We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

At about $45 per night, it is hard to complain about Puri Mesari. Based on reading other reviews, it is clear that the rooms vary quite a bit. Ours was towards the back of the hotel, decent size but not large, with a basic bathroom with handheld shower. Plenty of hot water. Most rooms have a small balcony or patio - ours didn't. There was a fridge but no tea/coffee making facilities. The pool is small and very shallow - difficult to do any real swimming. There are just six loungers. The breakfast included in the rate is very basic, but add-ons can be purchased. The hotel is located away from the Main Street (about ten minutes walk) but there are often taxis passing by if you need one. The staff is friendly and quite helpful but English is a bit limited. We tried to arrange one trip through them but the driver did not turn up until too late and did not seem to know where to go, so if you want excursions it may be better to arrange them somewhere else. Provided you can get a discounted rate, this s a great deal for a small hotel but go elsewhere if you want all the comforts and facilities of a resort hotel.

One word of warning - if it rains, the pathways and steps become very slippery so use caution walking around the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tibbrit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 376 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a very, very nice family driven hotel about 5 min drive fra Sanur center and 5 min walk to the beach. Great cheap food, nice garden and pool area, big rooms, two beds, no problem with two children and two adults. Stayed 3 nights. location much nicer than in Lovina center, too busy. Extremely

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spruds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is a good price at $44/night, the courtyard & pool area are nice, but a bit small with only 6 lounge chairs. The place has good potential, rooms are big with high ceilings, but in need of some tlc, especially a good cleaning, our room was prety dirty, dirt piled up in most corners, along the top of baseboard mouldings, tiles etc. Cobwebs hanging from the walls and window vallences. Toilet needed a good scrub. The water pressue in the shower was great, a/c worked well, room very bright with lots of windows, no blackout curtains. Breakfast was basic tho adequate. Staff friendly but not very informative, we didn't know about the shuttle, pool towels or where to fill our water jug, guess we just needed to ask a few more questions. Mama Putu warung just down the street is very good & very reasonably priced as is the Art Cafe. Beach is close, only 5 min., nice quiet location.

Room Tip: We had room 208, maybe not the best room. Away from pool and quieter & more private tho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2trvlabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Had a great stay at Puri Mesari. I was picked up at the airport. The room was spacious, clean, cool and very comfortable. The bathroom surprised me a little as I stepped from indoors to a private open air bathroom and courtyard but it was still lovely. The added bonus of the fridge, cold drinks and porch overlooking the pool was awesome. The free continental breakfast was a little basic but adding to it cost very little extra. Felt safe which was an added bonus as I was travelling on my own.

Room Tip: Pool view was nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This charming little hotel, while only 10-12 minutes walk from the beach, gives you the sense that it is a long way away from anywhere. Secluded and quiet, the guest rooms are nestled amongst flowering plumeria trees and other greenery. There is an inviting pool and a small fish pond featuring Balinese fountains in the main courtyard, which is also right next the the hotel's open-air restaurant. The grounds at night are lovely when all lit up, and are quite romantic.

We saw that there was a reading room and a business office, though we didn't check either out.

Our guest room was huge, closer to a suite, really, with a separate sitting room, and a large vanity area between the bedroom and bathroom. The partially open-air bathroom was huge, and was actually kind of fun once you become accustomed to it. The bed was enormous and very comfortable, and the AC worked very well. There is plenty of closet space in the double closet (though note: few hangers). Wi-fi reception was pretty decent, and there was ample hot water in the bath. There is a fridge and mini-bar, stocked with some local beer, water and sodas, and an electric kettle. Rooms have small safes tucked into the closet, (though ours wasn't bolted down so I don't know how safe it really was). Most of the rooms have little patios with a couple of chairs where you can sit outside and relax.

The continental breakfast which is included in the room price was nothing to write home about, but it was perfectly acceptable. We didn't eat at the hotel other than to have breakfast or to enjoy a few beers poolside at night, but the dinner specials on the reader board looked decent enough. There are a few lovely restaurants a quick walk down the road, and plenty along the boardwalk at Sanur Beach.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and arranged our pickup and drop-off to the airport with no hassles. You can also rent bikes and motor scooters at the front desk, or have them arrange any sightseeing tours you wish. Communicating in English with them was no difficulty at all.

Some things to note, which may or may not be considered drawbacks to some:

Privacy was not a factor at all, but the fact that the bath is partially open-air can mean you'll get more visits from bugs, mosquitoes in particular -- Bali is a tropical island after all. We honestly didn't find this to be a big issue, but I just want to point it out to anyone who might be concerned. The upstairs rooms have fully enclosed baths, if you don't think the al fresco route is for you.

Additionally, the bathroom shower heads are hand-held models, and at least in our room, due to the awkward placement of the hanger and the shortness of the cord, showering was slightly tricky. The tub is huge and totally open, but the spray from the shower only reaches a small corner of the tub so you do have to kind of hunch over to make use of it. It also tends to soak the floor surrounding. It's not a big deal, but worth mentioning in case you're more picky about that.

There are only a limited number of lounge chairs around the pool (like 6, I think). Again, we didn't find this to be problematic since when we were at the pool we were IN the pool, but if you want to be able to spend long days lounging beside the pool it might be tough if there is another family there ahead of you. The pool was never crowded while we were there, but getting chairs to camp on wouldn't have been easy.

There was no television in the guest room -- I assume that's the case throughout the hotel, though I could be wrong. We didn't miss it one bit, but I feel I should point it out.

There is also no elevator, though each building is only 2 stories. Make note if you're handicapped.

The downstairs rooms surrounding the pool didn't seem to have a lot of privacy if you wanted to open the curtains. I would suggest getting an upstairs room or one toward the back of the property if privacy is an issue for you.

The prices were very reasonable and our overall experience at Puri Mesari was quite enjoyable; I would recommend it highly, as long as you understand what you're getting. The hotel has a wonderful feel to it, but it is not luxurious -- it's more like staying at a friend's cozy guest cottage than at a hotel. If you keep that in mind, you'll love it. If you need fancy amenities or bustling activity, this place is not for you.

Room Tip: Remember: downstairs rooms have partially open-air bathrooms; in upstairs rooms they are enclosed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanghyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Based at the edge of Sanur we loved the quiet setting of this hotel and had a wonderful stay. The outdoor shower was great!
The staff is super friendly and always there for you. The mattrass could have been a more comfortable and the airco was noisy. But except for that for sure a recommended place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Esther O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

if you want to party and disco-this hotel is not for you. it is a quiet beautiful place with live fish in the pond and small swimming pool. a 10 minutes walk from the beach. always friendly staff ready to help. good breakfast. will back for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivi-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#56 of 79 in Sanur
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#29 of 79 in Sanur
285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#28 of 79 in Sanur
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#13 of 79 in Sanur
741 reviews
1.3 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#38 of 79 in Sanur
492 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
#39 of 79 in Sanur
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites

Address: Jalan Mertasari 66 | Sanur Kauh, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#17 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $40 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Mesari is a charming small, private hotel with friendly and personalized service. Our site is perfect for guests seeking for an intimate accomodation in a peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Mesari Sanur
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing