/ bar is located) and a smaller plunge pool as well as little day bungalows where you can relax in.
They serve a great buffet breakfast and the staff are friendly and helpful.
The only thing to add is that the toilet did at times have a bit of a smell to it ( possibly the water?)
Overall we loved our stay here and would definitely return!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed over at this property for one night, as a stopover destination from Denpasar to Ubud.

We didn't know what to expect, and we were delighted to find this villa to be quite a gem.

The reception area was welcoming and unpretentious. The staff were very warmth, which immediately made us felt comfortable after a late flight in.

We got booked into a deluxe room, and we were quite delighted with the layout and its surroundings. The showers worked nicely, tv has sufficient channels, wifi signal was strong and the aircon functioned perfectly. A small pool was located right outside our room, which gave us an opportunity to take a dip or just sun bathe beside it.

Breakfast came with a selection that included sausages, pan fried potatoes, toast bread, fried noodles and styles of eggs. And we got to enjoy our meal beside the main pool, which was delightful.

Villa Puri Ayu was just 5 mins walk away from the Sanur beach and its eateries. There were many beach activities you can participate in as you walk along. There were also a couple of Irish pubs nearby, convenient in case you crave for a pint.

For the price of USD60 a night, we felt we got a bargain and we will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwirlingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for up to 7 weeks for the last 5 years.
At this stage we would not think of staying elsewhere. We book an Emerald Suite which has a kitchen and lounge with a mezzanine bedroom. There is a great pool and the best massuer in Wayan. With breakfast included and other meals available, we never want for anything.
Evening meals are available but as with any small hotel the menu is not extensive. The staff are all pleasant and attentive. Only downside is the access road (Jn Pantai Cemera). It needs upgrading and resurfacing, however that in not managements fault as there are a number of hotels on the road. Would recommend this hotel to couples or families looking for a budget holiday. The apartments are great some having inside/outside kitchens and private yards.

Room Tip: Emerald suite with mezzanine and Villa Lumbung not suitable for young children as stairs are quite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Superdraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed for a week in a Garden 1 Bed Apartment in early May. Bed was comfortable, aircon was quiet and efficient, large refrigerator and tea making facilities in outdoor kitchen, good shower with plenty of hot water in a nice outdoor bathroom with fishpond. The garden area with daybed was nice. I did think the bathtub/shower seemed a bit dangerous, especially for someone a bit unstable.

The minor negatives for me was the room maintenance, such as doors that don't open and shut properly, weeds in the outdoor bathroom, unpainted areas. Very minor I know but I think they are the difference between a great room and a good room. Bedsheets were clean but a bit marked and old.

Both pools were great and breakfast was nice without being great and the staff were always helpful and friendly. Location was great, we had no rain, but I can see how the laneway would flood although that's not the hotels fault surely.

Overall a great stay and excellent value.

Room Tip: Garden Apartment 104 was quiet, not sure if the others nearer the laneway for the hotel next door we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ga505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel service was nice and we got a 10% discount on the room before even negotiating...the cleanliness of the room was incredibly dirty, especially the towels. We stayed in the villa tony, supposed to be the prime villa of that hotel compound. The condition of the suite was old and not maintained at all. The large bathroom was moldy. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless hotel management is ready to do some more frequent inspections. Nevertheless, the pool was great... Hope you do better in future!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Chinajochen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supbali, Manager at Villa Puri Ayu, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Please note that Tony apartment is not own by Villa Puri Ayu. Is a private apartment that we only help to manage. As it is next to our premises we help the owner and offer it to people when we are fully booked. If you check at our web site you can see that is not featured anywhere! Said that we will check it and make sure that is up to standard. We had people staying there for the last 2 months and nobody reported to us that the status was not satisfactory.
Best regards
the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.9 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#38 of 78 in Sanur
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palm Garden
Hotel Palm Garden
#44 of 78 in Sanur
164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#25 of 78 in Sanur
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sativa Sanur Cottages
Sativa Sanur Cottages
#43 of 78 in Sanur
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Puri Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Puri Ayu

Property: Villa Puri Ayu
Address: Jalan Cemara 4-B, Sanur, Denpasar 80280, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#20 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Puri Ayu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the ancient Sanur village, just a stroll from the beach, Villa Puri Ayu is a lovely boutique resort! An ideal location if you like to relax or experience the true Balinese hospitality.Composed of 22 units between deluxe rooms, apartments, suites and villas. Still secluded, private and peaceful, backed by a devoted and supportive service.Latest: 60 channels Cable TV, free Wireless and free beach facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Puri Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Puri Ayu Hotel Sanur
Hotel Puri Ayu
Resort Puri Ayu
Villa Puri Ayu Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing