We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”
Review of Villa Puri Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Puri Ayu
Ranked #46 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
2 reviews
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great hotel, good location, nice rooms, certainly the ones with open bath rooms! The only drawback was the staff and breakfast. Not all the staf were happy and we got the impression that they spend more time having fun with each other then doing their job. Furthermore, when you are "late" for the breakfast, after 9, there is not much left. The older lady in charge of the breakfast is very cranky each morning and not friendly at all. I needed to ask for additional fruit, milk, pancakes,.. several times and each time she reacted quite angry. From my point of view it's her job, which she does not do very well, so I don't get her problem. Now this review might seem a little negative but this was really our only remark and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLKVDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    158
    50
    20
    12
See reviews for
84
135
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times now and found it to be great value for money. The rooms are clean and well presented, and staff always freindly. The only minor issues I have had ( low water pressure one trip) was sorted out as soon as I reported it.

I have stayed at other hotels in close proximity to this one but find this one the pick, if you can get a room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We enjoyed really enjoyed our 8 day stay at the Puri Ayu. It was our first time to Bali.
We choose to stay here as we prefer to stay in smaller places, not huge resorts where there are hundreds of other people. We stayed in the Villa Humbug which had plenty of room for the 5 of us. We found most of the staff very accomodating and friendly....just think a couple of the guys at reception could have been a bit more friendly and welcoming.
We found what was on offer for breakfast ample and we ate there every morning. I see other reviewers have commented on how there was not much on offer for breakfast but please remember they are a small resort. A must to try is the freshly made omlettes where a favourite of my husband. My favourite were the pancakes.
Yes you do have to walk down a rough little lane way to get to the beach but hey so what, was not a problem for us.
Our villa was cleaned every day.

See you next year Puri Ayu as we will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShazzaNDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Old, crumbling, needs a lot of rennovation and renewing work. Ants abound - buffet, sun beds, room. Crumbling, ankle breaking type lane to get to beach and to get from hotel to main road. Construction work next door makes for a very noisy day and yahooing from hoste/hotel across the lane makes for a very noisy night. The price might seem right but ....would suggest you keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PJMJLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have been travelling in Bali for 3 1/2 weeks and have been pleased with all recommendations from Tripadvisor on all my holidays except for this one...I have NEVER written a negative review here on Tripadvisor, but here is my first!!!!!

We booked the Lumbung Villa (3 bedrooms) and were pleasantly surprised to be offered the villa for 1,400,000 rupiahs instead of the published rate of $300USD. (We were only using 2 bedrooms.) Upon arrival, we noticed that the lady at the reception was not very friendly, quite atypical of the Balinese, but did not think much about it.

On our way to the villa, we passed by the beautiful plunge pool that many reviews rant and rave about. It is really gorgeous. Lots of lounge chairs around; super chilled and relaxed. LOVELY!

Upon entering the villa, the master bedroom and bathroom were pretty cute and relatively well maintained. However, when we went upstairs to see the other (2) bedrooms and bathroom, we were incredibly disappointed and shocked at the extreme difference between the standard of the upstairs and downstairs. There were dead bugs (cockroach) on the bed and mold in the bathroom. We went back to reception and asked to speak to the manager. The same lady who helped us check-in, Agung, came and we told her we were disappointed by the standard. Immediately, she told us we could check-out and look for something else. We did not really want to leave, as we did not want to waste time on our holiday looking for something else. She eventually offered to give us 100,000 rupiahs off. We reiterated again that there was mold in the bathroom upstairs and dead bugs on the bed. She came to the villa to check out the problems. Even after seeing them herself, she said there was nothing she could do. She tried to blame the bug problem on the pest control company. I told her that as the manager, she needs to take responsibility of the hotel. We decided we would look elsewhere to see what else was available. As it was high season, most other hotels were fully booked or only had rooms for one night. So, we decided to stay for one night at the hotel. Upon return, Agung told us we had to move out because she had called pest control. While it's great that she took such fast action to take care of the pest problem, we then had no place to stay. When we asked her what she would do to help us, as she was asking us to check-out, she then called a place - we asked her the name, and the location of the place and she said, "I don't know - just go and see it yourself."
We were incredibly shocked at the horrible customer service we received. She never apologized once for the situation. She just said, "You made an agreement through email, and now you are asking me for a discount?" But, the problem we had was that it was not what we expected, at all. We have stayed in places that cost 200,000 rupiahs, and if they are dirty or a bit run-down, we understand. But if you are paying more than $140USD, we expect a minimum standard and at least some sort of decent customer service.

Check out the pictures and judge for yourself if you think it's appropriate...I have included pictures of the bathroom, and the lack of upkeeping of the villa.

We told her that we would write a report on tripadvisor and she said, "Go ahead! I don't care!"

Perhaps the rest of the staff and hotel are gorgeous and as wonderful as the reviews say, but, from our experience with Agung and Villa Lumbung, I would highly recommend that you STAY AWAY from Puri Ayu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in Villa Lumbung!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supbali, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Puri Ayu, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Trip Advisor readers,
the story is not exactly as was told.. I witness the discussion between the persons and Mrs. Agung that is the Resident Manager at Villa Puri Ayu
That is one of the nicest persons in the hotel and you can read by the so many nice comment in all the other reviews! The guest make a very late booking and as we are full we offer to them the 3 Bedrooms Villa for well under the regular rate to try to help them.
Villa Lumbung is a typical Balinese house with alang alang roof and parts that are exposed.
Before clients check in we do spray pesticide and is possible that some insect dye in the process.
Shortly after check in the clients came to the reception complaining about the Villa and they DEMAND a discount or they will move out! Agung offered a 100.000 rp discount but the customer got very upset about it and demanded to talk to the owner of the hotel!
Basically they want to stay but pay next to nothing.. So Agung told them that if they did not like the accommodation they can look for other and we will NOT charge anything for moving out...
These people were very rude and walk away using abusive words to Agung and the staff.
So when they came back after some time we refuse to let them in again.
And that is why they wrote all this story! The pictures of the inside of the shower are showing the black silicon used for waterproofing. Now you make up your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed for a second time in a one room villa at Puri Ayu. It was as good as the first time we stayed. The one room villa is perfect for two people, the pool is never crowded and we just like the general relaxed atmosphere. We took a walk through the huge resort next door and it didn't have the same atmosphere. If you want a Bali experience that doesn't involve sitting beside a pool with another fifty people then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

It is hard for me to provide constructive comment on this place We stayed in a garden villa which was quite tired, but it was cheap at 650,000 IDR per night and included breakfast so expectations were never high. I have included some photos - so you decide if it is at a standard you would accept. The Emerald and Diamond apartments looked a lot more modern than ours - we couldn't have a look at them though. One definate issue was when we were sitting in the gazebo having a drink when without any warning we heard a small petrol engine coming towards our villa. Then the entire courtyard was filled with a dense grey smoke to the roof, which smelled of kerosene and was obviously an insect fogging measure. I've got no idea what the chemical was. A man in a chemical suit and mask motioned us abruptly to get into our room, which we did. We locked the doors and pulled the curtains but the fog entered through the door seals. Now that was unexpected!! I'm guessing it was a common thing because when the fog cleared and we decided to leave for the evening the man was still fogging around the reception area without as much of a look from the duty management. Also 1st place I have stayed where they didn't provide complimentary shampoo / conditioner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Petepjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#36 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#25 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parigata Resort & Spa
Parigata Resort & Spa
#17 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Segara Agung Hotel
Segara Agung Hotel
#35 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Puri Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Puri Ayu

Property: Villa Puri Ayu
Address: Jalan Cemara 4-B, Sanur, Denpasar 80280, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#20 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Puri Ayu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the ancient Sanur village, just a stroll from the beach, Villa Puri Ayu is a lovely boutique resort! An ideal location if you like to relax or experience the true Balinese hospitality.Composed of 22 units between deluxe rooms, apartments, suites and villas. Still secluded, private and peaceful, backed by a devoted and supportive service.Latest: 60 channels Cable TV, free Wireless and free beach facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Puri Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Puri Ayu Hotel Sanur
Hotel Puri Ayu
Resort Puri Ayu
Villa Puri Ayu Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing